We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Leyendas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De Leyendas
Ranked #2 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Erie pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We discovered this jewel three years ago while speaking with a couple during the annual art walk. They shared that they were staying upstairs and asked if we would like to see their room. We were blown away!.As we walked up the gorgeous pink-hued marble staircase it seemed as though we were in a private home (which it was at one time) Reaching the top we entered a large open area that was the common room. It contained hundreds of DVDs, books, a TV, comfortable seating and a small balconey which offered a view of the street below and the ocean a few minutes walk away. There are six rooms-all have colorful Mexican furnishings and french doors that open onto a balcony from which one looks down onto the courtyard with its center fountain (hummingbirds come for a drink!) and tables with colorful cushions that beckon one to come down for early coffee and stay for breakfast (included) There is a small pool and pots of flowers and greenery everywhere. The cheerful kitchen staff prepares delicious dishes-both american and mexican. There is a small restaurant-Macaws-attached to the B&B which is a gathering place for the locals and tourists alike. Cesar-the bartender- and Annabelle-the server-are most friendly. The menu offers a nice variety of choices(try the beef sliders made with THE most delicious beef served with creamy horseradish sauce!). The hosts-Glenn and Sharon Sorrie-are , in a word, wonderful!!! They have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. And should you miss the pets you may have left at home there are two friendly and well-behaved dogs for you to play with!!! Restaurants abound just a short walk down the Malacon. Should you be there during the Carnaval (as we were, twice) you will have a front row seat for the festivities as the grandstand is just up at the corner and the band performs well into the wee hours (you didnt REALLY come to mexico to sleep did you?) From the third floor open terrace we enjoyed the passing parade with its myriad of floats and experienced the most lavish fireworks display we have ever seen anywhere!!!.Across the street from the Casa is a narrow boulevard with shady trees and benches, an art gallery, a library, a small gift boutique with unique gifts . The Casa is located in the old historic part of town just a refreshing walk down quiet streets to the Machado where everyone goes to dine, attend the Peralto theater (we enjoyed a Mozart and Vivaldi concert there!) or to just sit and people watch. During Carnaval it is loud and noisy and FUN!! Not to be missed!!!. As you can guess.....we ended up staying at the Casa for a week the year after meeting the nice couple who offered to show us their room and we stayed again this year. Although we have a timeshare in the Golden Zone at one of the finest resorts we have discovered that staying at the Casa before we leave to go home is a wonderful way to unwind and enjoy the hospitality of two of the nicest people in Mazatlan!!. It will be a much anticipated ending to our yearly stay from now on!!!

Room Tip: We especially enjoyed the Jardin room.....it has a garden feel to it....the bed is kingsize and oh s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCronks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
133
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Sharon and Glenn are the best, and their staff is fabulous! Breakfast (included) is ordered from the menu of great selections, and individually prepared. Sunday morning they serve Benedict's of all varieties - my favorite was the Glenny Blenny, with bacon, ham, tomatoes and avocado. The kitchen staff is particularly delightful, and always laughing. They are a half-block to the beach, and just a few blocks to the Theatro Anglea Peralta. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troncones
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love this little B&B hotel. It is located in the best part of town walking distance from the main square in the middle of the colonial area. A little beach is 1/2 block away and many great restaurants are near by. The hotel restaurant is a favorite with locals, is great, and lots of fun. The Inn itself is a beautifully restored colonial mansion, each room is different with it's own charm. With the great breakfasts and the pool this place has it all.

Room Tip: they have a good website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were recommended to Casa de Leyendas, by another couple we met on the beach in San Pancho who were also travelling with a Mex rescue dog. What a blessing it turned out to be, Glen and Sharon make us so welcome and our dog Kenja loves it there too. The beach is just across the road, the market within walking distance and the charm of old Mazatlan, everything you could wish for. We travel to Mexico from Vancouver Island, so we always look forward to staying here en route, this year we spent an extra night-just to chill out and enjoy.
The courtyard breakfast has a vast menu to choose from and Macaws is so friendly, you don't feel like strangers at all.

Room Tip: This is one place that I definately will be revisiting and recommending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Breakfast at Macaws is wonderful ,large portions,fresh home made biscuits and gravy. Waitstaff is very attentive even when very busy, no worries about a refill here, they know how to take good care of you. All food must be made fresh, everything we have ate here was wonderful. Never anything amiss. Do not miss going here, this is a must do. Look inside at the B&B, you can tell it is lovely, well cared for, the owners take great pride in their business.

Room Tip: All of them, you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sungirl22250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Believe all these great reviews. Just spent a week at Casa de Leyendas, and could not have asked for anything more. Owners Glen and Sharon are a delight--and make you feel right at home.The entire staff is lovely. Breakfast by the pool, sublime (and delicious!) And a relaxing dinner or drinks at Macaws to end a busy day? Perfect. The rooms are very well appointed, down to the last detail. The pride here is obvious, and appreciated! See you again, guys!

Room Tip: Loved room #3! But I'm sure they are all great.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Since we live just a couple of blocks away, we'd never had a reason to stay here. However, we took refuge there one night when our floors were being refinished. We had always before admired the beautifully appointed public areas of the home and enjoyed their Macaw's Bar. Our stay, even though short, was a delight. Our room was extremely comfortable (the most comfortable beds of any Mexican hotel we've ever experienced) and very well decorated. Each room has its own unique style. Sharon and Glenn are fabulous hosts and they provided a delectable breakfast. When we have overflow houseguests, Casa de Leyendas will be the place we will always send them.

Room Tip: Sorry--no fitness center. Clicked by mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
8.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
5.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
0.2 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Leyendas

Property: Casa De Leyendas
Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza # 4 | Centro Historico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Leyendas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leyendas is a totally refurbished 8,000 square foot hacienda bed & breakfast with over 2,000 square feet of additional outside terrazzo space. Located in the heart of the central historic district and only 200 feet from the ocean, this casa feels like home away from home. Experience the past and enjoy the present. History, culture, arts and music surround this magnificent bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa De Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Leyendas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing