We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tacos, wonderful salsas”

Tacos Escorpio by Henry
Ranked #60 of 400 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Danville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tacos, wonderful salsas”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gotta love Tacos Escorpio by Henry. Most nights we were waited on by Henry, and enjoyed talking to him about his four years in business at that location.

Everything we had on the menu was good, and it was so affordable. I am so glad that I found this place in reading reviews in advance. We ate there every night that it was open (Wed-Sun during our August visit). We mostly ate tacos, and they were cheap and freshly made. The variety of freshly made salsas and the sauted onions and jalapenos that came with them let you garnish them to your heart's content.

Sure, this is a taco truck in a parking lot (the kitchen is a permanently mounted trailer), but it's good. The awnings kept the sun/rain off us, and the tables and chairs were clean and serviceable. The nearby road was far enough away that it didn't intrude on the meal, and let us do some people watching as we dined.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimB_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“terrific value.. very good food.. Henry is a super nice amigo”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is an open air restaurant, more like a road side dining spot (OK, it's in a parking lot) but it is really good for what they serve. The pork and shrimp taco's were particularly good and for about $2 a pop, you can't go wrong. Honestly, this place is about the best value you are going to find anywhere. They have table side service, cold beer and delicious simple Mexican food--fresh, fast and very cheap. Highly recommended for what it is. If you want fine dining go to El Presidio but if you want great bang for the buck--go with Henry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ate here a couple of times - we were so full even though you would think we ordered a light meal of three tacos. They serve bean soup before the meal and chips and salsa. Great atmosphere outside, locals and gringos ate here so we figured it was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great meals, great prices”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tacos Escorpio..located next to the Scorpio 5 convenience store in the Cerritos area of Mazatlan, is a true gem.

While I like the steak stuffed baked potato--the pollo al carbon served on Friday and Saturday nights is also wonderful...and my wife loves the guava pie.

Easy parking and walking distance from most parts of Cerritos and located on both the Sabalo Centro and Toreo bus line , Henry's is a great value and a fun place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic and very tasty!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family ate a yummy dinner at Henry's tonight. Great value for the money. Would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Escorpio by Henry also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Tacos Escorpio by Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing