We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Posada Freeman
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Utterly Ordinary”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Freeman has four things going for it: location on the ocean (as far from the awful Zona Dorada as possible - if you want Miami Beach, go there), cleanliness, price (you can usually get a deal on-line at Best Western - but don't expect any free up-grades to full-frontal ocean view even if requested and the place is virtually empty), and great wi-fi.

And that may be enough. But be warned: the beds are rock hard, Scotch tape holds together lampshades. Diminishing towels: started with two of each, by the end only one (and no bathmat). The bathroom porthole will open, but only one window in the room could be tugged 6 inches open. The view from my second-class room was actually quite nice, down the beach toward the porcupine hill (Mazatlan's one great eyesore: the spines being communication towers galore). The coffee-maker is located no where near where it can be plugged in (on the floor) and styrofoam cups the only "glasses" provided.

You have to sign for everything: the remote control for the TV (with a 200 peso deposit: 87 channels and not a single English news channel). Breakfast (included) is adequate: but you have to sign daily for the chit and then again when you order.

As everyone notes, the elevator does not go all the way to the top (bar) - and the stone stairs that do are treacherous (without even a handrail) especially so coming down (after a few). And if your room is anywhere near the antique elevators (as most are) you will hear them groaning day and night - sounds like a bass guitar warming up.

In short , the place is long-since due for a major makeover. Until then, take your ordinary straight at La Siesta.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
44
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I have been coming to Mazatlan 10 years. I alway stay in Zona Dorado but take a 2-3 day break to stay downtown. I have always stayed on the beach at Olas Altas usually at the Belmar or La Siesta, Both are dirt cheap (around $30-40 a night with ocean view), but are very old (I think built in the 30's or 40's) and really show it. Staff is nice, rooms are OK. This year a friend and I splurged and spent $85 a night with tax per room for a beautiful oceanview room with free very good wi-fi and free delicious breakfast. The Posada Freeman is also old (first elevator in Mazatlan circa 1944) but very well maintained. Super clean, comfy beds, big bathroom. Slow draining showers that can flood if you aren't watching but great temp and pressure. You can work around the slow drain. The roof pool has the best view in Mazatlan. By the way EVERY HOTEL AND RESTAURANT IN MAZATLAN HAS TAP WATER THAT IS NOT POTABLE. Perhaps the new Riu installed a hotel wide purification system but it is pretty much a given that you use bottled water for brushing your teeth and drinking everywhere. Posada Freeman gives you a free liter in your room. Other places have big bottles in hallways and pitchers. Whoever seemed so shocked the water was non-potable must have noticed the big sign in the bathroom and not realized it is just a given everywhere else or not traveled much in Mexico. The location 5 blocks from Plazuela Machado is the reason we come here. The best shopping, the best food, draft beer at Puerto Viejo, music and arts all at about 1/4 speed of the Golden Zone. Everything from T-shirts to jewelry is at least half the cost of the tourist zone. Shop at the 2 story city block sized central market or any of the numerous shops. Don't forget Aroma Spas for the $20 massages.

Also for those concerned about government warnings, I have never felt unsafe in Mazatlan. Especially downtown where couples and groups of all ages and nationality are out on the street and dining and enjoying live music.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank no55mph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Best view in the city of Mazatlan with a beautiful rooftop pool! Amazing.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandiM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We loved the location of this place--walking over to the centro histórico convinced us that Mazatlán has something for us. The beach view is great and it's around hangouts for locals, which is a huge plus for those who don't want the party beach town experience.

The building is old but has mostly be restored in a good way. Our balcony overlooking the ocean was great but the views of downtown were pretty spectacular as well. Sunset from the rooftop pool was nice as well.

On the downside, the elevator, as others have mentioned, not only doesn't go up to the pool/bar area but also is exceedingly old and jolty. It's the original elevator but I'm not sure that's a good thing. The breakfast was good--not spectacular though.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mandita3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at this Best Western for a week in June, 2009 when we attended our son's wedding in Mazatlan. It was an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Breakfast was good with a lot of variety, the staff were wonderful and met all requests immediately in a professional and friendly manner. Plus the rate was just right and being on the ocean was definately an added bonus. We plan on taking the whole family to spend Christmas in a warm climate next year and this hotel will be our main consideration.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiteie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed their 3 nites and it was very comfortable. It has great in room wireless. Beds were comfortable. Had a room on the ocean side and it was great watching the sunsets. The drain in our shower didn't work well, but was quickly fixed. My biggest complaint would be that the elevator only runs to the 9th floor and you have to walk up two flights to the bar and pool. Water is not "potable" as they warn you. But they do leave a free bottle in every room and you can get more in the bar. Great loaction..close to some good restaurants (The Shrimp Bucket). I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank resnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I did NOT stay at the Posada but I wished I had. I stayed with friends in a home 2 blocks from the Posada. 2 blocks away from the beach, and my air conditioned room at my friend's house was 83 degrees - no breeze from outside, so I kept the windows closed! I could have opened them at the Posada! It was an unusually HOT October when I visited.

My visit to the Posada occurred while taking a walk on the promenade by the sea. We looked up and saw the shadows of the turning fans in the top floor Cocktail Lounge. We entered the hotel, went up to the 9th floor, and walked up another flight to the open bar. The windows were open and the breeze was gently flowing in. Fantastic views, relaxing, we ordered sandwiches and cocktails. It was divine!

We then followed the sound of live music up one more flight to the Pool deck, where a band was playing and people were enjoying drinks around the quaint SMALL pool (not as big as it seems in photos). Again, breathtaking views and a nice breeze away from the heat that exists even 2 blocks away from the beach.

Stop here for a snack or drink in the evening. If I came again, I'd probably stay here - I am not interested in the overcongested touristy Golden Beach area!

The Posada is located only a few blocks from the old El Centro district, where you can meet many local Mexicans and American/European ex-patriates. There's a great seafood restaurant next door, and turn right at that corner to go 3 blocks to the Central Square where there are many find restaurants around a central plaza. Also nice art stores. And a few blocks from there, if you are adventurous, you can go into an authentic Mexican market, where they sell food, produce, meat, cheese, as well as clothing and tourist souveniers!

  • Liked — Quiet location near the Old Central district of Mazatlan
  • Disliked — Not disabled friendly - need to walk up 1 flight from the 9th floor to get to the bar, and another flight to the pool. No elevator beyond 9th floor.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SVOldTimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.5 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#38 of 79 in Mazatlan
99 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 79 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 79 in Mazatlan
62 reviews
3.6 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#37 of 79 in Mazatlan
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Posada Freeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Posada Freeman

Property: Best Western Posada Freeman
Address: Olas Altas #79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Posada Freeman 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Posada Freeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing