We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf's Up Cafe

Surf's Up Cafe
Ranked #39 of 400 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A wonderful gem in Mazatlan. It is within walking distance(beach) from Pueblo Bonita Emerald Bay and well worth the walk. The food was great and the service even better. We liked it so much that we actually went twice. They close at the end of May and reopen in October when the season starts up again. If you are looking for the regular toast and eggs, pancakes, you won't find it here. The food is much more sophisticated and made to order. It takes a little longer, but who care when your view is the ocean!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank btebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    19
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Tough to get to (walking) but well worth the effort. Fantastic views of the ocean, and the food is spectacular. Unlike any restaurant I've been too…has the feel of a beach shack, but the taste of a top notch gourmet restaurant. A must in Mazatlan!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sethtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Private, Captivating Beachfront Retreat..escape”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

the casual atmosphere is welcoming and one can dig their feet in the sand. The owners also have a special bed and breakfast hotel, adjacent.
We have been there a few times. Unfortunately our last breakfast was not inviting. THE FRENCH toast was very soggy. The egg basket made with mashed potatoes was bland and dry. Eggs har
We did have fun walking out
to the beach playing with our friends children.THE OWNER WAS SWEET AND ADORABLE. service was good.
We hope it was just an off day. Consistacy is difficult in most restaurants most of the time in Mazatlan

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindafangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view good breakfast”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We walked down the beach from our resort for a late breakfast. I had the chocolate chip banana pancakes they were good and the view was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnzo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like it, but...”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It's a little ways to drive, but once you get there you'll love the view. We ate breakfast with our feet in the sand! However, that was the highlight. We had two omelets, both came with a tiny cup of fruit (honeydew melon, pineapple and granny smith apple slices).

One omelet had apple, bacon and vegetables, and would have been tasty if it were not for whole-spoon globs of foamy, sour white stuff- what was it? It wasn't in the description. A small amount (or spread out) would have been okay, but it overwhelmed and filled half of the omelet. Also could have done without the heavy-handed sprinkling of red powder (Tajin?) all over the omelet (also not in the description).

The other omelet was also overly powdered and came with a half of a piece of cold, limp toast. All of this for $120/plate. No thanks!

Another bummer was that when asked if I wanted my coffee refilled, said clearly, "No, thanks" and it was filled anyway. She added about 1/3 of the mug, then charged me $5 pesos for a refill I had declined. We then waited 15 minutes for the waitress to bring change, until realizing that she intended to keep it as a tip- over 25% of the bill. We had to go ask her for it. It wasn't a timing issue, because she was not busy, and when asked for the change, got it out of her pocket. ...Really?

We can get a great view, tastier/hot food, better prices and far better service elsewhere. Sorry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daynamite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf's Up Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Surf's Up Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing