We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King David Tours

King David Tours
Ranked #12 of 47 Tours in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great day at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Someone at our hotel recommended this hotel, so we went for it. Glad we did. We were picked up promptly at 9:15 from our hotel and driven to the marina. From there we boarded the boat - not a very nice boat, but really, it didn't matter as we were only on there for a short time and it was perfect for the purpose. Our guide, Hugo, was fantastic. Animated and clearly born to entertain. We were the only English speakers on our tour, as it was low season and a Mexican holiday, so it was great that he would speak to both us and the Mexican tourists as we toured the harbor. It was a really nice tour and upon arriving at Stone Island, we disembarked and were led to a truck pulled by a tractor. The town was really cool as we drove through, and the beach itself was lovely. Ate at Molokay's restaurant - family owned as I understood it - I enjoyed our young bartender, Ian, who grew up in the US but returned a few years ago to work in Maz. Did the banana boat ride, that was fun, and the ocean was hot hot hot and fun for boogie boarding (all included in the price). Also played some volleyball which was great. We had all afternoon at the beach, really relaxing, and then we were taken right back to our hotel. Well worth the very reasonable price for this fun day. Thanks Hugo!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BraveTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“King David Jungle Tour - WASTE OF MONEY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I did not enjoy this tour at all! It all started with my hotel pick up as they forgot to pick us up. This tour was sold to us as animal watching tour the only animals that we seen was the pelicans which we could see at our resport! We were to see shrimp, turtles, many birds, and fish, but nothing. The Tour was 90% in spanish so all the english people (half the boat) had no idea what was going on. The place that we went for lunch stunk so bad of an out house and all the animals on the farm were in very poor shape. They had baby chicks locked in a pen with no food or water and in poor health. The adults had water but the water was in old rusty frying pans and the food was any mangos that the birds droped from the trees. We went to the beach and it was full of garbage that was washed in with the waves. We asked why this was not cleaned up and they replied it was too hot. The water was very dirty with a yellow scum that was brought a shore with every wave and they wanted us to swim in that? There was one shower and washroom at the beach and it was very run down and dirty. There was no horse back riding. We then went back for lunch but assuming that they used there own (sick) chickens to prepare lunch there was no way we were eating it. There was two boats that were full of people that went out that day so around 80 to 100 people each day 7 days a week. I would like to know what they are doing with all the money that this tour brings in? I know that it is not going back to the tour to improve it! I would say save your money and skip this tour! If you want to swim in the ocean it is a must to go to Deer mountain tour or zip lining!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank WSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely got our money's worth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We went for a tour through them and it was amazing! They picked us up from our hotel on a nice air conditioned bus, and took us to the marina. It was too foggy to leave from the one spot because the big cruise ships were coming in, but they had a backup plan. They took us to a fish market and we left from there. It was really nice seeing everyone responding possitively to our tour guide Fernando. He was very knowledgable of all the species of birds and animals. It was at least an hour and a half through the bay, through the mangroves, and to the site where we stopped our boat. We then looked through a farm where they had an alligator and turtles. We were then taken to our private beach where we were left for over an hour. It was completly undesturbed and lots of wildlife roamed freely, including crabs. Then we were taken back to the little village to eat a fabulous meal that was very cheap for extra shrimp. We left the island and went back through the mangroves and almost got stuck. We didn't realize that the entire time we were there the tide was still going down. Tons more birds were walking around because of the stranded fish or crabs from the tide going down as well. There was a wonderful surprise at the end of the tour, which I won't spoil for you. I have to say it was AMAZING! This was the best tour we took for getting our money's worth; not to mention we were also given as many drinks as we wanted to consume. I strongly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to really learn and see the wildlife in Mazatlan. Just remember to bring a jacket for the morning and lots of sunblock because of the reflection off of the water.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmytrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, CA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tour Guide named Hugo made us feel like royalty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

Hugo our tour guide was friendly from the start and took us on a great excursion to stone island. Way better than the excursion we booked through the cruise ship. His team took us for an hour boat ride and got pretty darn close to soem sea lions and then through stone island and a tractor drawn buggy thing (so neat seeing the people who live on stone island). THen onto a restaruant called Molakay where they gave us a yummy meal and we got to pick two things to do which we chose kayaking and banana boat ride, kayaking was awesome, banana boat ride would be fun for kids we were too thrilled. THen we rented atv's and it was amazing you get to go off wherever for an hour well worth the thirty bucks. The beach was beautiful and the only downfall is the locals constently bugging you about buying their goods. I realize they have to amek a living but after the tenth time saying no thanks it gets annoying. Overall Hugo made the experience an awesome one. We would recommend this to anyone going to book through King David tours.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alovetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serraturtle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stone Island Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We booked a tour with King David and it was awesome! The tour guide was funny, and very attentive. He kept a clipboard to keep track of all the participants and made sure we each got our activities. We enjoyed a boat tour, lunch at the beach, unlimited drinks (beer, water or soda), and horseback riding. What an experience!! This is still one of our favorite excursions, and we only paid $30. I'd highly recommend this to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank serraturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King David Tours also viewed

 

Been to King David Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing