We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Lovely!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Onca Explorations

Onca Explorations
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Mazatlan Swim with Dolphins in the Wild
Ranked #2 of 47 Tours in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Mazatlan & Explore with us! Whether it is watching the amazing humpback whales, swimming with dolphins in the wild, snorkeling the islands, kayaking among mangroves or discovering ancient petroglyphs hiking within a natural protected area, our experienced staff, small group policy and personal attention make simply the best ecotours in town! Tourism for Conservation: When you travel with ONCA a portion of your tour fee goes towards local wildlife monitoring and conservation programs.
Cozumel, Mexico
1 review
“Absolutely Lovely!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I just went today and I must say that it was awesome!!!We only saw a couple of whales and a group of dolphins. The service and the people on tour was absoluely great. If you love being on the water for a long time and are interested in sea life then this tour is an absolute must for you!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeonieS_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    22
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Everything was explained in detail in advance, but I never imagined we would see as many humpback whales up close as we did in just 4 hours. It was thrillling!
Oscar, the dedicated marine biologist who took us out that morning was just as excited as his five passengers (maybe more!) and his respect and admiration for these giants was plainly evident making the experience all the more unforgettable.
Onca Explorations provided life jackets, drinks and sandwiches; wear a light jacket until the sun warms you, a hat and good SPF. And don't forget your camera! If you've forgotten anything else they probably have it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmb1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable staff, great trip for people who like to see nature”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The staff were great, very knowledgeable. Baline (I don't know exactly how to spell her name) did our tour, and she explained everything we saw the whales doing, told us lots about other animals in the area (dolphins, sea lions, birds). In general, if you go to learn, you won't be disappointed. We saw a mother and her calf when we were out, which is really rare, Saw them breaching (jumping) a couple times, which is also rare. Most of what we saw were fins and backs when they came up to breathe every 5 minutes or so, with little else going on. The boat, the snack, etc. are very basic, don't expect a lot, since it's just a research team of 4-5 people. And of course with whale watching there isn't even a guarantee you'll see anything, but you have more chances of seeing whales with these guys than most other companies/groups.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome time out on the Boats”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

So we went for the morning run with Onca Tours on the Whale Watching tour. All I can say is Wow, we saw (within the first hour) a pod/family of whales that were in the middle of a mating battle so the whales breached, the showed their flukes and there was blood in the water, what a spectacular site. We were also visited by a group of Bottlenose Dolphins who swam alongside the boat which was spectacular. The boats themselves are large so you hardly feel the ocean, however, if you are prone to be Sea Sick this is NOT the tour for you. We only had two other people and the "Marine Biologist" in the boat with us and they provided us with some snacks for the morning and bottled water....overall I would not give this one a miss.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“100%”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is amazing, brilliant tour guides who are very knowledgeable and care about the wildlife. A must if you are in Mazatlan.
Jane & Marc UK

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onca Explorations also viewed

 

Been to Onca Explorations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing