We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
68
31
10
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
31
10
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet historical area rooftop pool golden zone lounge chairs lobby sunset floor elevator
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 121 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2018

Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada is a good hotel in a great location. Every single one of the hotel staff was friendly, interested in their work and helpful. Breakfast buffet is quite good, service was excellent, and it's served until noon -- ours was included in our room price. Internet signal was poor on the 4th floor, excellent by the pool and in the lobby. The maintenance man and a bell boy fixed my suitcase, which was damaged on a train. I must say, though, that a player piano in the lobby plays ALL DAY in a loud, treble register, quite irritating even when I'm only spending a few minutes in the lobby -- please turn it way down and turn it off most of the time. Otherwise, it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: "Standard rooms" have two double beds. Hotel was quiet all nights but one. Internet was poor on 4th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaveWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Do not, I repeat, DO NOT stay here. There are two Best Western Posada Freemans in Mazatlan. The building downtown is ok, but the one in the Golden Zone is a mess. It's very noisy with clubs right outside the hotel. It smells. The breakfast is crap. And the staff are clearly on the defense.

Either on purpose or by accident there are positive reviews for this property which should be for the other one. It was my mistake, and I should have known better, but I trusted the online reviews which are a mess.

I paid for two weeks and wanted to leave early, but they wouldn't return my unused week or even put me up in the downtown hotel. Just to add to the annoyance, they charged $5 for a replacement room card.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCdissapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

Located in the Golden Zone, this facility is right on the beach will lots of beach walking and a shallow beach making swimming easy for all family members.
The front desk staff are delightful and helpful, while the wait staff in the restaurant are attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast buffet is a delightful way to start your day.

Room Tip: 5th Floor facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Take the elevator to the 10th floor, then walk up two more flights to the rooftop pool surrounded by lounge chairs, plentiful towels provided by smiling attendants, enjoy the 360 degree panoramic view of the City, the Bay, the Cruise Port where giant ships from Princess and Carnival Cruise Lines frequent, and you'll experience a charming throw-back to Old Modern Mexico blended with the conveniences of modern hotel services. Pictures of the original property and it's furnishings adorn the lobby, allowing the visitor to imagine being at this lovely place when it was the talk of the town -- the first high rise hotel in Mazatlan. Charming. Good food and bar service. Friendly staff, and reasonable rates as part of the Best Western management chain. We'll be back.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Stevan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Everything was great! The food, the ocean view and the locality was very good. We stay there every time we go to Mazatlan. Love the sunset there and the commodity of the sun chairs. The rooms are very clean!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank arelig75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews