We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a great find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 48 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's a great find!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed with Capt. Moe and Dorothy on the night of April 15. They were so welcoming and even "babysat" our golden retriever, Langdon, while we went out to dinner. He didn't have to stay in the room but was invited to watch TV with them and wander around the courtyard while we were out. He was a very happy boy !

After traveling from Puerto Vallarta that day, Langdon was ready for a walk when we arrived. They directed us to walk the few blocks to the beach then had the hose ready to rinse off the sand when we arrived back from the beach.

The room was well appointed with nice linens and towels and everything we needed and they are warm, friendly, gracious hosts. Breakfast was very nice and filling and off we went on our way the next morning.

Thank you, Capt. Moe and Dorothy. We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snickersOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
55
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Dorothy and the Captain Moe are great hosts!! They are so kind, caring, lovely,... that it is really hard to describe in words.
As I read all the good reviews, the expectations were really high - and Dorothy and Moe and their sweet, little B&B fulfilled it even more than that!! It is more like a homestay. Their house, very well located just a couple of meters to the beach, the bars and shops, is an oasis with a beautiful, neat inner yard.
Dorothy and Moe give very good advises and ideas what to do as well as they are really nice and interesting collocutors.
I am travelling around the world since 8 month now and have been within this time in about 100 different Hotels, Guesthouses, B&B's - Captain Moe's is definitive one of the top 3 places I ever stayed at!!
Dear Dorothy and Moe, thank you so much for this wonderful time with you!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MirkoMirkoMirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Penitas, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our first time in Mazatlan after spending 6 long winter breaks in Mexico in Nayarit. We stopped in Mazatlan on the drive north and spent a couple nights at Captain Moe's B & B. We chose Captain Moe's because they are dog friendly and had solid reviews., We discovered it to be a small gem of a place in a great neighborhood just a couple blocks from the beach. The Captain and Dorothy (the Admiral) were splendid hosts, the other guests were fun, as were the local characters who stopped in frequently, and the accommodations were charming and comfy. We intend to make Captain Moe's a regular stop on our drives north and south.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was amazing we loved Dorothy and the captain they were such honest people and told us the real good places to go not just tourist attractions. After a hot day on the beach it was nice to have some wine and fall
asleep in your own private room with the A.C. blowing nice and cold while you have the windows cracked and herring the sounds of mazatlan!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puppylove30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Such kind reception! Beautiful place. Love the Captains and Dorothy's lovely little hotel and their fantastic service! Our dogs had a great time too!

No doubt this must be one of the best places to stay when on vacation or just passing by. We're definitely coming back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerSeventies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Traveling through Mexico with our dog was quite an adventure! Captain Moe's welcomed us with open arms and it was a rewarding experience. Dorothy and Moe are friendly, honest people and it was a pleasure meeting them. The house is well located and the grounds are pretty. Rooms are comfortable but no A/C, breakfast is adequate. It is mainly the house and the friendliness of its owners that really make the place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlosandGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Moe & Dorothy's with our dogs while driving through Mexico. Between the hosts and the other guests, we felt instantly welcome, like they had been waiting for us to arrive. The property is very comfortable, especially the courtyard, and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The next day we delayed our departure by several hours, just so we could enjoy our new found friends.
This was my first time in Mazatlan, and I didn't have the opportunity to see much, but I when I'm able to go back and explore I know where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gaviotas, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Golden Zone" of Mazatlan and within walking distance to the beaches, restaurants, shops and transportation, this relaxing Bed & Breakfast offers smoke-free rooms and is situated amongst a tropical courtyard and offers the following amenities: free phone calls to USA and Canada, private entrance, private bathrooms, refrigerators in rooms, separate courtyard, kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing