We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Casa de Leyendas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Leyendas
Ranked #2 of 50 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We loved everything about Casa de Leyendas--from the beautifully decorated rooms to the attached bar/restaurant Macaws. Sharon and Glenn couldn't have been more hospitable, even setting up an extra bed in our room for our 14 year old son. The friendly bartender at Macaws makes a mean margarita and always greeted us with a wonderful smile.The breakfast waitstaff (Annabelle?) was very personable, and took time to help our son practice his Spanish.
A wonderful, beautiful place staffed by wonderful, beautiful people. Even the dogs, Mark and Cody, were friendly! We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Peralta room is amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Leyendas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 272 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had been told about this B&B from our other dog friends...we had no idea how beautiful, convenient and wonderfully located this B&B would be! In wonderful old town, across from the art museum and next door to a great spa and within walking distance to a variety of great resaurants! Did I mention a half block from the beach? Really everything we could hope for and welcoming of our pooch to boot...great rooms and a wonderful breakfast next to the pool...you can't miss this one.

Room Tip: We looked at a few...they all looked nice...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Not much more can be said about Casa De Leyendas as all the good reviews are true. This B&B checks all the boxes.
Fantastic Hosts and staff
Well Apointed Guest rooms, common area and everything is spotless
Purified water system in the B&B
Delicious Breakfasts (order off a menu)
Numerous outdoor sitting areas/patios, rooftop with sea view and kitchen
Cold drinks at Macaws
My only comment is the neighboring pub has a loud rock band on Friday, Sat and Sunday, so depending on your room, and if you are a light sleeper you may need ear plugs, or leave the air-con on for background noise or use their sound machine in the room. Yes, there is a sound machine in your room. They think of everything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakesbackdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Everything you read in the other reviews sounds too good to be true, but isn't: Beautiful restored historic home, great rooms, most comfortable beds, excellent hosts, fine variety of breakfasts, friendly staff, affordable rates, balconies with views of sunrises and sunsets. In two previous visit to Mazatlan, we've stayed in the Golden Zone. No more! The Casa puts you right on the edge of the lovely historic zone with winding streets that (safely) lead to museums, artist studios, craft shops, bakeries and the Plaza Machado, which surrounded by a dozen restaurants, most of them open air. The Olas Altas beach and Malecon are a block away in the other direction. Two minor caveats: The small in-house pool is unheated, and the waves on the beach appeal more to surfers than paddlers. But we'd return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the start-of-the day street noises and evening jazz at McCaw's in our window; if you...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallyballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovingly individually decorated rooms. Feels like a small private house with very attentive service. If you take over all seven rooms as a group, even small children are welcome. Otherwise, the rooms are not suitable for small children.
The hotel and the rooms are always clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included, plentiful and freshly cooked.
The location is in the beautiful historic center.
The hosts are friendly and helpful. They have always helped us organize our activities (surfing, restaurants, rollerblading ...).
We can recommend the Casa de Leyendas to anyone who wants to spend a relaxing time in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariecoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Sharon and Glenn are amazing hosts within wonderful Old Mazatlan. We were looking for a change from the 'all inclusive' experience and got the mexican culture, local fare, and community feel we were seeking. The breakfast and weekend brunch was amazing! We had a gorgeous sunset cruise and a super-fun shrimp/Pacifico lunch at one of the neighborhood BBQ joints. Don't forget to ask about the music!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Subee_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

On a previous trip to Mazatlan we happened topass by the Casa de Leyendas and met with Sharon and Glenn, who were then working hard to get the Macaw Cafe up and running. They were very friendly and helpful so we decided that the next time we visited Mazatlan we would stay at the Casa. The opportunity arose in February and so we booked and even though Carnivale was in full swing we were n ot disappointed. The old town is a fascinating area to visit and as the Casa is right in the middle of it we immediately felt at home. Sharon and Glenn are wonderful hosts and their staff are equally accomodating. Our room was spotless and the meals were also excellent and we were always made to feel that we were special. The only drawback was the bedlam coming from the festivities. It made it very hard to sleep the first night but after that we felt we could sleep through anything, and we did. On the final night of Carnivale everthing wrapped up at about 3:00 a,m, and at about 4:00 a.m. I woke up with a start wondering What was wrong: Everything was so quiet! Seriously Carnivale is great fun and staying there while it was on was truly a wonderful experience.
I absolutely recommend the Casa de Leyendas as a great place to stay. We will dfefinitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolJPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 79 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.2 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#35 of 79 in Mazatlan
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
2.4 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#45 of 79 in Mazatlan
101 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 79 in Mazatlan
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Leyendas

Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza # 4 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range: $115 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Leyendas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leyendas is a totally refurbished 8,000 square foot hacienda bed & breakfast with over 2,000 square feet of additional outside terrazzo space. Located in the heart of the central historic district and only 200 feet from the ocean, this casa feels like home away from home. Experience the past and enjoy the present. History, culture, arts and music surround this magnificent bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa de Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Leyendas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing