We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon Stop”

Looney Bean Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coffee Roasters offering Espresso, Coffee by the cup or pound, Fresh Baked Goods made on site, Smoothies, Juices, Frappes, Full Breakfasts (American and Mexcian), Light Lunches (both locations) and Light Dinners (Olas Altas location only.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Stop”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Over the last several years we have come to the Cerritos beach area and have always headed to the point in the afternoon for a frappe and a slice of carrot cake. Let me say unequivocally the best carrot cake I have ever had. Prices are good AND you can order up some coffee grounds for making your brew at home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick_huber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    56
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate at the Looney Bean in Los Cerritos. The fruit plate was excellent, the huge cup of tea was great, and the womelet was great. We had never had an omelet cooked in a waffle iron before. It was tasty and unique. We walk over from Pueblo Bonito, Emerald Bay which takes about 40 minutes. (Please note we are 69 years young). Younger folks can walk faster

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank flom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place + wifi”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing coffee and pastries! Friendly staff, great decor and flocks of pleasant tourists pass through. It's on the very northern tip of mazatlan. Definitely a must see!

Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great coffee”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

delicious cup of coffee, friendly staff, will return and purchase their coffee beans. i had a cup of the house blend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BudgetBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Coffee and Treats”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stay close to the Loonie Bean at Cerritos and just love walking up the beach to go and sit to have amazing coffee and carrot cake! I usually make it my first stop after arriving to buy a bag of coffee to have in our condo. The coffee price is very reasonable and it is often freshly roasted right on the prmises. The owners have done a great job with staff training as the are all courteous and try really hard to improve their english. I usually bring back enough coffee to sustain me until next year!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looney Bean Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Looney Bean Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing