We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay, very friendly people, located very close to the beach, golden zone, not far from downtown. awesome pool and great rooms! highly recommend the Funky Monkey! Lots of friends and people i know, stay here or have stayed, and they all have great things to say about this hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star Fleet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was slightly apprehensive about staying in a hostel before I arrived in Mazatlan. When most people think of hostels, they imagine dingy, dirty, decaying venues that you would want to spend more time out of, than inside...but, Funky Monkey was far from this!
It is a vibrant, fun and welcoming venue where the party never stops. The owner, Salem, is a cool guy who is always there to make sure that you are having the best experience possible, not only inside the hostel but also outside of it, whilst exploring the beauty that is Mazatlan.
I wish I could have stayed longer because I really felt at home at the Funky Monkey Hostel. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is lucky enough to visit Mazatlan. It is very close to the beach and main attractions. So, if your a traveler who is looking for a cheap place to stay with the luxuries of a swimming pool, comfy bed and free WIFI- do not look any further than the Funky Monkey Hostel!

Room Tip: The rooms with an ensuite is always handy because you don't have to fight for a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aparshotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Amazing, lovely ambient and people. The guy who run the hostel is able to generate the constant feeling of being at home. the stay ended up to be regenerating for the body, the mind and the soul. I personally stayed 10 days, and it made my Mazatlan experience just unforgettable. I made so many friends and I enjoyed so many parties with most people of the House. we all became very tight. The hostel as well is a whole experience: beautiful decoration, clean spaces, super well equipped kitchens, and the most amazing pool you can find in an hostel...ah sure, check the rooftop, the view is amazing and the breeze refreshing!...
concluding: beware, the good vibes of this place will try to trap you here, and falling in temptation will be too sweet.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Simon187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went Mazatlan on a fishing trip and found the expensive Hotels not necessary. A friend recommended the Funky Monkey so we went to check it out not knowing what to expect. Needless to say we fit right in with the group of people already there from all over the world. Stayed the rest of our trip (5 days). The owner was very insightful and helpful, I will be forever grateful, he even gave us a ride to the airport. Went above and beyond!
I will never forget my experiences in Mazatlan and especially the Funky Monkey. What a fantastic place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenMyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went to the Monkey 'cause it was late and I didn't have time to make it to Stone Island. I was pleasantly surprised- the owner is a lot of fun and he makes sure everyone else is having a good time too. Lots of great people to hang out with, and it was nice to see some Gringos after being in the Mexican heartland for a few weeks. Good home-base for any surfers out there, and the guys at the hostel are active in street art and creative cuisine as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Funky Monkey hostel is a very comfy, yet cheap place. As the owner likes to say, it's a hostel made by a backpacker for packpackers. No matter from where you come or where you go, you'll feel just like if you were at home and surrounded by your friends. Great vibe, great people and great environment, It's definetely the place to be in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Be N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hostel is rated #1 in Mazatlan for a reason. All I can say is check it out yourself, and be prepared to be inspired, impressed, mesmerized, spellbound, captivated and charmed by Salem and his crew.

Honestly one of the best hostel experiences of my life, and that is coming from someone who has traveled 40 countries and lived in hostels on and off over the past 5 years.

Well done and keep up the good work Funky Monkey !!! :)

Room Tip: The private room is great for couples otherwise you can't go wrong with any of the dorm beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel7swell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 80 in Mazatlan
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
0.7 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#33 of 80 in Mazatlan
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Calle Boludo 112, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range: $19 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 4 dorm rooms, 2 of which have in-room bathrooms Rooftop terrace & lounge area Gated Parking for Motorcycles and adventure cyclist Swimming pool with waterfall 2 Communal kitchens Two indoor common rooms or living rooms Air conditioning in rooms durning summer Free cable TV, Hot showers, Lockers, On site dentist Seasonal massage therapists Spanish, yoga classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous night clubs and bars.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Located in a quite and safe neighborhood = Lomas Mazatlan Has: Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best big game sport fishing is found right off our shores. A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a Zipline too. Amazing surfing. Quick Silver, Reef and other international surfing competitions happen here. Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year. Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th. Horseback back beach adventures and great ATV beach & street tours, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing