We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relax and Enjoy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Mia's Casa Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Mia's Casa Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Relax and Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2006

Mama Mia's was just what we needed to be able to enjoy our vacation. With the stress of international travel, the language barrier (if you don't speak Spanish), and the uncertainty of internet bookings, we just had to take a sigh of relief when we arrived at the gates of Mama Mia's Casa. The house is immaculate and well laid out for privacy. Absolutely beautiful. The photos cannot do the house and grounds justice. AND YOU MUST NOT OVERLOOK THE OUTSTANDING CUISINE! I MEAN WOW! And in the afternoon . . . The back yard and pool is a famous place to take a siesta! Then . . . take Penny's advice on where to go to enjoy the best food and fun in the Mazatlan night. Listen to Penny and you will learn how to really enjoy your visit to Mazatlan. Save a hunk of watermelon for Poncho. Besides Penny, he will be the highlight of your stay. Next time we are in Mazatlan, this is where we will stay. Muey Bien.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2005

If your travels should take you to Mazatlan I recommend staying at Mama Mia's Casa. It's a bed and breakfast owned by expat American Penny Massey. She is warm and friendly and knows the local scene very well and can point out many good places to eat and things to see. Her home is lovely and spacious and the pool area in the backyard provides a nice refuge from the city if you get tired of the beach or all the folks trying to sell you something on every street corner. Which brings me unfortunately to the next part of this review. Unless I wanted to go deep sea fishing for marlin or sail fish I don't think I would return to Mazatlan. I have traveled a lot throughout Mexico and while I'm aware that everyone is just trying to make a buck I've never felt more taken advantage of as far as the prices of things go. All food, items in the shops, drinks, etc. were overpriced and we had to haggle a lot. Also, timeshares are big business in Mazatlan and people will try to hoodwink you into their presentations if they can. After a little road trip to some of the surrounding towns/villages we stayed one night at Playa Bonita (gold zone) upon are return to Mazatlan. We were told that the room was discounted because of their ongoing construction. For the inconvenience we could have access to a breakfast buffett and pool/beach areas at their sister property in the morning. Needless to say a van arrives to pick us up in the morning and once we're at the sister property we find out it is a timeshare condo property. We got a cab back and left immediately and went back to stay at Mama Mia's for another three days.

That is why I began this review with...if your travels find you in Mazatlan. I can't say enough nice things about Mama Mia's Casa, so if your want to check out Mazatlan for yourself, stay with Mrs. Penny Massey. A link to her website can be found off of the website of the local English paper, The Pacific Pearl, at -----.

Helpful?
3 Thank SlimBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2004

We can't say enough good things about our stay in Mazatlan at Penny's Bed and Breakfast. She is the perfect hostess. It was just like being at home. The privacy of her pool was a great option if we didn't feel like going to the ocean. It was so easy to get around Mazatlan from her place. Hopefully we'll be back again.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2004

We really enjoyed our visit to Mama Mia's Casa. The house is lovely, the back yard so relaxing and pretty. The pool is just wonderful and the food was out of this world. We highly recommend this as a must stay B&B in Mazatlan. Penny, the owner, is so helpful and it's in a great location.. Penny speaks both Spanish and English fluently and can take you anywhere or tell you good places to see and eat at. It is just wonderful.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2004

Just returned from my third trip to Mazatlan. This was my first time in a B&B, and am I ever turned on! What a fantastic experience! The owner is well versed in running a B&B, and sure made us feel so special. We really were pampered. I will return to Mazatlan, and will most certainly return to Mama Mia's Casa for more pampering, and more peace and quiet, and great food!

Helpful?
3 Thank Bethchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2004

It was such a treat to stay in this lovely Bed and Breakfast instead of a hotel. It is private, lovely and the service could not be finer. We would recommend Mama Mia's Casa to all!

Helpful?
2 Thank horseshoepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2004

Absolutely wonderful alternative to staying in a hotel! Beautiful bed and breakfast with a fantastic hostess. Can't wait to return! Highly Recommended!

Mama Mia's Casa
--------------------------------------

Helpful?
2 Thank SierraSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mision Mazatlan
Mision Mazatlan
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Palace Hotel / Suites
Luna Palace Hotel / Suites
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Mia's Casa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Mia's Casa Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mama Mia's Casa Bed and Breakfast
Address: Avenida de La Ostra 5219 | Sabalo Country Club, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing