We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Don't Count on Your Reservation Being Honored” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Los Arcos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Los Arcos
Save
You added Motel Los Arcos to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Count on Your Reservation Being Honored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I think the title sums it up... For the second year in a row, when we arrived they had given away our two week reservation. We were well within the check in time. From other reviews, this is a frequent occurrence. Our printed copy of the e-mail they sent confirming the dates wasn't of much use, as they still refused to honor it. The fact they had already charged our credit card also wasn't sufficient (initiated a dispute upon our return and Chases advised us they had already reversed the charge and flagged Los Arcos for frequent mis-charges). The desk clerk showed us the handwritten reservation book (rather quaint--who else still uses carbon paper these days?) where they had crossed out our name and written in another. It looks like the buildings have been painted and some of the rotted exterior wood replaced, but it is still a ramshackle facility at best. The location is superb, but the customer service is worthless. We walked down half a block and booked at the Lindamar -- a bit more in price at $60/night, but a friendly, professional desk clerk. Same basic style as Los Arcos, but actually well maintained and clean

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on ocean side are great for the view. Good luck though if you thought you had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The large patio/pool area with gorgeous views and sunsets is as nice as all the surrounding resorts and this is what you pay for. Los Arcos is the cheapest lodging on this beach. So why are some people grumbling? The apartments are older, things break, everything doesn't work properly all the time. The clientele is largely Mexican and they can be noisy and inconsiderate. Hey, this is Mexico. if you want clockwork luxury all the time, pay for it. The maids work very hard and the place is kept nicely clean. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The front staff gets right on anything you need with the exception of one young woman, who does not seem to know any better. Despite a few glitches and some loud nights, I have spent a wonderful three months here and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

All i really care about when budget traveling (which this particular trip was) is cleanliness and comfort. This hotel had neither. We had put a deposit on a few weeks in advance, and when we arrived, 20 minutes after the check-in time, there was nothing available. We had to wait, WITH OUR BAGS, for 2+ hours. we did not get a partial refund, the only thing they offered was to delay our check out time (which they forgot about later that week and tried to over charge us for checking out late). Sheets were awful, beds were noisy... really unpleasant stay. the only good thing about this place is the location.

Room Tip: IF you stay here (which i recommend you do not) get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BudgetBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for a week and it was terrible. The only redeming quality was the beach access and great view. The staff was very helpul through all the hiccups...Upon our arrival we discovered that they had lost our reservations. However, they were able to put us up for the week. The AC did not work well as it "swung" in and out blowing on our heads but we finally figured it out how to stop that the last night. We pulled our bed away from the wall because the condensation dripped on our bed pillows!!! sheets ARE paper thin but they did bring another blanket. Beds are rock hard. We did not get any great sleep. Use the cushions from the living room to put on your bed. Sugar ants were everywhere BUT it is expected. THe stove and oven worked as well as the microwave & refrig. Providid was a 1 small thin bath towel and soap. The pool was refreshing and cleaned nightly. Sunset was amazing and there were fireworks from other hotels that we saw from the beach. The water was wonderfully warm and waves were a bit small but fun. Be careful of the rip tide. I was bitten many times by mosquitos so bring bug repellent and bite lotion. If you want value and are up to roughing it, stay here...for us, we will find another motel down the block.

Room Tip: Ask for ones with the ocean view. The upstairs rooms are also more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipFlopWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

When I arrived at the hotel, the room facing the beach which I had reserved and paid for two month previously, was not available. I was given a terrible room which was facing a noisy street, crawling with ants in the bathroom, paper thin sheets and generally nasty. Since people were partying outside my room until 3 am, I got very little sleep. The next day, I decided to move to another hotel down the street which I would highly recommend, Playa Mazatlan. When I tried to receive a refund between the cost of the ocean front room I had paid for and the lower price room they gave me, the young woman at the desk was surly and acted like it was a total bother to her to even speak to me. The manager never showed her face. Finally, with much hesitation, my refund was grudgingly handed over! Don't bother with this place, there are plenty of better choices in the area!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CapeCod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
674 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We have stayed at Los Arcos at least 6 times in the past few years...they have a great location on the beach and near fun restaurants and shops...they also take dogs so that was a big plus for us...this last time was horrible!
Let's start with the dance music going until 4am this morning...thump, thump, thump...but besides that ...we got a room that the curtain didn't cover the bedroom window...we had to put the bedspread up to block the view out and in...the air cond stopped working in the middle of the night...we would have adjusted it but their new policy is to keep the remote for the air conditioners...that is besides having to ask for the remote for the TV...and being charged a deposit...the floors were dusty and sandy...there were no glasses, cups in the kitchenette...they said there were new owners...I suggested this morning that they tell them they need to work on the place...the girl looked quite bored by my input...oh well...we'll have to find a new place and stop telling people about this one. PS...the wifi doesn't really work in the rooms...they suggest you come to the office to use your computer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My family has been going to Mazatlan for a long time. My uncle started staying at Los Arcos 5 or 6 years ago, every winter for 4 or 5 weeks. Then my parents and older brothers and have joined them for the last few years for New Years. Los Arcos is a great hotel. It's small, so it doesn't have that big hotel feeling, but it doesn't feel like a cheap motel either. It's really nice to have your own kitchen and TV (even if there only is Spanish programming). The showers are nice, and there's air conditioning in every room. Unfortunately there was a gay bar across the street that kept it's music going all night, which kept my parents up. I managed to sleep right through it thanks to some sun filled days, right in front of my sliding glass doors.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CougarGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quijote Inn
Quijote Inn
#66 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Bonita
Playa Bonita
#61 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Contenta
Casa Contenta
#18 of 48 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Los Arcos

Property: Motel Los Arcos
Address: Avenida Rodolfo T. Loaiza 214 | Zona Dorado, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Motel Los Arcos Hotel Mazatlan
Hotel Los Arcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing