We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Longwood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were disappointed in the quality of the rooms and the amenities. I was told there was a washer/dryer on the premises and there wasn't. I was in Mexico for two weeks, so this was important to me. The rooms are very dated and rugged. We went to the hot tub at 9pm to find it had been shut off for the night and it was suppose to run until 10pm. The water was cold, so I suspect it was shut off well before 9pm. But the most disappointing of all was the fact that I had two tops taken from my luggage and a neighbor I had met there also had a beach cover up taken from her room. The bar tender was rude when I returned my drink because it had a bug in it. He spoke little english and was very difficult to communicate with. On the upside, most of the staff were extremely nice and pleasant. One staff in particular -Ulysses (spelling) is a true gift to the resort. The outdoors was very pretty. I will never return and will not recommend it.

Room Tip: avoid this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank h0b0j0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    100
    21
    31
    29
See reviews for
230
76
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I rarely write a review or complain about food quality, but this outing was an event where the cost was far in excess of the value. We received the promotional beach flyer for the "sea food-meat dinner" for two which of course looked attractive. We returned later that evening and possibly being the only ones in the restaurant was a promontory sign. The waiter informed us that our dinner for two was the cheaper one on the menu in spite of the difference in name between brochure and menu. We held our ground, he phoned his manager and the 80 peso differential was waived. Given the disparity between the offer and waiter's intention we should have left, which was what we were about to do when the situation appeared to resolve. What followed was wonderful presentation at odds with preparation and taste. It was unnecessary to ask us how we wanted the meat done, as it was all overcooked...with a cold gravy on top to hide the fact. The vegetables were cold, the potatoes had sat in water and were mushy,although presented very nicely in tin foil swans, and the lobster had died of old age...A one star would be generous however the view was magnificent. Possibly the "two for one drink offer", which we did not use, could anesthetize one's palate enough to improve the star rating..there are many other choices and let your pesos talk.

Room Tip: did not stay on the premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatfield, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved that the resort was small and intimate. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The layout of the condos was excellent, but we felt a little more upkeep was needed, i.e. the hot tub was never very hot, the plumbing leaked, and a few kitchen amenities were missing (dish soap, dish rag, toaster...). We very much appreciated the bottled water that was furnished, and the on site bar and restaurant were awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First time in Mazatlan and though the resort is a bit removed from the downtown area, the trip to downtown was $100 pesos about $7 USD. Though older, the rooms were comfortable for two couples and had all the necessary items for preparing food in the rooms, breakfast lunch and dinner. Bottled water provided as well. The resort amenities are simple a pool and a hot tub, small restaurant and bar. Jose made the best margarita's on the beach, hands down. The room we had faced the beach and was beautiful to enjoy the sunset on the back area above the beach. privacy was not a problem and with the thickness of the walls between units, they were quiet in the evenings as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was the first time we visit Mexico, and UNIQUE , as they say it in their website is the way my family and myself would describe this Resort.

We enjoyed everything at this place because it is small and private. The staff was very friendly, mexican style, they paid attention to anything we needed.

The facilities are very nice, all the units have two bedrooms. We stayed by the pool and enjoyed them very much, while the kids were swimming we enjoyed the comfortable units, watching our kids from inside.

We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a room in front of the pool and near the hotels restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent place to spend your winter vacations, the staff is pretty friendly ,food is one of a kind, delicious and very clean, and Mazatlan is one of the most beautiful places I ve ever been. Definitively I will come back next year!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Resort is good for rest. Not to much going on. The only problem is that the Kitchenware is dirty and I don't thing that they do a good job checking it before the unit is ocupied. Also they have the air AC controler lock up. Also the units seems like they don't be fumigated often. the one that we got had insect and fllees that i gave usa rush.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#31 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Property: Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation, enjoyment, peace, and good food all in one beautiful place, Villas El Rancho! Welcome to our family friendly hotel where you'll find a great beach front location and the calm and privacy that you deserve. Featuring Mexican rustic style, Villas El Rancho offers you 28 completely private, quiet and relaxing rooms with the capacity to welcome 6 people per "villa". All our rooms have a large living area, comfortable bedrooms, and a kitchenette with all the utensils to enjoy the art of cooking and have a family or romantic dinner (But if you also want to take a rest from the kitchen, you can join us at "Lupita's", our delicious Mexican food restaurant). If you are looking for the best place to relax, what are you waiting for? Get away with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing