We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Java”

Looney Bean Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coffee Roasters offering Espresso, Coffee by the cup or pound, Fresh Baked Goods made on site, Smoothies, Juices, Frappes, Full Breakfasts (American and Mexcian), Light Lunches (both locations) and Light Dinners (Olas Altas location only.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Java”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Short walk from Riu and good coffee. Specialty coffee as well. Lots of local expats or snow birds in and out all day long.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Move over Starbucks, Tim Horton's, Looney Beans is here!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Looney Beans has it all; great freshly ground Mexican coffee; the world's best muffins and pastries, original and yummy breakfasts and the best ambiance anywhere. Tom and Heidi have created a unique place for visiting gringos and locals to enjoy great coffee, chat, mingle and meet new friends. Community minded citizens, Tom and Heidi participate in a number of charitable activities and do a tremendous amount of work with those in need. Looney Beans is must when visiting Mazatlan either in Olas Altas or Cerritos; come and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario_CanadaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to enjoy a latte and to just "hang out."”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We learned about Looney Bean a few years ago and now make it a place we visit often while in Mazatlan. The freshly roasted coffee beans make a great cup of coffee and an excellent latte. Tom roasts the beans himself on site and our favorite are the beans from Chiopas, Mexico. Running a very close second are their breakfasts. The fruit and yogurt parfaits as well as their very unique whomlet which is a waffle made out of 2 scrambled eggs along with ham, avocado, salsa and sour cream are both excellent. We have yet to try their smoothies but rumor is we will love those, too. That is just another reason to visit the Looney Bean again. Their baked pastries and granola are first rate. We enjoy the food, the ambiance and we always enjoy walking down to Cerritos Beach afterward and watching the fisherman come in after a morning of fishing. Tom and Heidi have done a great thing at Looney Bean. Their love of their staff is very obvious while creating a great place where their guests can meet others while getting their caffeine fix and enjoying their special treats all at the same time.We will return again and again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paco's friend Don”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stumbled upon this special little coffee house that saved our taste buds.We met a fellow there who roasts and grinds the coffee there in the sidewalk cafe.The coffee was to die for... thank you Looney bean the coffee was just like home...Frappes and food was very good but i do love my coffee ...can you tell?lol

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Town”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visited the LooneyBean Coffee shop located a couple of blocks from the Riu Emerald Bay. Coffee drinks(hot and cold) to rival Starbucks. My new favorite place. Visited the shop twice a day while on vacation. Very cool vibe; a bustling shop that caters to the local Canadians and American Snowbirds and guests of the Riu that need a good cup of coffee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looney Bean Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Looney Bean Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing