We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Mona Best Pizza in Mazatlan”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mona Marina

La Mona Marina
Ranked #113 of 400 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“La Mona Best Pizza in Mazatlan”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right overlooking the marina at Marina Mazatlan, this is the best pizza I've had here in this town.
Its a nice thin crust pizza with just about any toppings one may like.
The oven is outside on the patio portion of the restaurant and used to be wood fired-although I'm not sure that's still the case.
I've also had their philly cheese steak which was a nice and heavily stuffed baguette with potato salad.
One disappointment here however is when ordering a refresco(pop) it comes warm and straight out of the case. They give you a full glass of ice with it but that only gets it cool after sitting in it for 10 minutes or so. I've made a comment to staff several times here but to no result. They charge more for the pop here too so I don't know why they cant chill it!!
Another negative here is the service. It is very hit and miss. I've sat for up to a half hour to be served and often had to try to get the attention of the half dozen waiters meeting at the bar while dining! They just aren't too interested.
The location is really nice and the food is very good but the above comments are hard to overlook.
I'll still go when I want good pizza however.
As an aside, make sure you have insect repellent on bare legs if outside as the bugs can be brutal. Actually the restaurant supplied some repellent one night when I forgot mine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorman6995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza by American standards”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After Mexican food for five days, we were ready for some good pizza. La Mona came through. We went to the marina location since we were staying north of the Golden Zone. It has outdoor dining overlooking the marina.

The salads were large enough for two as dinner salads, and the menu made it clear that all vegetables were well washed for any concerned Americans.

We had a group of eight so we ordered four different pizzas to try. We chose some American standards (pepperoni, sausage and olives) and some more exotic ingredients on some of the pies. You can order the house Mexican cheese blend or traditional mozzarella. We ordered some pizzas each way.

Our whole group was very impressed with the all the pizzas. The crusts were wood-fired, the sauce was good and all the toppings were tasty.

By the way, the flip for free beer is on Wednesdays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flip for your drinks and Woodfired Pizza”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Unfortunately I have to disagree with Amber P, it's not the best pizza in the world but it was good.

The patio is the place to sit. It is a bit loud for us but a great atmosphere. We shared wings which said they were Buffalo XXX. They were more like Mole/bbq mild. Tasty enough but not hot wings. My husband loved them.
We shared La Frutenesca Salad which was HUGE! Lots of toppings and mild dressing.
For the pizza we went with the namesake and ordered La Mona. It was good. Not great, but good. The right size for sharing. I understood it to have shrimp, pineapple, Serrano Ham, and coconut. We don't think there was any coconut on it but no matter it was yummy.

Drinks - Here's the scoop. On Wednesday, you order your drink, then they flip a coin to see if you will pay for it. If you call it, your drink is Free. Pretty smart marketing gig. There are 3 other places to the left of La Mona. They were all pretty much empty and by the time we left La Mona at 9:00 there was a line up.

It's a great place to go and I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MindiP1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian Food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great Pizza & Italian dishes. Only one drawback - they do not deliver. Thin crust pizza and lots of selections

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST Pizza in the WORLD!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

You have NEVER had better pizza! Even their salads are incredible, with large portions and the very freshest, creative ingredients. I have had pizza around the world and there is nothing like La Mona! If you go to Mazatlan you're missing out if you don't stop by. There's some kind of magic in their sauce, rich bold flavors will get you hooked and craving it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mona Marina also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to La Mona Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing