We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value. Friendly staff. Hotel Lerma is great.”
Review of Hotel Lerma

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lerma
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Amazing value. Friendly staff. Hotel Lerma is great.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Our first impression was good at the reception area. The owner greeted us like an old friend. We even talked a bit as he showed us the room. Our second impression was just as good. The room was huge and clean. Also, the room was bright without being too hot due to merciless overheating from the sun. We stayed in Mazatlan a few months back just around the corner from the Lerma and the room was 10 pesos more and about 3 times smaller, so this is a great deal for 190 pesos. Our room, 32, had one double bed, a bench area for bags, a desk and chair, a bedside table, and a private bath with hot water and great water pressure. Two windows provided a cross draft. The front window faced a quiet residential street. Quiet streets can be like gold dust in Mexico, so this made us happy. A previous tip said that in-room wi fi is best above the office. 32 was above, and wi fi worked very well in the room. There is a book exchange down the hall. 5 blocks from the center, 2 blocks from the ocean and oxxo. No tv. The ceiling fan was quiet. Maids wisked away dirty towels daily and restocked the soap and toilet paper. Our stay was quiet for 3 days, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. The Lerma is an old gem of a place. Almost everything is original circa 1940. It is charming in a very well maintained fashion. Hotel Lerma is run by a kind family with simple expertise. It is a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoScraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
7
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel, although very inexpensive, is not for the regular traveler. It is extremely bare bones. It advertised wifi; however you had to stand in front of the office door to get wifi. The fan in the too was barely connected to the ceiling, so she turned on they looked ready to sail across the room. The bathroom entrance had a very low door jamb made out of rock (perhaps 4 1/2 feet tall). I hit my head more than once. Having looked at it, many others have done the same thing. No hot water my stay add no way to keep water on the shower; the bathroom floods and gets the toilet, sink, etc soaked. Marginally clean. The good thing about the hotel was a secure parking lot for vehicles-included in price. Location is also good; in the centro district.

Room Tip: Select a room right over the office for best chance at wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I want to be clear that this is an economical hotel in Mexico, and this rating is based on standards for that class of hotel. The hotel does not have in-room phones, televisions, etc. so don't be disappointed by that or expect that in an "economico". Hotel does provide internet (which I found to be accessed best near the office, and usually on the patios either on the first floor or the upper balcony. Hotel also provides drinking water from a dispenser as the water in Mexico (as I'm sure you have heard) is not potable.

Rates were GREAT which meant I could stay longer since it fit so inexpensively into my budget.

Rooms have high ceilings and fans which help to cool the room at night, especially on hot days in Mexico. The hotel provides daily housekeeping service. Rooms are available with one double bed or two double beds with an en suite bathroom. You can also choose a smaller single bed room with no bathroom and use the community showers/toilets provided for those less expensive rooms. Crisp clean bedding and towels are provided, as well as some additional Mexican-style blankets for chilly nights. Our room had a desk with chair and small old-fashioned armoire.

Rooms are very clean, with tile floors, painted walls, etc. There are no shower curtains in Mexico, as a rule, as they retain moisture and encourage mildew, so most hotels don't have them. That means the toilet and some of the bathroom gets wet. There are shutters you can open on either one or two walls of your room for a breeze. I'm a warm-blooded person but in January through March never missed A/C here, especially with the fan. We had two outlets in our room for recharging appliances (plug-ins are the same as in the USA here), one in the room and one in the bath. There is a community fridge on the second floor, and a community lending library.

Perfect location for backpackers and bikers, with off-street parking in the courtyard which gets closed after 9pm (although you can knock at the gate to get let in later at night if you are out). Hotel is 4 short blocks from the Mercado and another two from the Immaculate Conception Cathedral. The hotel is on Simon Bolivar between Aquiles Serdan and Benito Juarez and bus stops are located at both ends of the block the hotel rests on.

I chose a lower level room, but would suggest an upper floor and perhaps in inner courtyard room if noise is a problem.

Best of all is the family who owns the place. They have been accommodating in every way, allowing another guest to park a bike for an extended time, allowing use of their clothesline for drying laundry, etc. This is a family-owned, multi-generational business which I believe drives their care for their guests.

Loved my time at the hotel and cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Please read above for notes about noise and expectations on rooms in Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hotel Lerma is not only the cheapest hotel in Mazataln, but if you are allergic to tourist nonsense and wish for a simple, clean and friendly place, it is also THE BEST. A large part of this is the attitude of Carlos (the owner/manager) who is very cool indeed and always happy to give advice. I had to go to La PAz and left my luggage with him for 6 weeks - no problem! A real nice guy, a great, authentic place and right in the heart of the Old Town as well. Add to that a bill of only 15USD per night and it is easy to understand why everyone raves about the Lerma. I am the newest fan and I will be returning, SEGURURAMENTE. Muchos Gracias Carlos!

Room Tip: Clean, large and simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Great place to stay if you like no frills and cheap. $150 pesos gets you a clean secure room 2 blocks from the beach and about 5 blocks from the market. Even has wi-fi if you sit by the office. Coffee shop a few blocks away on the beach also has wi-fi. The rest of the city accessible by bus or taxi. Super affordable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mybadjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I spent a week in Mazatlán for her birthday (February 28 - March 6) and we had the opportunity to stay at a variety of hotels. We stayed at Hotel La Siesta first, then Hotel Playa Mazatlán, and finally Hotel Lerma. The price ranged from expensive (Hotel Playa Mazatlán), moderate (Hotel La Siesta), and cheap (Hotel Lerma). Out of the three our favorite hotel was Lerma and that's saying A LOT! Because we liked all three hotels for different reasons.

Hotel La Siesta is a good value and lots of tourist stay there, it's right in front the beach (Playa Olas Altas) and the malecón and right around the corner from the historic zone in old Mazatlán. Hotel Playa Mazatlán is in the Golden Zone aka tourist zone and in my opinion it's the best value out of the large-resort-type hotels if that's what you seek. It has a nice private beach (Playa Las Gaviotas) right in front of it and is right next door to some of Mazatlán's most popular clubs & bars. Joe's Oyster bar is a rock throw away.

Hotel Lerma is a few steps away from Playa Norte beach. It's a 5 minute walk max. It's less "touristy" but they still receive a fair amount of foreigners. We saw quite a few while staying there but nowhere near the level we saw at the other hotels. The staff and management is very friendly and they keep the place spotless. Security is good and there is a ton of parking and best of all it only cost $12 a night for a double bed with private bath and fan! What won us over beside all of the stuff I just mentioned was the place had a homey authentic Mexican feel. It was reminiscent of a room in Havana, Cuba. It has huge windows that open up to the street activity below (we stayed on the 2nd floor), but it was never loud or noisy. The street is very quiet and during the day when you open up the windows and turn the fan on you could just sleep for hours in the comfortable beds, which we did several days in a row, the room is very breezy and makes you relaxed & lazy. Or you could watch the activity down below on the street.

I would definitely stay at the Lerma again and I highly recommend it for people who are just looking for a nice place to rest their head, cheap, clean accommodations that are authentic and close to the beach. The authentic, non-hustle and bustle feel of the place is what puts it above the rest for us. At Hotel La Siesta there was a guy in the lobby constantly trying to sell us time shares and get us to go to this one resort in the Golden Zone and the staff didn't seem to mind him being there. Lerma didn't have none of that riff-raff. You could just come and go as you please and relax. It's VERY comfortable & cozy. Check it out!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThatNicaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
story, wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

i totally loved the lerma, it was nothing fancy but i am a spend thrift and it had every thing i wanted. $12 a night, clean, shower, bed, safety, and the atmoshere of mexico i had hoped to find. i dont go to another country to sit in a motel. they helped me make a call on the phone, opend the gate to let me in late at night ( i felt guity about it but it is the norm for them). also it was located to all the stuff you want to see in the old part of maz. beach, marcado, cathedral, etc. we went in june and it was 95 every day and my daughter wanted AC so we left after a few days. i didnt need AC and preffered the Lerma. i would stay there again definatly. if i didnt stay there it would only be because i like to see diferent things and places.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Stayed June 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brent41m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Las Nereidas
Hotel Suites Las Nereidas
#62 of 78 in Mazatlan
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Centro Historico
The Inn at Centro Historico
#48 of 78 in Mazatlan
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#17 of 78 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#36 of 78 in Mazatlan
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Suitel 522 Eco Hostel
#14 of 48 in Mazatlan
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Morales Inn
#28 of 48 in Mazatlan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lerma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lerma

Property: Hotel Lerma
Address: Calle Simon Bolivar 622 | Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Number of rooms: 153

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing