We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as always”
Review of Archie's Wok

Archie's Wok
Ranked #33 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Filipino, Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Archie's Wok is widely recognized as Puerto Vallarta's best Asian fusion restaurant, featuring authentic, freshly prepared cuisine that spans the Pacific Rim from Thailand to the Philippines, to China and Vietnam. The staff offers traditional and contemporary dishes from these distinctive regions. They daily prepare a palette of complex sauces and condiments. Savor the aromas of spicy chili sambals, curry pastes, their famous hoisin sauce for the ribs and chiang mai sauce, too. The menu is truly a cuisine of medleys, which combines Pacific Island foods, Asian cooking techniques, Mexico's fresh ingredients and a host of other cultural and culinary influences. Seafood is caught daily in Banderas Bay and delivered fresh to the restaurant. Locally grown ingredients include an array of vegetables, herbs and spices, including kaffir lime, galangal, lemon grass, ginger, chilies, tamarind, and coconut milk. These are native to both Asia and the Mexican Coast. Archie's Wok has been family owned and operated since 1986. The history starts in 1977 when Archie Alpenia began working as the famous Hollywood Director John Huston's private chef at his personal retreat in Banderas Bay. From then on the restaurant continues to be run by his wife Cindy, daughter Kyoki and son Sergio. His legacy continues in this comfortable restaurant. Archie's Wok is just steps away from the Los Muertos Beach Pier and is a great location to meet friends and family. The restaurant is casually elegant and their team is committed to great service, excellent food and a comfortable setting. You can enjoy lunch and dinner in this sublime atmosphere with dining room and Asian style garden.
Portland, OR/San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As good as always”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We waited 30 minutes based on our great experience 8 years ago - worth every minute and the waiting was social on the sidewalk benches. The selection was unique and the food & service was excellent. We will go again next time we are in town

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank citizengjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    180
    58
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but super salty”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

like a regular old Chinese restaurant you'd find anywhere but in a cool indoor/outdoor setting near the beach - food is good but not crazy good and very over salted - they go overboard on the soy sauce for sure but for a change of pace or if you're craving chinese check it out - service is pretty nice as well

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyfeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed an evening meal at Archie's Wok tonight. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was agreeable as well.

Helpful?
Thank jamzlw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Asian cuisine with a twist”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Archie s Wok at the romantic area in PV is one of the great dining places for Asian cuisine. Though there was a considerable waiting period, we could understand why the moment we stepped inside the restaurant. The aromas were simply fantastic. The Satay chicken was tender and the sauce was just perfect, the cilantro, garlic, lime sauce was so good that we kept asking for the same. :) The fish wrapped in banana leaves with a shallot, cilantro marination was out of the world. The vegetables, with Tofu with yellow spice curry was outstanding. The cocktails especially the spicy martini was something worth trying if you like ur drinks with a chilli twist. It was super great experience and definitely not a place to be missed out if one is in PV.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashok883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury, ct.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, fun place”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have eaten here every time we come to puerto vallarta, and it never dissapoints. Always a wonderful meal with great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pierreandcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie's Wok also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Archie's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing