We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hostel! Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Hostel! Great experience!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hostel and it was awesome. I would definitely come back. The people were great and the place was very clean. There was purified water for guests. The owner gave us a personal tour of town and sights. The Hostel was in a great location, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Thanks for the awesome time! Weeble Wobble!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nbiggness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Weeble Wooble right back at you bro.
So glad to have met you and I know we'll see you back here just as soon as you can make it. Funky Monkey Hostel.
That was a fun day out touring the city. I don't get to do it often with our guest but I always have fun when I do.
Thanks for the David Sunflower Seeds :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
27
133
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

To say this place was great is an understatement! I have been coming to Mazatlan for over 10 years and there have never been any real hostels until The Funky Monkey. All the other Hostels are actually hotels clamming to be Hostels. The staff was so friendly, helpful and caring that you feel right at home. The house is amazing with a wonderful pool and waterfall in the back yard with a gate opening to a beautiful local park. the house is very spacious and new with tall ceilings, lots of room, a cozy living room with cable TV and the internet always worked very good which is a pet-peeve of mine. They have a large selection of books that are for everyone's use and a big, overly equipped kitchen. The house was always spotless. There is a wonderful roof top chill area with hanging beds; a wonderful place to sun bath or watch the stars and have a drink. I would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Mazatlan. I had a great time and made lots of good friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your review Bella and for mentioning how much you enjoyed our staff. They are the ones that really make peoples stay at the Funky Monkey Hostel amazing so I love to hear complements about them and they really deserve it. Thank you :-)
We will always have fast wifi, its a pet-peeve of mine too, and now we even have Apple TV so lots of Netflix and youtube options.
I know we'll meet again.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found my stay in Funky Monkey to be one of the best hostels Ive ever been to, and I have ben in quite a few of them.
The atmosphere there was spectacular, both the staff and other guests were friendly, and after just a few minutes I felt like one of the group. There was common cooking, exchanging of stories, and good parties in Mazatlan.

I recommend Funky Monkey to everyone!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the sterling review Pawel.
We really try to make peoples stay as special as possible. After all we may only get one chance and its always a pleasure to make someone happy, especially when they are traveling the world and really are counting on enjoying themselves and the countries they are visiting.
So thank you so much for enjoying your stay with Funky Monkey Hostel and I hope the rest of your trip is even better.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed around 4 nights and I can say it was awesome. The place is really clean, is located near the main street in the city and near the coast so you can have a walk down the beach pretty easy. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable, common areas are big and very clean too. I totally recommend this hostel, mexican or foreign foes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Alex!!!! :-) So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Funky Monkey Hostel.
Thanks for the great review.
Don't be a stranger and please come back and visit us soon. Your not too far away to come more often.
I hope your Semana Santa was epic and maybe you can come for it next time. but please send me a message on our facebook page: Funky Monkey Hostel first because we fill up very fast.
See you soon my friend,

El Destello Blanco (inside joke)
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Talk about a great find!! Salem has an awesome place with a great feel! Just a short walk to everything. In a quiet clean and safe neighbourhood. This is now my destination of choice when I come to Mazatlan! Thanks Salem for everything! You are on to something great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Funky Monkey Hostel.
Its always great to read reviews like yours and know that people are enjoying all our hard work.
Please come and visit again soon.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My visit to Mazatlan indeed was Golden thanks to a truly great stay at the Funkey Monkey Hostel. Starting with a warm personal introduction by the owner, Salem, which I saw repeated as each new guest arrived at the hostel, and throughout my time there, my visit was more than special. Yes, the beds were clean and new, the showers hot, the location great, and the price quite reasonable, But more importantly, the hostel wasn't just a nice place to land. Led by Salem and his staff, hostel guests could easily choose to become part of a temporary international community, sharing meals, activities, conversation, etc. if they wished, or not, if they didn't wish. For someone like me, who is far from the typical hostel guest in terms of demographics, I really appreciated feeling welcome and comfortable. A not to be missed rest stop and experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank abcteach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Its really reviews like these that make everything worth it.
I'm supper happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of us at Funky Monkey Hostel hope your enjoying your trip.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Funky Monkey hostel is awesome. Its a house thats been converted into a hostel, but the rooms are very spacious and well designed. Its located in a good quiet neighbourhood, easy walking distance to downtown, the beach, and several good places to eat. The open-plan kitchen and common area is really cool just to hang out in, and the staff are friendly and good to have a laugh with. A lot of thought has clearly gone into the design of this hostel as it has everything you need and nothing you dont. One of the top 5 hostels Ive stayed in out of 100+ during my 3 years of travelling. Dont look anywhere else! Awesome value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Nick :-) so good to get a review from you mate. Really glad to hear you liked your stay and thanks for letting everyone else know too.
Thanks for putting us in your top 5 hostels out of over 100+ Really cool.
Please come back soon.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#18 of 78 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,779 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Property: Funky Monkey Hostel
Address: Calle Boludo 112, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 4 dorm rooms, 2 of which have in-room bathrooms Rooftop terrace & lounge area Gated Parking for Motorcycles and adventure cyclist Swimming pool with waterfall 2 Communal kitchens Two indoor common rooms or living rooms Air conditioning in rooms durning summer Free cable TV, Hot showers, Lockers, On site dentist Seasonal massage therapists Spanish, yoga classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous night clubs and bars.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Located in a quite and safe neighborhood = Lomas Mazatlan Has: Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best big game sport fishing is found right off our shores. A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a Zipline too. Amazing surfing. Quick Silver, Reef and other international surfing competitions happen here. Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year. Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th. Horseback back beach adventures and great ATV beach & street tours, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing