We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific and first class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water's Edge Bistro

Water's Edge Bistro
Ranked #29 of 396 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Water's Edge Bistro located in the heart of Centro Historico on the corner of Ninos Heroes and Sixto Osuna just 2 blocks from the Plaza Machado. Come and enjoy fantastic food in a beautifully restored historical property. Chef Alastair and his culinary team has created a wonderful, eclectic menu with a variety of fresh daily specials. We are dedicated to serving only the best food using the freshest, most sustainable ingredients. We would love to see you soon!
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
218 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Terrific and first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Everyone loved their food choice. Attentive service. Lovely room. Good value. No misses. Would highly recommend for any and all visitors to Mazatlan. Will definitely return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    31
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A trip into history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My visit to the Waters Edge Bistro yesterday was memorable for 2 reasons,
the age of the building is estimated circa 1850, and the quality of the wine.
Now having said that I have to emphasise that it is difficult if not impossible to find quality wines in restaurants in this town. Imagine my delight in being served an excellent chardonnay from Chile, exactly the right temperature. I then followed up with an organic salad with mushrooms, nuts, and chicken covered in delicious lettuce and their own house sauce. main course was a medium rare steak sandwich style with vegetables mmmm.
The wine? Well I just kept drinking it, what a winner. The restaurant is delightfully converted and decorated, high ceilings with several choices of rooms. Service was excellent and very personable. Definitely try this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberthowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great renovated building next to Etnika. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Miss the water view but nice job with building. Food is good. We had large group. Make reservations. Sea bass in season and was good. Desserts were only issue. All seemed similar texture content. Out of one we wanted. Will be back and thumbs up!!

Helpful?
Thank artandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Yesterday WE opened in their new location, Sixto Osuna and Ninos Heroes. The new location is smack in the middle of Centro and is absolutely fabulous. The interior is warm and inviting with some great local artwork, the presentation of the food was a master piece. Great sevice from the staff and definitely will be a favourite for Mazatlecos and visitors alike. Well done Alastair and Tracey

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
442 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“We had a very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Water's Edge (Olas Altas 16, Mazatlan, Sinaloa, tel. 669-136-0895 in the Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, thewatersedgemaz.com) it was almost dark. We had a nice time and the food was good. We had good service by Arturo at The Water's Edge. Alastair Porteous, Chef, came to the table to make sure everything was satisfactory (we like that). The Water’s Edge had a special Prawn Festival going on and Dimitri had the Prawn Festival Szechuan dinner (M$100) which he said was very good. Audre had the Crab Cake starter (M$80) and it was good. We had one beer (M$25) and 2 red wines (total M$75). For dessert we had one pastel (M$40). We spent M$320 plus tip and had a nice dinner (exchange rate M$13.10 = US$1)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Bistro also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Water's Edge Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing