We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Monkey Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Funky Monkey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We came for 2 nights and ended up staying a week. It's a beautiful place and we felt like we were staying at a friends house. Air con at night is great and cheapest hostel I've found. Great value for money. Owner and staff are awesome! Can't recommend this place enough. You must stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    18
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
25
124
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The best hostel i have ever stayed at. Very clean , comfortable , great swimming pool , friendly staff , cool people and close to the beach . Solo or with friends it s the place to be in mazatlan !!!!
I will definitely comeback to F-M.



thank you Salem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghabiss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The best hostel i have ever stayed at . Friendly , Clean , Cool , Parties at nights , beautiful swimming pool and close to the beach . If you are traveling with friends or lonely , Its the place to be in mazatlan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thank you Salem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghabisssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at Funky Monkey Hostel for 3 weeks and i loved every minute of it. The owner and staff are especially friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning was refreshing. The pool and waterfall was the perfect way to start and end a day out in the sun. I highley recommend this hostel for all kinds of travellers as it is in a prime location just a few minutes in a cab from the beach and in a safe location. Thanks again Funky Monkey for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaml M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The best hostel ever!!! I love the atmosphere of the hostel. It is very friendly and everybody gets to know each other very soon. As well as facilities were amazing: pool, roof terrace... The whole hostel was very clean and you can see that owner must love what he is doing because there are cute tags everywhere around the hostel to help you to get yourself orientated in that place, also location is very good near the beach and clubs. I love staying there and if it was possible I would never leave:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay, very friendly people, located very close to the beach, golden zone, not far from downtown. awesome pool and great rooms! highly recommend the Funky Monkey! Lots of friends and people i know, stay here or have stayed, and they all have great things to say about this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Star Fleet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was slightly apprehensive about staying in a hostel before I arrived in Mazatlan. When most people think of hostels, they imagine dingy, dirty, decaying venues that you would want to spend more time out of, than inside...but, Funky Monkey was far from this!
It is a vibrant, fun and welcoming venue where the party never stops. The owner, Salem, is a cool guy who is always there to make sure that you are having the best experience possible, not only inside the hostel but also outside of it, whilst exploring the beauty that is Mazatlan.
I wish I could have stayed longer because I really felt at home at the Funky Monkey Hostel. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is lucky enough to visit Mazatlan. It is very close to the beach and main attractions. So, if your a traveler who is looking for a cheap place to stay with the luxuries of a swimming pool, comfy bed and free WIFI- do not look any further than the Funky Monkey Hostel!

Room Tip: The rooms with an ensuite is always handy because you don't have to fight for a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aparshotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Property: Funky Monkey Hostel
Address: Calle Boludo 112, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 4 dorm rooms, 2 of which have in-room bathrooms Rooftop terrace & lounge area Gated Parking for Motorcycles and adventure cyclist Swimming pool with waterfall 2 Communal kitchens Two indoor common rooms or living rooms Air conditioning in rooms durning summer Free cable TV, Hot showers, Lockers, On site dentist Seasonal massage therapists Spanish, yoga classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous night clubs and bars.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Located in a quite and safe neighborhood = Lomas Mazatlan Has: Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best big game sport fishing is found right off our shores. A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a Zipline too. Amazing surfing. Quick Silver, Reef and other international surfing competitions happen here. Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year. Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th. Horseback back beach adventures and great ATV beach & street tours, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing