We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
417
305
114
37
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
417
305
114
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poolactivities directorsushi restaurantsteam rooma la carte restaurantsbit datedno graciasmake reservationsla pergolaresort staffspent weeksmain buffetall inclusive vacationother resortscastilla beachincluded in the all inclusivebeach side
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 895 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the El Cid Granada for 2 weeks.

Rooms: the shuttle from the airport was quick. Check in was SUPER easy and we had fresh drink brought to us. Our room had 2 double beds, a kitchenette, a nice sized patio and was on the 3rd floor just up from the lobby. There was a bit of noise but nothing unusual - this is a hotel...the location was very convenient to the Granada El Patio restaurant & pool as well as the walk way over to the Castille/Moro. The room was clean - nice linens and towels. Our room was "updated" which means that the lighting and furnishings are new. However, the bathroom is still 70's style. Tipping the maid gave us some cool towel animals and kleenex flowers...

Restaurants: Had breakfast every morning at the buffet at the Castille. You can also have breakfast at the El Patio or at the Moro but this is a menu and for breakfast that did not suit us. For lunch we tried out the El Patio which was nice, quiet with a small menu, the buffet at the Castille which was always busy but on the ocean and we also went to the mexican restaurant at the Moro which was a nice change - indoors, airconditioned, menu. For supper we found the Mexican restaurant (moro) to be very good, the El Patio (granada) excellent, Sushi (granada) quiet & good, Italien (castille) okay, Buffet (castille) okay. Servers were super - especailly when they know you are a good tipper!

Ammenities - the pool at the Moro was the best for kids with the slide and rock jumping, the pool at the castille was quiet but we never swam there, the pool at the granada was great for windy days as it is very protected and warm. The ocean was nice and swimmable for all ages! We did not try the spa. The shows at night were not kid friendly until the last 10 minutes when the kids were invited on stage to dance - they LOVED that...but the actual shows (except broadway and kids show) were a little too adult! The bar in the castille was also GREAT in the evenings for sports, a bit of flash mob dancing and good drinks.

Overall, for the price, this was a GREAT hotel. We did go out of the hotel to do siteseeing and to a few other restaurants. Would definitely recommend this to the budget traveller. If you want 5 star accomodations - do not stay here.

Note: We also did the time share presentation. We had never done one before and even though we did not buy into it, it was very imformative and was interesting and actually a good idea. We were glad that we looked into it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djlbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear: djlbtravel
First of all dear guest, thanks for contribution and lovely post! I am delighted to read that you have experienced your stay as "excellent". Positive comments are a real motivation for our staff. It is an extra push to go that extra mile day after day…they will surely keep up the good work!


Thank you for also complimenting our great location, nice rooms and food. The food and service are quality controlled daily. We appreciate your trust and that is why we pay attention. to small details and try to offer more than our competitors. Your notes on other El Cid Resorts: Castilla, Moro and Granada will no doubt prove valuable to other visitors too.
Thank you for your confidence and for recommending us. Please come back and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from our trip Feb 13-23, 2013. We stayed at the "Granada" but used all the amenities of the other El Cid properties. I really can not say enough good things about the place and especially all the staff who go out of their way to keep the hotel & grounds spotless and provide the most fabulous service. The wait staff at pool & beach side was great. A special mention to "Ramon", Tomas" & "Ivan" who are some of the best waiters I have ever had the pleasure to be served by! We went to all the a la carte restaurants and were pleased with the food quality but the Argentinian was my favorite! The buffet restaurant is what you should expect. There was enough variety to please most palates. The nightly shows were also very entertaining. I would highly recommend the Mexican Fiesta they offer Wednesday evenings. It was Awesome and really quite the experience. This was our third time to Mazatlan (& the El Cid) and believe me, we will return again next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottogotosunnyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I am so flattered to hear such great feedback and that you were able to enjoy our facilities as well as the restaurants we have to offer. Yes the Argentinean is our crowd favorite. As far as the Dinner and show at La Pergola We always try and come up with new theme nights and shows so we can keep our guest wanting more and I’m glad you enjoyed them . Thank you for choosing El Cid to make your vacations an Unforgettable one and for coming back to us. We hope you keep coming back for more and make your visits even better each time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at El Cid Marina but went to restaurant at Granada. El Patio was enjoyable. Great atmosphere, but stay away from the rib eye. Everything else was great. Would not hesistate going back. Was hoping to see the Fiesta, but it was too windy the night we wanted to go – have heard nothing but good things about it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El1Lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear: Sir

Thank you so much for your recent review and your nice words to El patio restaurant, Guest satisfaction is our top priority and it’s good to read that your stay reflects this well. I´m sad that you missed the Mexican party, I'm sure you would have a good impression.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks all inclusive at the El Cid Granada just before Carnaval and enjoyed it very much. Convenient location and just over a pedestrian bridge to the beach. The a la carte restaurants were all pretty good, and we never had a problem getting a reservation, unlike other places we've stayed at. The Pergola buffet was fine for breakfast but we really enjoyed our lunches at the Alhambra overlooking the beach. Rooms were clean, airy and quiet, the pool on the Granada side was always peaceful, and rarely crowded - more "liveliness" was available across the bridge if you wanted it. Staff were always most attentive and helpful - the lobby bar at Castilla was enjoyable with live music quite often. Since we had access to the pools and restaurants on both sides, we received excellent value for money at the Granada - we'll be back in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear: judy g

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your vacation and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty. We appreciate all feedback; but, especially enjoy reading about the great experiences we help make in Mazatlan. I am also glad to know that you enjoyed our all inclusive, our convenient location, and the staff was helpful and corteous.

We work very hard and take pride in insuring proper service to all our guest. We will pass along your wonderful experience to our employees as a job well done.

Warm greetings,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at El Cid Granada from Jan 25 – Feb 1st with our 7 year old daughter. When we initially arrived to the front desk, they were quick to check us in and gave us all of our information. The room and the hotel was a bit dated, but we knew that when we booked. We could’ve paid more to stay at the Castilla or El Moro, but we figured that we wouldn’t be in our room much anyway!

Everything in the room worked, the beds were actually quite comfy, and were cleaned every day that we wanted them to be. We had a long counter in our room which was in front of the kitchenette - a fridge, stovetop & sink - and the counter was great for our daughter to be able to colour & do a bit of homework.

Staying on the Granada side, most everything in terms of bars and food are on the Castilla/El Moro side, but they are all connected by a walkway. However, saying that, we really enjoyed having breakfast at El Patio on the Granada side. You can order what you want, it’s fresh, and the restaurant is quiet, not like eating at a buffet! And…you may have a few iguanas to look at while you’re eating – it was great!

We did go out to a couple different restaurants in town, which was great to have a bit of a variety, and it's nice that everything is very accessible from the hotel.

We spent most days at the pools at Castilla and El Moro and there were always waiters to bring you drinks right to your chair. The pools were heated (we’ve been to Cuba the last couple years…so it was a nice change!).

We did go downtown Mazatlan to the market on the Monday we were there…and let me tell you – that is an experience, especially when making sure your 7 year old is still with you! They were quite aggressive, and it was very busy! Apparently Monday is when the locals also go downtown to get their groceries for the week. I would maybe recommend going not on a Monday! The next day, we found the nice markets just down the road from the hotel just past Costa de Oro…much calmer!

All in all, it was a great trip and if you book at El Cid Granada, you will not be disappointed with the service! Enjoy! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BCSunseeker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear: BCSunseeker76

I want to express my thanks in your recent review, this is very grateful for me and my team to know that you expend a 7 wonderful day with your daughter.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurants, the rooms, and the other 2 hotels;

I’m so proud to offer a great service in each one of them.
A quality guest centered service is one of our core values (best practices) and we strive to achieve this by our excellent quality service, a friendly staff and a very responsive management team. Our hope is that this guest response has lulled the agitated minds of potential vacationers to El Cid El Granada and will make it easier to choose the hotel as their vacation destination while on Mazatlan.

Please let us know the next time you’re coming to the sunniest city in Mexico so we can take good care of you at our hotel, hopefully, for a longer stay.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews