We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in the historic centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Posada Freeman
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in the historic centre”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We felt as though we were experiencing life among Mexicans instead of other tourists during our stay. Our balcony faced the ocean and the seawall where every morning we saw people going to work, taking their kids to school and walking their dogs. Delicious buffet breakfast included. Our waiter offered us choices not on the buffet. Clean rooms and gracious hotel staff. Lots of good restaurant choices nearby. Walking distance to Plaza Machado. All for under $100 C per night!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
25
44
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were on a driving trip from Oregon to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, and decided to take a break from the driving by spending three nights in Mazatlan. After a previous stay, we knew we preferred to stay near the historic town center instead of the touristy Golden Zone. And because we had our car, we wanted a place with off-street parking. After an online search, we chose the Freeman, which is right across the street from the beach at Olas Altas. We were so happy with our choice!

We got a room with two comfy double beds with a partial ocean view. It was very clean, and had an armoire for hanging clothes, a safe, a desk, a nice bath with beautiful vintage Mexican tiles and a hair dryer. The very reasonable price of the room included an AMAZING Mexican breakfast buffet that included eggs with ham, chilaquiles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, beans, salsas, fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee, etc. The servers even offered to make custom omlets. It was quite a morning feast, and the servers were fun and personable.

The hotel was built in the 1940s and retains the old word elegance with beautiful artistic touches. The painting on the domed ceiling in the lobby is gorgeous. Also, the hotel is one of the tallest buildings in the area, and the 10th floor rooftop deck/bar offers perhaps the most stunning sunset views in the city.

A word of caution: We laughingly referred to the hotel elevator as "Lurch" because it made some weird sounds and sometimes shook a bit. But it was perfectly safe, and we felt comfortable after the first ride.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurielizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great value for the price! Very good service, nice and full buffet breakfast, on site parking, wi fi, ocean view rooms, roof top pool and bar with happy hour, beach across the street and nice restaurants within walking distance as well as a liquor store :)

Room Tip: Get ocean view and higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Professional service, room with a view, great value for the price. A very nice full buffet breakfast is included which included everything from fruits, mexican dishes and traditional American choices.
The hotel has an upscale feel to it and we will definitely be back.
Great on sauté parking.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 4 or 5 closest to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh and Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazatland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

when in mazatland a must see is the freeman hotel.The view of mazatland is immpressive.The pool up top is wonderfull and the whole feel of the hotel with its rich history and charm are a must see.friendly staff and bar tender. food ok better resturants down the street .nice beach out frount but watch the undertow .

Room Tip: ocean view or old city view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigchinook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am here at this facility right now and must say I am impressed wit the rooms. For the price it is nice with a great view of the ocean. The food for the free breakfast is not good however. There are some very good restaurants close by to fit the breakfast need but the hotel ois clean and the beds are nice. They need to get rid of these small old televisions though. Will stay here for my trips to Mazatlan in the future..... TIP THE MAIDS!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

attended a wedding at this small and intimate hotel.......the rooms are very basic but clean and for the 65 bucks a night including a very good breakfast cant be beat..........found all the staff to be very attentive........if you need anything ask juanny in sales and she will help you. thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77mockmotorspitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 78 in Mazatlan
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#40 of 78 in Mazatlan
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#17 of 78 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
1.8 mi away
Aguamarina Hotel
Aguamarina Hotel
#42 of 78 in Mazatlan
46 reviews
3.6 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#10 of 78 in Mazatlan
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Posada Freeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Posada Freeman

Property: Best Western Posada Freeman
Address: Olas Altas #79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Posada Freeman 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Posada Freeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing