We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stay at this hotel every time we drive through Mazatlan. The views are great as we always get a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the malecon and ocean. It's a short walk to the square with many restaurants nearby. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the servers are very attentive.

Room Tip: We prefer a room to the front of the hotel although the rooms at the back overlook the city and port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
41
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We transferred here from the tourist zone hotel, Playa Mazatlan, and were so pleased by this new hotel that we are writing this review. Nice room - ours being on the eighth floor, with a wonderful view of the city and port. Far quieter than the tourist zone hotel, food is much better and service is personal and professional. Great location if you have any interest in the historical zone and how locals live. Also nice location with some great seafood restaurant on the boardwalk as well as a few ones interior to this location. Wonderful bakery located nearby as well. We had some wonderful walks in the area and highly recommend this hotel and location.

Room Tip: There will be some elevator noise in this hotel as other reviews have stated. We were on the eight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This bar on top of this 1st high rise hotel is the best place to see 360 degree view of Mazatlan. Waiters friendly & quick to serve. Have to walk up last stairs as (original!) elevator doesn't go there! Must do experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently spent 10 days at the Posada. We stayed in a great suite with a kitchenette, living area and a bedroom. The views were fantastic......ocean view from the front and city view with cruise ships from the side. The suite is huge with 2 tables and sets of chairs, couch, etc.

However, all suites are next to the elevator which sounds like a trapped moose howling all day and stomping it's heels. It was nearly unbearable. Plus the street is very busy and cars can be heard careening by at all hours. If you like quiet, this is not the place for you.
But if quiet is not a concern, this hotel is great....situated in the Old City and huge with wonderful views. The staff were wonderful, too.

Room Tip: You can hear the elevator in all the rooms, I believe, so try and get a room as far away from the el...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emma154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very well located hotel... this place used to be one of THE places to stay in its hey day..its still nicely kept...very clean, friendly staff... had a fantastic time going out walking around the Historic Center... lots of history! Beaches, Malecon, Historic Center very very clean...will come back.

Room Tip: Get a room with views of the Beach and Malecon, higher floor better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuadalupanaSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

" clunk" goes the elevator from 1946 to take you to a private pool and sunset bar on the 11 th floor. Most romantic place ever! Rooms lovely with lots of charm. Exceeded our expectations. Great staff and super reasonable. Best Western had a short term promo of third night free so paid only $60.00 a night. Huge breakfast with tons of fruit overlooking ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippytoes245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for three nights. Booked on-line and reserved a city-view room. When we checked in they put us in a small oceanfront room - this was OK with us. The room was basic - no fridge etc., but clean and a nice ocean view.

The front desk and bell hop staff were excellent. The included breakfast was good - lots of Mexican choices and if you wanted they would prepare something a la carte.

The location is first-rate - right on the bus route, close to centro historico and across the street from Olas Altas. There a number of restaurants and bars right in the area and a lot more downtown.

The rooftop pool was small but nice. The roof has a great view of the surrounding area and the city.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel can be a bit noisey between the waves and the street (Malacon) in front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
2.5 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
3.5 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#15 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#41 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#34 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman

Property: BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
Address: Avenida Olas Altas sur 79, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing