We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mazatlan
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good service, lean restaurant and good value”

Palomar de los pobres
Ranked #268 of 568 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Price range: $5 - $14
Description: Mexican cuisine, beef cuts and beans. Breakfast Buffet
Restaurant details
Description: Mexican cuisine, beef cuts and beans. Breakfast Buffet
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Each meal comes with a free bean soup which looks a bit weak and runny but tastes good and with crispy tortillas makes a nice starter. My partner and i ordered queso fundido which came with small size, soft warm tacos. The 3 meat tacos.they had cheese, pineapple, onion and cilantro with them. Very tasty and warm.
Service was great. We had 2 beer with this meal and the total cost was 294 pesos. We came out feeling full and we left some of the tortillas and soup. We will go back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Stancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

Bad service bad food... don’t waste your time and money with this place. They cook the meat in a pan instead using a grill. No flavor and cheap meat cuts.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Raffi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

The food and service were top notch and very reasonable for the golden zone. We met the owner, David and he was very friendly and speaks english. Went with a large group and everyone left satisfied and full.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gusdej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of a local person. We arrived at around 5:00 O'Clock. The restaurant was empty. A waiter brings the menu. We ordered Arachera meet (looks so good in the picture and big) and an order cheese fondue with shorrizo. Few minutes passed and the food was served. I was surprised that the meet was cooked so fast. The fondue within seconds was cold and became solid, and has a sprinkle of shorrizo. First, after the order we were served a large bowl of been soup (was good).The meat looks so little my wife complained that it is not as in the picture. The reply was the meat is 250 grams. We ate and the meat was OK bu,t not as expected. My wife did not finish her meal so she ask a lady who picked up the plates that she wanted to take the rest of the meal with her. The lady replied that she will put it in take out container for her. After a while, I paid the bill and we were leaving when my wife asked about her food. The waiter was surprised and then the woman showed the sign that she forgot. Any way , the waiter packed the left over and we get the pack and went home. On arrival, my wife was very upset that they took away some and it was only the piece of meet and some tortilla. She wanted to call but, the stupid Telmex phone co.has cut their service as before without any reason. The food looks so good in the menu. As you see, the over priced items you expect the portion to be generous with some extra items like potatoes and some vegetable. What we get is a small green onion and jalapeno. As they say: there is always a first time. NEVER AGAIN.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mou1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

There is a same restaurant in Culiacan and I heard is vert good, but in Mazatlan Palomsr de los pobres restsurant the experience was vry bad. Bad service, is like a steak restaurant and they dont know how to cook an steak, also the quality of the meat was horrible. I DONT recommend it

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 506abrahamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palomar de los pobres also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Palomar de los pobres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing