We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Sea Garden, Mazatlan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recent stay at Sea Garden, Mazatlan”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from our first ever visit to Mazatlan. We stayed at the Sea Garden, the grounds were great, the one thing we found while staying there was a great little massage place just a short bus ride from the resort. Marina Massage is located in the Golden Zone just across the street from Pueblo Bonito. Very clean, and great price. $20 an hour for a massage. The owner has been a massage therapist for 15 years and has just recently opened her own shop. The therapists she has working for her are wonderful. We had two appointments and would have made more if we had the time. If you get a chance check it out. Marina Massage is on the same side of the street as the Fish Market and the Meat Market. Wonderful way to spend part of your vacation!!!!

Room Tip: When checking in and you have reservations for the Mayan Palace have them show you the room prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DCarroll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    117
    79
    50
    61
See reviews for
170
90
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our recent stay at the Mayan Sea Garden was better than we initially expected. The Hotel has closed about half of their older buildings and is continuing with the Main and newer buildings. Being one of the older hotels in Mazatlan they have focused their attention and much of that is in the beutiful grounds and pool areas. The Concierge desk was an asset for things like booking a tour outside tour desk hours, and supply info on restaurants and attractions. Bus to town from the bus stop at the Hotel Entrance is 9.5 pesos or taxi fares like 100 pesos to the Gold Zone or 140 to downtown and the Green Bus is air conditioned. Hotel food is good and restaurants like Playa Bruga is down the beach or Tacos Escorpio by Henry is just across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view on checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank metamorphtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have just read a few of the reviews for the Sea Garden and I was shocked to see complaints about the staff being unfriendly. My experience has been very different. I make it a point to remember the staffs names and amazingly they remember mine from year to year. I can only suppose that you receive the treatment from them that you give out.

One person recommended not buying into the Sea Garden, impossible to do as it has not been sold for years and the information that most of it is being demolished and rebuilt in the near future is readily available. I don't go there for the newness of the buildings but the wonderful atmosphere.

The only improvement needed very badly is the restaurant and lounge. The prices are definitely too costly, which is why they are not fun places to go as they are almost always empty. However, there are a few good restaurants in the area and cabs and buses are cheap.

Final word, relax and have fun there and don't expect 5 star rooms, because you aren't paying for 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were worried when we read the reviews of previous stays but decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by the service and cleanliness of the hotel and a bonus was the beachfront view! It is a little dated but we were very comfortable and would definitly stay again. We couldn't have asked for more for the money.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 01 beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Margaret43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just back from a 1-week stay with wife and 3 kids under 5. Our experience was nothing short of excellent, with a couple of comments. The Good: super-friendly staff (Hola Manny!), excellent housekeeping, fun pools (yes, multiple), quiet stretch of beach, 2-for-1 happy hour, fun games room for all ages. The average: sure, the resort's not the newest, but it's clean and well maintained. The bad: I would have liked a more active kids' club so the parents could catch a break for a while, but I love my kids and don't avoid spending time with them. Biggest complaint would be the beach could be a little cleaner, especially for a private section, and the beach vendors, while polite and not pushy, are always lingering. Oh, and clean the bird poop off some of the pool lounge chairs (there were tons of empty spots to choose from, so not a show-stopper). Now to set the record straight on a few things: there was absolutely no mold (I'm allergic, I would know), the staff were all excellent, and the on-premise market has everything you need to feed a family, including a vegan. Sure, it's more expensive than a supermarket, but by Canadian standards it's not outrageous. If you're looking to save money on food while on vacation, I suggest you adjust your priorities. As for internet, there's no wi-fi and I didn't check out the cost at the computer centre, but I'M ON VACATION AND DON'T WANT TO BE ONLINE!! Again, check your priorities. Bottom line: know that Sea Garden is well north of the main strip with no supermarket nearby, and know that it's not a shiny new resort. With that in mind, have the right expectations on price and amenities and you'll enjoy thoroughly, as we did.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Shmeppyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

lucky for us, I read the reviews that are posted here!
Best tip that was shared...leave your luggage where it is...
tell them you want to see the room first...chances are good your going to want to see another!
The restaurant has a buffet on Saturday nite from 6-10
still not sure what it was...thought it was seafood...
we arrived at 7:00 put our drink orders in..
was at least 10 min. till they showed up!

we finally get our drinks ..go to the buffet
and its empty!

we went back to the table and thought we'd wait..
and wait...and wait...

got a bit of attitude from the waiter
when we complained!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aboveborder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

First, the fact that this facility is removed from the Golden Zone and its services seems puts its guests at some disadvantage. This fact seems to drive prices and policies at Sea Garden. The restaurant pricing is high relative to quality. The daily cost for internet service is outrageous ..... the highest I've ever experienced anywhere. There is no wireless service available.
This was the third room of my second stay in my second building of this resort. While better than my first experience a number of years ago, there was still a low but pervasive evidence of mildew in the bathroom. Those with respiratory problems should avoid this resort.
Finally, in a resort city which is generally very welcoming and friendly, this facility continues to employ a large number of staff who are not friendly, not accomodating in any way and simply would rather ignore you than deal with you. Sad, but true.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#45 of 78 in Mazatlan
903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#59 of 78 in Mazatlan
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Property: Sea Garden Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Garden Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Garden Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing