We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch by the Sea”
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Ranked #52 of 1,022 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Blue Shrimp Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta is the best seafood restaurant in the area, long time established. Situated off Olas Altas Beach, on the ocean with spectacular daily view of the sunset, The Blue Shrimp Restaurant is a fun atmosphere with occasional live entertainment, under a large palapa roof and ‘boat-deck’ feel. Open for lunch and dinner, The Blue Shrimp Restaurant serves mouth-watering seafood and shrimp concoctions that you cannot find anywhere else! The restaurant is a great place to bring the family, celebrate a birthday, romantic dinner, or special event. Come sit down with us, right at the end of the Malecon and feel the breeze of the Banderas Bay, it’s Shrimply The Best!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch by the Sea”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very good food. Great view we sat in side to get some shade our table overlooked the beach. The calamari and shrimp cocktail were very good the seafood sauce needed a bit more spice, a little to sweet for my taste. The price was very reasonable for lunch and 2 beers. The only down side were the vendors on the beach.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    370
    172
    83
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lunch”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very good
Excellent food, presentation and service
In the arts district with local artists displays
The building itself is situated on a hill so the Resturant goes up and is partly open to the sky and greenery

Helpful?
Thank Marylyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an experiance!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I really do not like sea food but still gave this place a try, it was actually good! we sat on the beach and if you do do that, bring a flashlight! once the sun goes down, the candles don't really give much light to see the food, but the food itself was good! and the whole experience was a fun one!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank la_mn614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“By the Sea”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a good restaurant on the beach if you are a shrimp lover. They have both inside, open air, dining as well as tables on the beach. In this area the beach often changes from sandy to rocky depending on the mood of the ocean. The food is good and the service is usually excellent. Prices are inline with many of the beach front restaurants in that area of town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Key Lime Pie brought me back.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice on our 14 day stay. The first time we ordered the Shrimp Lovers special with 3 types of jumbo shrimp, Caesar salad, garlic bread. The menu said enough for one, but it was enough for both of us. The second visit we brought friends from our hotel to try out our new food find. We pretty much ordered the same things but I forgot to mention the Key Lime Pie. We ordered one to share on our first visit and on our second visit there was no more sharing. This pie was so good I had to have my own slice. Our table was inside the restaurant where we had an unobstructed view of the sunset and the crashing waves. Very nice! On our departure the second time we had the Manager ask us how everything was. This is nice, it shows they care how the experience was for their customers. The actual owner was within ear shot unknown to us and he gave both our wives a key chain gift from his gift store. Another bonus I thought. I will visit The Blue Shrimp again on our next trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keener952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing