We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Inn with wonderful hosts.”
Review of Loro de Oro Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loro de Oro Inn
Ranked #3 of 48 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Charming Inn with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week in Mazatlan, staying at the Loro de Oro Inn. Our accommodations were excellent! The inn is on a quiet street, 1/2 block from the Plaza Machado and a short walk to the Malecon and beach, Plaza Republica, and any number of shops, restaurants, markets, etc. The inn surrounds a lovely enclosed courtyard with pool and jacuzzi. Tony and Lucy are the perfect hosts. They were more than accommodating to our needs and were great fun to talk with. Our suite was beautifully decorated and included a very comfortable living area, large bedroom, and a complete kitchen for those moments one might feel the need to heat up something (leftovers?). Our timing was perfect as we were there for the grand re-opening of Te Amo Lucy, the on-site restaurant. The menu is large and varied and the food is excellent! We plan on returning to Loro de Oro on our next trip to Mazatlan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katandsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The inn is a most enchanting place in a beautiful city. The service is excellent, the accomodations are beautifully done, and comfortable besides. We had access to entertainment, restaurants, and the most beautiful beaches and sunrises and sunsets ever. There are museums, history, and peace and relaxation. The food is excellent at Lucy's restaurant in front of the Inn, and the proprietors, Tony & Lucy make you feel at home and like you are their only guest.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniette_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Hidden from the street behind Te Amo Lucy’s is the Loro de Oro Inn – My wife and I have vacationed here for the past five years and we look forward to many years to come. Behind the restaurant and through a gate and walkway – a gorgeous interior courtyard complete with a newly renovated swimming pool, hot tub and lavish garden, as well as a myriad of plants including cacti and spider plants of amazing size. Vines adorn the walls and entrances with beautiful peach, coral, and white blossoms. A BBQ grill and comfortable eating area under a red, stone-tiled roof beckon you to a quieter life where the simple pleasures are equally important. A custom mural depicts old world craftsmanship as well as a spirit of land and culture; an original oil by Jose Duarte Gomez, the center of the piece depicts Mary over the image of a cathedral. It is an oasis in the midst of a disheveled, age worn, yet intriguing city. Art and architecture enhance the senses. Our bungalow was exquisite! Every inch speaks to the finest of Mexican architecture mixed with state of the art American standards all of the amenities of home, but in Mazatlan. There is a roof top deck where you can catch the sun’s rays, look out over the city and on some days, watch the cruise ships come-in to port.
We highly recommend staying at this charming Inn. The Inn is conveniently located one block from Plaza Machado within walking distance from great shopping and restaurants. The Loro de Oro benefits from having its own restaurant on site called "Te Amo Lucy's". The restaurant is operated by the same owners as the Inn. The food is consistently excellent. Authentic Mexican recipes, freshly prepared. Your hosts Tony & Lucy are warm and welcoming. Tony is a great source of knowledge about Mazatlan and he seems to know everyone. The rooms are clean, well serviced and there is Wifi internet on site and purified water. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castaway127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The other reviews are correct. We couldn't ask for more. We have been to Maz many times and have stayed in a different place each time but will come back to the 'Golden Parrot' (Loro de Oro) and visit Lucy and Tony from now on. The location in the historic center is ideal. We walked to the open air market, the old cathedral and the plaza with the theater and many open air restaurants. The beach is a few short blocks away and uncrowded and without pestering peddlers. The room was large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. The courtyard with hot tub and pool are a great place to relax and sip on a frozen cocktail. The food is authentic and some of the best we have eaten anywhere. Even if you stay somewhere else, you should have at least one meal at the I Love Lucy cafe. The only thing we didn't like was having to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorroito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

One of the best stays in my many visits to Mazatlan. Tony is a considerate and attentive host, quick to attend to any questions or requests I had. I stayed ten days and had a great time.
Of course, Lucy's food is among the best available. If you consider Taco Bell to be Mexican food, you will be disappointed, of course. But if you want real Mexican cuisine, Lucy and her staff provide wonderful tastes and textures. Mazatlan has many great restaurants and one would want to try many of them, but for delicious Mexican cuisine, it will be difficult to improve on Te Amo Lucy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

If you are looking for a wonderful small getaway, stay at the Loro de Oro Inn in downtown Mazatlan. The studios are a wonderful bargain and the interior courtyard/pool area is an amazing oasis. It's is a short walk to the beach, and very close to the Plaza Machado which often has nightly music. The Central Plaza and Cathedral are only 2 blocks away. Tony and Lucy are gracious hosts and will make you feel welcome. The restaurant "Te Amo Lucy's" has spectacular food and nightly live music. We loved our visit and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachRunner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Hidden from the street, behind Te Amo Lucy’s is the Loro de Oro Inn. We recently stayed 2 week in their Luxury suite and can highly recommend the place. From the newly renovated pool in the outdoor common area, to the roof top deck where you catch the sun’s rays and finally the 2 cats which will adopt you, Loro de Oro provides a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakesbackdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#18 of 78 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
674 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
#19 of 78 in Mazatlan
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#16 of 78 in Mazatlan
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Leyendas
Casa de Leyendas
#2 of 48 in Mazatlan
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loro de Oro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loro de Oro Inn

Property: Loro de Oro Inn
Address: Calle Constitucion 622 | Centro Histórico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing