We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a better place for breakfast!”
Review of Fredys Tucan

Fredys Tucan
Ranked #18 of 1,022 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A casual place with typical Vallarta Mexican and international food, good selection of coffee and bakery, strategically located in the downtown area in the romance area.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You won't find a better place for breakfast!”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We are here for our second trip to Vallarta. This was an excellent place for breakfast last year and it is equally as good this year. In our experience, with some places in Vallarta the food and service may vary greatly from one day to the next, but not at Fredy's. The food and service here are both consistently outstanding.

Last year we visited a few times and they gave us free Mimosas one morning. The orange juice is fresh squeezed. This year we were greeted with "Welcome, so nice to see you again!" and they remembered our names!

Don't miss Fredy's on Basilio Badillo and if you get Ramon for your waiter wish him "Tenga buen dia" for us please.

Rod and Carole from St. Louis, MIssouri USA

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alinstlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,148
    611
    155
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had heard many good reviews of Fredys Tucan but had not been because our hotels usually provide breakfast, but we had an opportunity on our last trip to stop in for lunch. We will definitely be going back again. The food was excellent and fresh. There is a wide variety on the menu of both breakfast and lunch items at very reasonable prices. They have a full bar and make an excellent bloody mary. The restaurant is immaculately clean and the service is excellent. They appear to have a very loyal following of both locals and tourists, and it's easy to see why once you've tried it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomas73331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Breakfast Place in PV You Shouldn't Miss!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is my second trip to Puerto Vallarta. My fiance took me to Fredys Tucan for breakfast on our last trip to PV. I felt in love with it. Then Fredys became our No.1 breakfast/brunch place. Food is excellent. The restuarant is very clean. Staffs are very polite, friendly and always provided excellent service. They always make us feel at home. We love to have the Grand Slam breakfast and a big glass of fresh squeezed grapefruit juice to begin our day. In our last couple of visits, I had tried something different and ordered a fish dish - A la Veracruzana. Which is a Mexican dish of two big fish fillets on rice topped with tomato sauce and lots of veggies and olives. OMG! Soooo yum! If you have a big appetite you will appreciate this dish.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebuttergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Freddys and Staff work hard for your business”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Americanised food nicely served with an emphasis on cleanliness. and a nice welcome from Fredy..who always remembers you from year to year by name and the city you came from...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank roofingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best place for breakfast in pv!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

is wordenful place for pass a great time with friends and family, the people is very friendly and kind, the food is very good and inexpensive price! if you visit pv this is the place!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenyaborgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredys Tucan also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Fredys Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing