We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely place too stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place too stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We enjoy el rancho go twice year lovely place too visit safe and enjoyable place to relax and enjoy. Mazatlan is wonderful place too sit relax and safe I would never stop visiting there so if ya want a relaxin vacation go to el rancho and enjoy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    104
    22
    31
    29
See reviews for
236
75
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a great place for a Mazatlan vacation. Excellent location, great resort atmosphere with friendly service! Staff went out of their way to treat us like special guests. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I checked with friends who had stayed at El Rancho. They were very complimentary of the resort which was one of the reasons we booked there. They were not wrong. From the moment we arrived it was much like being in a tropical paradise. We wanted a vacation that was peaceful, relaxing and more of a family atmosphere. (We have had our share of party hotels! No thank you.) The staff was very pleasant, helpful and seemed really interested in providing top-notch, friendly service. Our villa was lovely and comfortable. We enjoyed the restaurant and loved the view from there. It was also nice to have a kitchen so that we could have our choice of eating out or in our villa. We enjoyed the pool as well as the beach. We had a wonderful time and look forward to going back. In the meanwhile, our daughter is getting marriied in September, part of our gift to them is going to be a week at El Rancho. It is a perfect place to honeymoon.

Room Tip: Being villas, you don't have someone making noise below or above you, seems much more private an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I dont ever go out of my way to write a bad review. The resort is however a picture of beauty that is substandard. It rained 2 times during my staff, 1st rain killed the air and flooded our bathroom from the leak, they moved our room after a day of horrible heat. The 2nd room we moved to had great air but was leaking in two places 2nd floor on my bed , they offered to air the mattress or turn it over so I wouldnt sleep on the couch. wasnt that great? any how.. the bathroom downstairs also flooded during the rain so i opted for upstairs bathroom to shower, the shower wasnt working upstAirs.. sigh.. did i mention the great staff and hotel service?? It was excellent the restaurant food was delicious, waiters ready at hand, housekeeper and cleaning crew from the sewage run off that went into the pool gave us a sympathetic nod. OH yea.. couldnt use the pool 3 days out of our stay it was flooded by sewage over run. We did have a great view of the ocean, hotel is small and quaint but after we didnt buy time share from these people our request for adequate stay were left w/ a lot of shrugs and im not sure who is in charge looks. Dont be fooled by these beautiful pictures, underneath lies mold and mildew. Sorry. but this property needs a total renovation,its severly in need of general repairs. Do you say green to imply you dont use electricity? Because that also went off a few times???? If you stay here dont pay more than you would for a 1 bed hotel stay downtown.. just saying at least downtown ur walking distance to EVERYTHING.

Room Tip: fitness room doesnt exist onsite, and they say massage at your door but after you dont get a time sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lovelybee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Lovelybee63,

Thank you for vacationing with us at Villas El Rancho, and thank you for sharing your comments.

First of all, we want to apologize for the horrible weather that affected your vacation experience. It is not at all normal for us to lose power, but the storm that hit while you were staying was exceptionally powerful. It truly was the kind of storm that only happens once every hundred years, and it hit the entire city of Mazatlan so hard that it caused the problem with the city sewer line, which has never happened before.

However, we would like to point out that despite the extreme nature of the storm, we had the damage cleaned up very quickly. Therefore it seems very strange to us that you were complaining that it took a long time to clean up, because most people seemed impressed with how quickly we recovered, considering the level of damage we sustained.

We also apologize for the problems you had with leaks in the roof. Unfortunately we were in the middle of doing maintenance on the roof when the storm hit, otherwise there wouldn't have been any leaks even with the heavy rain. As you can see, no one else has made any comments about leaks.

We are glad that you appreciated the service offered by our staff, and that you enjoyed our restaurant. We are proud of them, and the way they handled this difficult situation confirms what we already knew - that we have really great people.

As always, we are committed to providing the best atmosphere possible for a relaxing vacation. We are sorry that the weather (which was out of our control) affected your vacation, but we hope that you return soon to enjoy a quiet and relaxing vacation, hopefully with better weather! :)

Sincerely,
Villas El Rancho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Wonderful place with very very helpfull staff!!!!!!!!!!! "Will definately recomend to everyone visiting.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visits86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Mazatlan is a stop-over city for us as we drive north or south on our trips along the coast, so we rarely stay more than one night. The problem we have is finding a room that will fit our family of 5- usually having to squeeze a rollaway in a cramped room. At last we have a solution! We paid $115USD (in pesos) for a villa at the El Rancho and it was great for us.

Pros:
Super quiet (a least in May after all of the spring breakers have left).
Beautiful garden feel as you walk around the property. Feels like you are in a jungle, kind of like a mini El Camino property.
Villas are separated from each other, so you don't hear people next to you.
Two story villa with 2 bathrooms. Upstairs has two bedrooms with 2 full beds in one bedroom and a king bed in the other.
Full kitchen and large kitchen table.
Large sectional couch on the first floor for hanging out.
Full garafon (5 gallon bottle) of water for free!
Warm jacuzzi and clean pool + shallow kiddie pool was perfect for our 3 year old.
Nice helpful staff.

Cons:
Beach is steep at this part of MZT, but pretty.
Restaurant is small, and food is OK. The restaurant is built between 2 villas with a view of the beach/ocean. The whole structure moves when the serves do laps down the bar to get your drinks which isn't surprising, but interesting. Crystal Light lemonada was a thumbs down, but the steak was good, and the dorado my son had was also good.
Shower/tap water had a peculiar taste, not that I drank it, but you can taste it when you brush your teeth and take a shower. My wife and kids didn't mind it though and it wouldn't keep us from coming back.
Wireless internet was spotty, but there is an ethernet connection in the downstairs. We carry and airport express for this reason which always solves the problems of weak wireless.
There is a musty smell that a lot of seaside hotels have, but nothing like the septic smell that some have.

Room Tip: I chose the "poolside" villa as my kids had easy access to the pool. The "garden&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very comfortable with very helpful staff. Americans should quit being concerned about the "dangerous place" that is being circulated in the U.S. Neither heard or experienced any problems in our two month stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#38 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Property: Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation, enjoyment, peace, and good food all in one beautiful place, Villas El Rancho! Welcome to our family friendly hotel where you'll find a great beach front location and the calm and privacy that you deserve. Featuring Mexican rustic style, Villas El Rancho offers you 28 completely private, quiet and relaxing rooms with the capacity to welcome 6 people per "villa". All our rooms have a large living area, comfortable bedrooms, and a kitchenette with all the utensils to enjoy the art of cooking and have a family or romantic dinner (But if you also want to take a rest from the kitchen, you can join us at "Lupita's", our delicious Mexican food restaurant). If you are looking for the best place to relax, what are you waiting for? Get away with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing