We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp for shrimp lovers”
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Ranked #53 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Blue Shrimp Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta is the best seafood restaurant in the area, long time established. Situated off Olas Altas Beach, on the ocean with spectacular daily view of the sunset, The Blue Shrimp Restaurant is a fun atmosphere with occasional live entertainment, under a large palapa roof and ‘boat-deck’ feel. Open for lunch and dinner, The Blue Shrimp Restaurant serves mouth-watering seafood and shrimp concoctions that you cannot find anywhere else! The restaurant is a great place to bring the family, celebrate a birthday, romantic dinner, or special event. Come sit down with us, right at the end of the Malecon and feel the breeze of the Banderas Bay, it’s Shrimply The Best!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shrimp for shrimp lovers”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Simple beach style open restaurant, perfect to watch a sunset. The staff was friendly and service was efficient. Buy shrimp by weight and pick your flavours, the Portuguese were my favourite, my wife loved the coconut. The salad bar was a bit pedestrian. The place to go when your tired of Mexican food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    369
    172
    83
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will never go back”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the blue shrimp last night and I was very disappointed. We were there for a late dinner (like 8 or 9 pm) and were seated on the beach, obviously it was very dark and you couldn't see the ocean/the menu due to the sun already setting. We requested a new table that had more light. They relocated us to a dark table inside, and the table was terrible, we had to straddle the stand below it because the stand was so big. We were never given a drink menu, so we ordered margaritas in the blind, and they were not that great, I couldn't tell if they forgot the tequila.... We ordered our food, the coconut shrimp and the filet and lobster. The coconut shrimp were over cooked and tough to chew. The filet was terrible, their preparation and flavoring of it ruined the steak. They didn't even bring a steak knife until we asked for one. I have had better lobster in Chicago. The only two things that were ok: the salad bar and the guy singing on stage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisnameispopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
351 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Shrimp and more”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

They do shrimp well and it is sold by the Kg. The setting is terrific especially at sunset. You are overlooking the beach. They do great marguartas and the service is excellent, which is true of almost every Puerto Vallarta restaurant. I do think their dinners are a bit over priced compared to comparable restaurants in the area

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation dining”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

On our recent 17 day vacation, we went to this restaurant twice. The first time we were seated by the beach and dinner was very good. That was the reason why we went back the second time.
Our second visit was not as good as the first time. There were more diners the second time and I think a few large parties made our service fair. We were seated at a table inside the restaurant (which was ok) but it was so dark, it was extremely hard to read the menu and wine list. It took a while for the waiter to come to our table to even take our order. Once the large parties left, things went back to normal. All in all, we would try this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b1xj0dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic sunset dinner on the beach.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our final meal in PV was at the Blue Shrimp Restaurant, and this was truly one of the finest dining experiences we enjoyed during our 3 weeks in Mexico. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a Shrimp Lover’s Feast with Cranberry Shrimp, Tequila Shrimp, and Coconut Shrimp. The Guacamole that the boy (sorry, I forget his name) prepared was excellent. The Margaritas were fantastic and the ambience/music were terrific as well. This was a wonderful way to finish off a fantastic winter vacation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john_and_loraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing