We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Pacifico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punta Pacifico
Save
You added Punta Pacifico to your Saves list
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quiet resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed a month on this property in one of their villas. Very nice and cosy. Everything was great, good little restaraunt for breakfast and lunch. But, the pool was freezing!! The description when booking said it was heated and definitely it was not. Also, there were a couple of trains that passed by at night and tooted their horn that made you want to jump out of bed. We heard a lot of people complaining about their membership that they were told things that didn´thappen. We went on a presentation and chose not to buy and they were pretty easy going, more so than others. All in all, if you want a small quiet hotel without many children this is a good place as long as they fix the pool heater or you go in the summer.

Room Tip: choose a villa or on the 3rd floor of the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkyasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCLAJOLLAMANAGEMENT, Guest Relations Manager at Punta Pacifico, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sparkyasu,

Thank you for choosing La Jolla Resort as your vacation destination, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We try to keep the Resort in perfect conditions and give our guests the privacy and confort they look for during their relaxing time. As you could see, we are still working in the final details of the Resort. One of our main priorities is heating our pool.
We are looking foward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    4
    8
    27
See reviews for
24
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

OK...so I am reading these reviews and laughing - either I had the luckiest trip in history or all these people are crazy.

The beach here is great. Beautiful sand and very little peddling locals compared to many other places we have stayed.

Well maintained place, some timeshare sales people around - but aren't they everywhere?
I just tell them I got the trip as a present and am unemployed...they always leave me alone haha.

Great value for your money. My wife loves complaining and she even liked. 4/5 for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCLAJOLLAMANAGEMENT, Guest Relations Manager at Punta Pacifico, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Josh,

We are happy to hear you loved the Resort and beach.
We are excited to know that you will most likely come back soon. Thank you for choosing La Jolla.

Best Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had fun here at la Jolla the staff was friendly and the service was great. The resort is located on a really nice stretch of beach that was pristine and did not have the vendors that some other locations have. Rooms were very well designed and the beds were super comfortable. I read some other reviews that speak bad about this place but I think they are mad at timeshare people and are taking it out on the resort, not fair we came and I can say this is a nice place and are stay for 4 days was great and relaxing. Will give this place 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCLAJOLLAMANAGEMENT, Guest Relations Manager at Punta Pacifico, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your excellent review. Your kind words are most appreciated.
We are glad to hear you spent a great time during your stay. You are more than welcome to come back and enjoy the sunny beach with us.

Yours truly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The La Jolla resort is run by dishonest individuals. We bought in and returned the next day for a refund because we realized we were scammed. We had to fight to get in. We were lied to again when we were assured that we should check out VIP vacations. Give it a chance and then they would promise to refund all our money. No questions asked. The manager shook our hands. Gave us his promise and word. He said we could trust in the situation. We believed again. So stupid. I guess we really wanted to see the best in the situation. We checked out VIP. It was all fake. So we asked for our money back. We were told yes and then we waited and waited. After a dozen calls....still no money. And nothing to show for what we invested. A total scam. They got us once, but never again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
21 Thank Returntoosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCLAJOLLAMANAGEMENT, Customer Service at Punta Pacifico, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Returntoosoon,

We kindly as you to contact us at customerservice@rclajolla.com, one of our customers service representatives will be more than glad to assist you.

Respectfully
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Do not buy a time share thse people are masters at promises and short on delivery. They will do anything to empty your pockets of hard earned money. Yes the voice of experience. Bought a time share for a price some how they added another $1000.00 to my credit card now I am having fun trying to get my money back Crooks stay far away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank mdstanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCLAJOLLAMANAGEMENT, Customer Service at Punta Pacifico, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Stanko,

Your comment is very important for our Resort, Fortunately we have made an arragement together, so both parties can be satisfied.

Respectfully
Customer Service
La Jolla Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We took a tour last year. After declining the offer we stopped at a kiosk on the property run by Gold Crown, and based on their presentation bought a small package. We then left with only half our promised money. So much for honesty!

When we got home we found out that Gold Crown misrepresented their sale to us so we cancelled the deal with our credit card provider.

Today we went back to La Jolla as a tour and when we got there we were denied our incentive money because we cancelled from another company. What a waste of time. Unless you want to be insulted and lied to, do NOT go to La Jolla. They are not an honest timeshare to do business with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to the timeshare presentation and were promised the Huana Coa zip line tour. We called the tour company and they said they do not honor tour vouchers from La Jolla. They said those people are dishonest and have no association with them to give out their tours.
Also they tried to charge us $100 pesos for the free breakfast. At the check out counter, she said that was the normal tip they give to the waiter, because they don't pay them. (NOT MY PROBLEM) We went thru 3 different salesman even though they say 90 min. presentation. Try 2 1/2 - 3 hours. Initial price quoted for the 1 BR was $49,000 USD. The 3rd guy offered us 200 weeks for $2,900 USD. Plus no maintenance fees after age 60.
WATCH OUT! BUYER BEWARE!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank OCVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.7 mi away
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mision Mazatlan
Mision Mazatlan
#27 of 79 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Pacifico

Property: Punta Pacifico
Address: Av. Delfin 110 Cerritos, Mazatlan C.P. 82100, Mexico (Formerly Residence Club La Jolla)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusivity and privacy define the atmosphere that Residence Club La Jolla offers its guests in all of its luxury suites and villas. All the rooms are elegantly decorated and have all the amenities, including marble and granite finishing, kitchenette, balcony with ocean views and LCD TV. Located in Nuevo Mazatlan, the Emerald Bay provides the majestic scenery that inspires the most beautiful sunset views from any of our 16 spacious villas and 47 luxury suites in our resort tower. The infinity pool, beautiful grounds, the exquisite international cuisine, and the warm and personal service of our staff, will make you wish that you could extend your vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing