We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience!”

Water's Edge Bistro
Ranked #29 of 410 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Water's Edge Bistro located in the heart of Centro Historico on the corner of Ninos Heroes and Sixto Osuna just 2 blocks from the Plaza Machado. Come and enjoy fantastic food in a beautifully restored historical property. Chef Alastair and his culinary team has created a wonderful, eclectic menu with a variety of fresh daily specials. We are dedicated to serving only the best food using the freshest, most sustainable ingredients. We would love to see you soon!
seattle
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was different but equal in quality to our dinner at Topolo. It's very small, so make a reservation! It was too cold to eat outside the night we were there, but would have been nice with the moon over the ocean. Our service was great! Good margaritas, and the best wine I've had in Mexico (Australian). We shared a Summer Salad, which was delicious. We both had the Cuban Prawn Bowl, which was excellent, very tasty, and nicely cooked shrimp. I will definietly go back next trip-the only reason we didn't return on this one was the distance from our resort, and the smallish menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    30
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

,My husband and I went to Waters Edge for dinner on the final evening of a recent trip to Mazatlan and we loved it.

When we arrived, (about 6pm in order to see the sunset!) we were the only ones in the restaurant and I usually find this to be quite off-putting!. But the young staff were great and friendly and suggested we take our pre dinner drinks onto the outside deck to watch the sunset which we did. It was a spectacular sunset!

We moved back inside for dinner and to listen to the excellent guitar player and a little later we were joined by a few more diners.

The owner came by to chat for a few minutes and the food was delicious and cooked beautifully and the portions just about the right size.

We were also pleasantly surprised by the price. A shared starter, 2 entrees, a shared dessert plus 2 margaritas and 2 glasses of wine for just over 600pesos. Wow!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LUSKJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

For the last three or four years, the recommendation for that "special occasion" meal in Mazatlan has been Topolo's. This is correct IMHO, but there is a strong challenger now...Waters Edge, at Casa Lucila, at the south end of Olas Altas, just part-way up the hill.

We went the other night, and it was a beautiful evening, with a view over the bay to die for. We actually ate outside...what we ate doesn't matter too much, actually a romaine salad and a panella and tomato salad, and for main the crab pasta, and I had the Asian noodle basket with filet added in. The menu is on the net, but while the menu is not as extensive as some would like, every dish is carefully prepared and presented. And the hosts and wait staff have to be the best trained in town.

Prices are reasonable for the extra experience, so add it to your bucket list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally some fine-dining in Mazatlan”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Elegant atmosphere, appears to be run by ex-pats.
Even the local servers spoke with nearly un-accented English. The view
would be nice in the light, but is lost once the sun goes down. The
flatbread was tasty, topped with goat cheese, sundried tomatoes, and
mushrooms (although the mushrooms were slightly burnt). The summer
salad was also good and a generous enough size to easily split between
two people. The Cuban Mojo Shrimp was bursting with garlic and lime
flavor, very good, although the Shrimp were just a touch overcooked.
The standout of the meal was the Tagliatelli with Crab and English
Peas, which was perfect with big chunks of crab, what appeared to be
fresh peas, and a rich cream sauce. We wrapped up with a decadent
chocolate mousse cake. The wine list was modest, but well-selected
and decently priced, as was the menu in general. We had wine,
appetizers, and dessert and still paid less than at the resorts in the
Gold Zone, for much better food and ambience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kscaldef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
424 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was a bit upscale for me but it was pretty close to my hotel so I thought I would give it a gtry. It is very nice atmosphere, again, a bit high rent. The service was prompt and friendly, the food tasty and well prepared. The wine list was extensive and expensive. The food was pricy but not over the top.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Bistro also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Water's Edge Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing