We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very quiet resort, located 45min from Mazatlan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort
Save
You added Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very quiet resort, located 45min from Mazatlan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

For this trip we traveled as a family. Everyone was an adult, however we had few younger (21 yo) people on board.
We had a very nice 3 bedroom condo, overlooking the beach and pool.
It seamed as at the time we were there, there were only few people in the resort.
Extremely secluded and quiet. Most of the times we were the only people walking on the beach or in the pool.
Pool bar was closes, so we had to buy our own alcohol and make drinks

There was a store on the property, but it barely had anything in it. Good shopping place is when you go to Mazatlan and go to MEGA Superstore.

Place was clean and specious. the only problem was that we didn't have AC, only cling fans.

If you wanted to go to the city, either at the day or night it was not easy to say the least. There was a shuttle from the hotel that we used once. The times it was leaving and returning did not work with our schedule. It is a 45min taxi drive to go to the city it ranges anywhere from $30US-$40US. We spoke to concierge and his dad (taxi driver) would come and get us every night at the previously set up time and wait for us after we went out in the city.
Los Delfinos restaurant was open, food was overpriced and not very tasty. Same as drinks. Club House restaurant was the same way. We had a cook coming to the condo and she made the bast authentic Mexican meals you can ask for.

City is nice, not very big. If you are looking for a night scene entertainment, there are rotating parties from club to club. You pay ~ $25US entrance fee, drinks and entertainment are free. Quality of drinks is low, sweet and not enough alcohol, however you can always ask for additional shot and make it somewhat taste like a drink.
My favorite party was a Foam Party at Bora Bora. Nice place outdoor and fun music.

Mazatlan has a lot of interesting places in the tourist areas that is called- Zona Dorada (Golden Zone). It is walking distance to the main attractions, shops, markets, restaurants and clubs like: Bora Bora (foam party every Tuesday), Valentino's (Friday Ice Party) Sambawa (Beach Party, Thursday) and Senor Frog's (Mardi Gras Party on Wednesday).
Right in the same location there are a lot of fun bars like Gus Gus (karaoke bar) and plenty of other Margarita Gardens.
Multiple restaurants that cook real (not tex-mex) Mexican food.
There are little cart taxis that charge you about a $1-$2 for a ride and can take you anywhere around the city. They are safe and fun, also this is the only city in Mexico that has this kind of transportation.

On the main beach in Zona Dorada there are multiple places that provide, para-sailing, kite surfing, surfing, snorkeling, kayaking and God knows what else?

Overall hotel is nice, private and quiet at least at the time of our stay. If you are a young person that likes to go out, explore and have fun I DO NOT recommend it, beacuse it is too far away from the city. If you are looking to escape, relax, walk on the beach, sit by the pool and be ready to go to bed by 9PM -that would be the ideal location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vienes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Estrella Del Mar. It was wonderful. The condo was beautiful, spotless and very comfortable. The service was excellent and the all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The view from our balcony, of the pool and beach was priceless. Just a short walk to the ocean. The golf course and property were so beautiful and very well taken care of. The restaurant had excellent food and "killer" margaritas! I tdefinitely would recommend staying here and have told everyone that asked about our trip that "it was the place to go".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 33701SteveandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My partner and I enjoyed a phenomenol honeymoon at Estrella Del Mar Golf resort. We soaked up the peace and quiet as well as the sun. Every morning we drank coffee watching the sunlight hit the crest of the waves. The resort is pristine! Immaculately maintained with staff that bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We strolled the beach each day finding sand dollars. Afternoons found us swimming in the beautiful pool. Evening were filled with wine, food, and more relaxation. We are already looking forward to going back and bringing friends with us next time around!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patj551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Spent a few days at Estrella Del Mar with the wife recently. We were fortunate to stay in the Villas Hotel and Spa portion of the resort and found everything the resort had to offer to be top notch.

The location is excellent if you are looking for a relaxing getaway. I felt like I was in on some sort of secret here, as I didn't see more than 10 other guests for the 3 days I was there. Also, the fact that you can land, clear customs, travel to the resort, and be on the 1st tee in less than 45 minutes is something to brag about.

The staff here is second to none. Everyone was very attentive (probably because they outnumbered the guests 2 to 1 the weekend we were there) and had a lot of good suggestions. We were always well taken care of at the small pool side cafe and restuarant that accompany the hotel.

The golf course is very well maintained, but the greens are dry and hard (or maybe my shots were to blame). It is hard to complain, however, when the backdrop to your struggling game is the blowing palm trees and soothing sounds of the ocean.

My only complaints: the rental clubs were not that impressive (but they are rentals, so I shouldn't have expected much more), the golf cart broke down on the 11th hole, and the beds were hard as rocks.

Other than that, we were very well taken care of for our weekend. I say the place will work for you because I always felt that the staff was working for me that weekend, and always had a friendly smile.

They will indeed show you Mexican Hospitality to the fullest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsnotfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Our family spent a week in one of the phase 1 condos and could not have had a better time. First and foremost the staff throughout the resort was awesome. . . so friendly and helpful. The resort is only 10 minutes from the airport. We were in our room 45 minutes after landing (with customs). From Colorado, I don't think you can be at a Mexican beach resort any quicker or more conveniently. We had a 2 bedroom condo on the ground floor just steps from a spacious, beautiful infinity pool. 20 yards from there was our own private beach. Excellent sand castle making sand and perfect waves for boogie-boarding. The condo set up was perfect for our family of 5 (kids aged 13, 9, and 7). Having breakfast and lunch in the condo allowed us to enjoy the pool and beach more but we couldn't resist going to the restaurants for our dinners. The food was top quality and again, interacting with the staff was a true pleasure.
Activities I recommend:
- Definitely golf as the Robert Trent Jones course is kept in immaculate condition and there are multiple holes that go right up to the beach.
- Go into the small town of Villa Union for the market and dinner at Cuchapettas (sp). Awesome fish.
- Stone Island on a Sunday. . . excellent beach bars for lunch and people watching.
- Turtle preserve. . . . this is actually on the resort itself. Make sure you spend some time with the curator there, she explained everything they do and how many sea turtles they are saving each year. Nice to know a resort like this is in tune with the local wildlife.
- Check out all the iquanas sunning themselves on the stone walls.
- Great beach jogging.
- Make sure you are sitting by the pool or on the beach at as many sunsets as possible. Or my favorite. . . . on the porch at the clubhouse restaurant with one of their margaritas in hand. And I emphasize the margaritas!

If you are looking for a super relaxing, very easy getaway, I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael10thstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Everything was top notch. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and a great size. Our room was overlooking the beach, which was spectacular. The food and service was great at all the outlets.
We enjoyed lovely walks on the very private beach, and the turtle preserve.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, and especially for golfers, as the course is wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 602broadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed in the hotel here for a week and enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort with it's long private beach and golf course. The staff throughout the resort were courteous and helpful. One drawback for us was that it's a 45 min taxi ride to the city each way if you want to go sightseeing, shopping, or try different restaurants. Lastly, the bathroom in our room had a really bad smell the entire week - not sure what that was about.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthVancouverLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.0 mi away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
11.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
9.0 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#26 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
9.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
9.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10 | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Estrella Del Mar Golf And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing