We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset and a wonderful dinner”
Review of El Panorama

El Panorama
Ranked #116 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Josefa Ortiz de Dominques & Matamoros
Description: Our establishment opened its doors in 1973 and has maintained its reputation as one of the premier restaurants in Puerto Vallarta. Our view is unrivaled in Vallarta as we are located on top of Hotel Suites La Siesta on a hillside 4 blocks from the beach and boardwalk (malecon) in the very heart of El Centro. We have two rooftop terraces and two indoor salons that have commanding views of the entire Bay of Banderas and city with its array of red tiled rooftop. Our menu is international and features flambe cooking right at your table as well as our unique caesar salad, desserts and flamming coffees. Our restaurant is rich in history and tradition and should be part of what all tourists are looking for: good food, service and that special ambiance.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sunset and a wonderful dinner”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For a romantic evening viewing a sunset and having a fantastic dinner make sure to go to El Panorama Resturant in Puerto Vallarta. The view from above the city, tucked in the mountainside, at night is awesome! The staff is very attentive and friendly. The food was absolutely delicious! Two entrees, four cocktails and an after dinner dessert drink cost $58.00 American dollars. It was the best meal value we had while visiting Puerto Vallarta. The one staff member said he has been working in this resturant for 40 years and is an absoult delight to converse with. They also had an organist playing during dinner to add to the atmsophere. You will not be disappointed with the food, service or view!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    63
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Class, Quality, Ambiance, Romance, Memorable”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is as good as any place we have been. The decor is beautiful. The view is the best in the area. The greetings from staff leave you feeling at home. A menu that has enough variety to satisfy just about anyone, but not overwhelming in choices. Good wine list. Generous servings. Well prepared and wonderful presentations. Loved the Totillia Soup and Shrimp Bisque. Servers are pros! Sexxxy Coffee was fun! Flambé dishes and desserts are spectacular. Gotta go topside for sunset photos. Go if you are in the area! Can't wait to go back. And we had wonderful friends who are returnees every time they visit!

Birt and Gina

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Go!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been vacationing in Puerto Vallarta since 1995 and always go to El Panorama at least once during our time there. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking as the restaurant sits atop the Hotel Siesta on the mountainside overlooking the city of Puerto Vallarta. The food and service are always excellent and the waiters flambe a special coffee at the end of the meal, dimming the lights while doing so. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrienne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great view”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our dinner in March 2013 was great. The shrimp "El Panorama" are terrific. We also had the rib eye steak which was very tasty. They have chicken nuggets and spaghetti for the kids too.

We love the ambiance of Panorama. The old wood complimented by large open windows is truly elegant. This is our 7th trip to PVR and Panorama is still at the top of our list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCHL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“One of our Long Time Favorites”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've been holidaying in PV for 25 years and we never miss going to this excellent dining spot.
Located part way up the mountain in Old PV, El Panorama offers spectacular views and sunsets over Bandaras Bay.
The food is exceptional with many of the dishes as well as their famous ceasar salad prepared or flambe'd tableside.
And everyone gets a special Flaming Coffee after dinner
This is a MUST TRY when in Puerta Vallarta

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank russell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Panorama also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing