We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We enjoyed a quiet, clean and comfortable week at Villas El Rancho.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a quiet, clean and comfortable week at Villas El Rancho.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I was discouraged to see the resort plummet from #4 to #15 in Mazatlan after we had booked our vacation, however we found the resort more than met our needs in it's quiet, clean and comfortable atmosphere. El Rancho is a hike from downtown, but the city bus is cheap, cheap and the pulmonias (open air taxis) are wonderful on a hot day. Cost of taxis to downtown is 70 pesos. Visitors should understand, when they are going to El Rancho for the first time, they are not going to a huge resort - they are going to a small boutique style resort, however in that alone there is the quiet vacation we were after.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowHost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experiences. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your vacation at El Rancho.

We very much appreciate our guests who take the time to write a review, because the honest reviews from real guests (which had kept us ranked among the top 5 hotels in Mazatlan for several years) make clear how fake the false negative reviews are.

We’re glad you decided to come to El Rancho even though our TripAdvisor ranking had changed. Since TripAdvisor policy allows anyone to post reviews, without even verifying that a reviewer was actually a guest at our resort, there’s no way to control false reviews.

We will continue to provide the excellent service and uniquely quiet and relaxing atmosphere that our long-time guests have come to expect, and we look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    108
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
246
75
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Great hotel for a family vacations, quiet with pool and good rooms!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lffiscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Lffiscal,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your vacation with your family, and you can count on us to maintain the quiet atmosphere and the quality rooms that you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I recommend the hotel to extend the treatment of its employees as its comfortable rooms and restaurant service

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 88450Viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Viajero,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We really appreciate your recommendation. We will continue to provide everything that you enjoyed - excellent service from our employees, comfortable rooms, and excellent service in our restaurant.

We look forward to having you vacation with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

What a great comfortable place. It's not your typical highrise luxury condo site but it is a cozy, well kept, right on the beach, happy place. The beach is 10 yards from a small courtyard which is not really made for swimming as the waves were large breakers but the pool more than made up for it. There are beaches all over so if you want to swim in the ocean you can.Be prepared to taxi everywhere but its not expensive and the drivers do very well with english. All the people we met were most gracious and very helpful. You may want to bring some mosuito lotion but thats the only bug we had to deal with. Plenty to do in the city and surrounding area. Our week was packed with places to go and the fishing is great. The hotel cooked our catch for a minimum price as we gave them extra fish for the employess. All in all, it's not the Ritz Carlton but it is a wonderful place to relax with friends and sleep with the waves of the ocean. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grundoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Toilettes dont work, showers only run cold, beds are hard, food disgusting, t-v bad image and only a few channels, A/A not cold, villa smells horrible. As for me, this was a disappoiting stay and I will not be back again !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Californiagrandma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

it`s a very nice place. You feel like home. everything is near all around and the kids can do some activities like paints ceramic things and come and go to the room because it`s very close to the beach and swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verde85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

traveler, please be aware of the lies and false statements that we see on the reviews cause some of em are not true... and in this case its with "el rancho". we had a major problem with our 16 year old daughter, she was harassed by the staff of this terrible hotel... we spoke with the person in charge and didnt do nothing about it, the security and pool staff tried to reach my daughter at any time and thats an outrage!! and besides, my 8 year old boy got sick with the restaurant's food... we moved to another hotel at the golden zone due to our disgusting experience, and also im planning on suing the hotel for certain motives! this doesnt end here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calvin_lark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#43 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Property: Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation, enjoyment, peace, and good food all in one beautiful place, Villas El Rancho! Welcome to our family friendly hotel where you'll find a great beach front location and the calm and privacy that you deserve. Featuring Mexican rustic style, Villas El Rancho offers you 28 completely private, quiet and relaxing rooms with the capacity to welcome 6 people per "villa". All our rooms have a large living area, comfortable bedrooms, and a kitchenette with all the utensils to enjoy the art of cooking and have a family or romantic dinner (But if you also want to take a rest from the kitchen, you can join us at "Lupita's", our delicious Mexican food restaurant). If you are looking for the best place to relax, what are you waiting for? Get away with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing