We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not #1!”
Review of SOCIAL Cafe Lounge - CLOSED

SOCIAL Cafe Lounge
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "Mazatlan's Premier Cafe & Cocktail Lounge" We have a full menu of cafe beverages such as lattes, teas, chillers and the best espresso in town! Also our full bar is serving the best martinis, cocktails, mojitos, vinos, cervezas and more. On our food menu we serve salads, pizzas, sliders, bagels, paninis, delicious desserts and other great items. Come have some fun with us on your next trip to Mazatlan. "Be SOCIAL, Live SOCIAL"
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Definitely not #1!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

That this is rated #1 in Mazatlan is a little scary. Maybe the coffee is good, we didn't go back for breakfast. We went to drinks and dinner, and were disappointed. The drinks were watery (martini and mojito). I switched to wine, which was so-so. The baked goat cheese was good, but the "Greek" salad lacked olives and feta and flavor. The pork sliders were dry until we asked for extra sauce, which was quite good. Our food took so long to arrive that my husband went looking for our waiter, and when they brought the food they brought him another mojito, which he didn't want. Then when we asked for the check, our waiter asked me if I wanted another glass of wine, and without waiting for a response, said "oh no, you've already had a couple of martinis and glasses of wine" (incorrect and incredibly rude).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOCIAL_Mazatlan, Owner at SOCIAL Cafe Lounge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your review, we remember you folks very well.

We specialize in Martinis and have never had a complaint but there is always a first for everything. Mojitos are made with club soda so perhaps that is why you thought it was watery.
Our food is all made fresh to order, we do not have a freezer and sometimes our food may take longer to prepare because we operate with a very small kitchen. We apologized you felt it took too long and that is why when your husband came into ask where your food was, we brought him a mojito on us for the wait. We didn’t realize he didn’t want it, he did not have to accept it.

With regards to our waiter being rude, sometimes when visiting another country there are language barriers and it takes longer to process a second language and our waiter may have interpreted your request different at first before he realized you requested the bill. He is not known to be rude, actually as you can see below in other comments he is the complete opposite and sometimes overly friendly.

It’s unfortunate you didn’t feel we deserve the rating of #1 but we do strive for excellence in service and quality. We try to ensure everyone who visits SOCIAL has a good time, great service and good quality food or beverage. When you left our restaurant, your actions made us think you enjoyed yourselves, we wish you had told us how you felt before leaving so we can try to better a situation. We hope you visit Mazatlan soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    26
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good cup of java!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great java brewed as you order. Throw blankets are avialable for those chilly afternoons. WiFi available. My husband had coffee while I endulged in a good cocktail. This is a great little place very close to El Cid Castilla - a plus for those of us who love good coffee!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOCIAL_Mazatlan, Owner at SOCIAL Cafe Lounge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the review and noticing all the finer details of SOCIAL. We are happy you enjoyed your espresso and cocktail. Hope to you see you again in Mazatlan. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good coffee shop”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I'm not sure what it says about the overall state of restaurants in Mazatlan that this place is currently occupying the #1 spot. But, regardless, this is a comfortable and stylish coffeeshop that generally does what you need. Coffee is good. Wi-fi is fast. Margaritas are made with real lime juice rather than Fresca, although our Mimosas didn't appear to have any bubbly in them (Screwdrivers by mistake?). The encrusted goat cheese snack was amazing. "Margarita" pizza was thick crust with dried basil, and might have come out of a microwave. The ham panini was acceptable but nothing special. Our server Mario was very friendly. Maybe a little too friendly for a couple of introverts like us, but most people will probably appreciate it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kscaldef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOCIAL_Mazatlan, Owner at SOCIAL Cafe Lounge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate any and all reviews received from TripAdvisor as they help us grow and enable us to better serve our customers. We apologize your Mimosa’s didn’t have enough bubbly but we can ensure you they were not Screwdrivers as Screwdrivers have Vodka. Our food is made fresh to order, most everything is made from scratch including our pizza sauce, with fresh basil and fresh vegetables daily. Our pizzas are certainly not made in a microwave and unfortunately sometimes the pizza bread shows up thicker than we would like for our flat bread style pizzas. We hope that your overall experience was satisfying and if you return to Mazatlan again you will stop by for another great espresso. At Social we try to be Social but understand there is a fine line! Take care and thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Style and Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A group of us visited the Social Cafe Lounge on two occasions. The service was great! Had my favorite martini with top shelf liquor. The best 2 drinks I had in 2 weeks! Love the decor and the patio seating. If you want top shelf...go here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judyjudyjudy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOCIAL_Mazatlan, Owner at SOCIAL Cafe Lounge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
The best 2 drinks in 2 weeks why thank you! We are glad we had the opportunity to serve you. We are a full bar as well as café and take our cocktail making seriously and strive to make them perfect every time. Thank you for the appreciation. Take care and come see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Urban Cafe in Mazatlan”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stopped in for apps on a Thursday evening - Martini night! Hoorrayy! There was a 2-piece Jazz ensemble, very good. The service was the best, cocktails perfect and food, excellent! You'll love it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bogoxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOCIAL_Mazatlan, Owner at SOCIAL Cafe Lounge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed yourselves at our place. Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our place. We hope you come back soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOCIAL Cafe Lounge also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing