We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place around mazatlan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

is the best place around mazatlan, great to party, to spend an amazing time with ur friends ... hosts treat u like they know u lifelong, DON mascot is a real case, the pool is great, everything is relatively close to u ... n to be honest once u arrive u will not want to ever ... n if u once were n believe me will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazminCorralCollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013
Google Translation

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us. We all had such a good time with you and your group and thanks you everyone it was my best Semana Santa every. let do it again next time too.
Please come back a visit us soon.
Thank you :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Muchas gracias por haber elegido quedarse con nosotros. Todos nos lo pasamos tan bien con usted y su grupo y le da las gracias a todos que era mi mejor Semana Santa todos. hagámoslo de nuevo la próxima vez también.
Por favor vuelva a visitarnos pronto.
Gracias :-)

Don Mono
Propietario y Operador de Funky Monkey Hostel en Mazatlán México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 313 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perfect place for resting, and also partying, everything is near by, the crew in the hostel works hard to make you feel like home, the swiming pool is awesome, and DON, omg DON is an awesome creature, i just cant wait to get a wekeend off to go spend it with you guys. i Loved the Harmony in this place and the hospitality of the whole crew. thank you for one of the best Semana santa i've spent in mazatlan.

Room Tip: Whatever you get in this hostal is a nice place to rest and sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Wow Ricardo :-) it was sooo great having you guys stay with us. Thank you so much for making my first Semana Santa in Mexico epic. I'm supper glad to have met you all and I really look forward to seeing you guys again at Funky Monkey Hostel or anywhere.
Your always welcome to stay with us and please do so soon.
Maybe for Carnaval or Day of the Dead (Dia De Los Muertos)

Don Mono
Owner & Operator of Funky Monkey Hostel, Mazatlan Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay here when they first opened. I'm back in Mazatlan waiting for my new condo to be finished. Four weeks behind schedule. I could be staying in any of the nice resorts but have chosen to stay here once again. I truly enjoyed my first stay and am equally if not more pleased this time. The owner, Salem Orion, and staff have really put together a warm friendly environment where everyone is sincerely welcomed and they quickly become part of the family. They are going green and adding a holistic program that will offer Reiki, Yoga, Tai Chi and soon Asian Medicine. I'm impressed. Cost effective, clean, friendly place to truly relax while being a short walk from all the central activities. I enjoy my time by the pool. Well done Salem and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erling360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

So glad you came back and that we got to see and hang out with you again.
Yes our rooftop is being revamped right now with lots of plants and hammocks for our rooftop terrace, where we will be doing Yoga, Platies, Reiki, Tai Chi and soon Asian Medicine.
All of us at the Funky Monkey Hostel really had a great time with you and want to thank you for being amazing and joining us in our activities.
I know we will see you again :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found this spot online and the directions given on website were very useful since taxi drivers do not know the side streets well. We arrived at the hostel and were welcomed with open arms at the gate by the owner, Salem, who showed us around and let us choose our spot. We went for 1 of the private bungalow rooms next to the pool, it was clean, spacious and private. Salem was an amazing host, he took us all the have a cookout on the beach, out to nightclubs, to meet friends and showed us all around town. The only downside was the water issues at the house which have since been taken care of but Salem went out of his way to get us all a hot shower and make sure we were all as comfortable as possible. Great central location in safe neighborhood, great family meals available and enough to do within walking distance to keep you busy for weeks. We have recommended it to all other travelers we have come across and everyone has loved it, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travalina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

It was such a pleasure having you guys stay with us and thank you so much for all the people you brought to the hostel by telling them about your stay. Also thank you for being so understanding about the water issue. It is Mexico and things do happen that we have no control of.
You are missed. I hope you have a great trip and please please come back and visit all your friends at Funky Monkey Hostel soon.

Don Mono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am a cycling tourist who went through Mazatlan and spent a week staying with Salem at his WONDERFUL hostel there. We went out dancing and to the Mazatlan Festival; I ran barefoot on the sandy beach every other day that is like a 10 minute relaxed stroll away from the hostel; I went swimming in the backyard swimming pool. Salem knows how to run a hostel for the comfort and relaxation of all. Definitely the best place to stay if you are in town!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Lucas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Lucas :-) We all had a blast meeting you and a few adventures too. Like our adventure finding and trying brain and tongue tacos. Great time. Thanks so much for making those great videos too.
Good luck on your bicycle trip from Mexico to Panama, it sounds epic and I'm sure your going to have a blast and meet lots of cool people.
Come back soon mate.

Don Mono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hostel and it was awesome. I would definitely come back. The people were great and the place was very clean. There was purified water for guests. The owner gave us a personal tour of town and sights. The Hostel was in a great location, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Thanks for the awesome time! Weeble Wobble!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nbiggness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Weeble Wooble right back at you bro.
So glad to have met you and I know we'll see you back here just as soon as you can make it. Funky Monkey Hostel.
That was a fun day out touring the city. I don't get to do it often with our guest but I always have fun when I do.
Thanks for the David Sunflower Seeds :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

To say this place was great is an understatement! I have been coming to Mazatlan for over 10 years and there have never been any real hostels until The Funky Monkey. All the other Hostels are actually hotels clamming to be Hostels. The staff was so friendly, helpful and caring that you feel right at home. The house is amazing with a wonderful pool and waterfall in the back yard with a gate opening to a beautiful local park. the house is very spacious and new with tall ceilings, lots of room, a cozy living room with cable TV and the internet always worked very good which is a pet-peeve of mine. They have a large selection of books that are for everyone's use and a big, overly equipped kitchen. The house was always spotless. There is a wonderful roof top chill area with hanging beds; a wonderful place to sun bath or watch the stars and have a drink. I would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Mazatlan. I had a great time and made lots of good friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your review Bella and for mentioning how much you enjoyed our staff. They are the ones that really make peoples stay at the Funky Monkey Hostel amazing so I love to hear complements about them and they really deserve it. Thank you :-)
We will always have fast wifi, its a pet-peeve of mine too, and now we even have Apple TV so lots of Netflix and youtube options.
I know we'll meet again.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
2.2 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#31 of 80 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hostel Mazatlan
Hostel Mazatlan
#4 of 54 in Mazatlan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
Casa de Leyendas
Casa de Leyendas
#1 of 52 in Mazatlan
276 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emerald Estates
Emerald Estates
#3 of 54 in Mazatlan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Calle Boludo 112, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range: $17 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 4 dorm rooms, 2 of which have in-room bathrooms Rooftop terrace & lounge area Gated Parking for Motorcycles and adventure cyclist Swimming pool with waterfall 2 Communal kitchens Two indoor common rooms or living rooms Air conditioning in rooms durning summer Free cable TV, Hot showers, Lockers, On site dentist Seasonal massage therapists Spanish, yoga classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous night clubs and bars.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Located in a quite and safe neighborhood = Lomas Mazatlan Has: Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best big game sport fishing is found right off our shores. A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a Zipline too. Amazing surfing. Quick Silver, Reef and other international surfing competitions happen here. Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year. Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th. Horseback back beach adventures and great ATV beach & street tours, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing