We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Perfect location, Awesome equiped, Best Time ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is perfect for travellers in Mexico but also for staying and having a good time.
The Pool is amazing, everything new, clean and nice ambiente to hang around in the shared kitchen and living room. One of the best hotels i ever stayed in Mexico.

Room Tip: Dorms for 6 people but also single rooms with big comfortable beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks for your sterling review Tobias. I hope your enjoying your travels and please come back soon.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 316 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

I spent 2 great days at the funky monkey hostel. The staff was excellent and went out of its way to help out. The beds were very comfortable and the rest of the facilities were great. Nice pool and rooftop terrace to chill out. The place is very conducive to meeting new people. Best deal for a hostel I´ve seen. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks for staying with us Josh and for your great review.
Come back soon :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been staying in hostiles since 1970. Yea, I'm old and have traveled all over ther world. I've stayed in the Best and the Worst in almost ever country. Recently while in Mazatlan, Mexico I discovered the Funky Monkey Hostile. One thing I use to evaluate a hostile is the friendliness of the hostile owners/manager. This hostile gets five gold stars for thier friendly welcome and and great accommodations. It is located just a short walk to the beach and Mazatlan's famed Golden Zone. The pool was comfortly warm, the kitchen large and the pricing was right. I highly recomed that you give them a try next time you are in Mazatlan.
Erling Biggness, Anacortes, WA

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks Erling.
Sorry I'm just now responding to your review. This was your first visit with us and you've already been back 2 more times. Its always great to have you stay with us.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is really a great Hostel with an awesome owner and staff! Cheap and clean as well! Stay there and you have a good time!

非常棒的地方,要說像旅店,不如說更像家一樣,老闆有空還會帶你一起出遊,值得推薦。

雖然地點不是很好,但是坐落在很好的區域,走路到賣場或是主要道路約10分鐘,要去舊城區,有公車可到。

Room Tip: It is really a great Hostel with an awesome owner and staff! Cheap and clean as well! Stay there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STC73412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Chiao :-) So glad to have met you and thanks for staying with us. I had a really good time taking you and the other guest to the island that day. Hope your still enjoying your trip around the world and maybe one day I'll be able to come visit you.
Take care bro.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished it could have been more. The private double upstairs had a great view and included a little kitchenette with a two ring stove, fridge and utensils. Salem contacted us prior to arrival to offer pick up and then stopped off at a supermarket on the way to stock up.
From the outset we were made to feel so welcome and shared a meal one evening. The hostel is being refurbed with taste and with fun and comfort in mind. There is a pool and rooftop terrace for chilling and stargazing.
The location is in a very smart end of Mazatlan about 15 mins walk from a beautiful beach with gently rolling surf, nice bars and soaring pelicans. Don't miss the old town which is 10 pesos away on the bus and a gem.
Salem, Brian and Nadia are so helpful and fun people. This hostel will be a great success.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Crystal come back and visit us soon.
Thank you very much for your review. We finished all the renovations and it really turned out cool.
But I've got lots more ideas of things to build and we are working on them now. Like a 6 foot tall Jenga game, Bag-O boards and a Swinging Day Bed on the roof.
So come on back and visit us.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

New hostel in mazatlan, the pool is full and the beers are cold. While we were there is was under reconstruction, bunks are probably finished by now so I imagine the roof top us the current project. This is a hostel owned by a traveler and designed for travelers!.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomoterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of days in the private room and it was excellent! After a long 18 hour ferry ride from la Paz over to mazatlan, we were picked up by funky monkey hostel for free who also offered to stop by the supermarket etc for us on the way there. They really go out of their way for you. There was an amazing pool to relax next to and also a great selection of books to swap. It is also in a great location and costs only 10 pesos on the bus to head into Old Mazatlan if you wanted to spend the day there. This is a new hostel that is doing great things!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelonTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,905 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.7 mi away
Hostel Mazatlan
Hostel Mazatlan
#4 of 55 in Mazatlan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
421 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 80 in Mazatlan
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Calle Boludo 112, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range: $14 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 4 dorm rooms, 2 of which have in-room bathrooms Rooftop terrace & lounge area Gated Parking for Motorcycles and adventure cyclist Swimming pool with waterfall 2 Communal kitchens Two indoor common rooms or living rooms Air conditioning in rooms durning summer Free cable TV, Hot showers, Lockers, On site dentist Seasonal massage therapists Spanish, yoga classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous night clubs and bars.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Located in a quite and safe neighborhood = Lomas Mazatlan Has: Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best big game sport fishing is found right off our shores. A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a Zipline too. Amazing surfing. Quick Silver, Reef and other international surfing competitions happen here. Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year. Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th. Horseback back beach adventures and great ATV beach & street tours, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing