We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place if you want a little romance and get away from mexico food”

Water's Edge Bistro
Ranked #28 of 414 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Water's Edge Bistro located in the heart of Centro Historico on the corner of Ninos Heroes and Sixto Osuna just 2 blocks from the Plaza Machado. Come and enjoy fantastic food in a beautifully restored historical property. Chef Alastair and his culinary team has created a wonderful, eclectic menu with a variety of fresh daily specials. We are dedicated to serving only the best food using the freshest, most sustainable ingredients. We would love to see you soon!
full time rver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place if you want a little romance and get away from mexico food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

love the restaurant. the only negative i would say would be that should have a daily special for us who go there frequently. prices are typical for this type of restaurant.
You have to try their flat bread...love it
when the weather is warm and the winds don't blow have a drink outside and watch the ocean and sunset.

wait staff has always been great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    30
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were headed to The Presidio but they are either not open on Wednesdays or we were just to early, so we diverted to The Water's Edge. The location at the south end of Olas Altas, in one of the hottest boutique hotels in Central America, is hard to top. The atmosphere on the terrace or in the dining room is excellent. The service is top-notch for Mazatlan. The entertainment (a jazz trio) was pleasant.

The cuisine needs work. Everything was OK, which is unsatisfactory given everything this place has going for it. The Water's Edge has impeccable taste, except when it comes to the food, in which case it must be said that there is a significant lack thereof.

My wife had "The Catch of the Day" which happened to be mahi mahi, which is not the easiest fish to get right, although restaurants all over Mazatlan manage it. It was way over done (dry) with not enough of a decent almondine sauce, that itself was simply out of its depth in Mazatlan.
My seafood soup was too bland and was dominated by the same mahi mahi.

In retrospect, the tone was set by the roasted garlic appie that somehow had been drained of nearly all of anything faintly garlicy. And the crab cake appie, while ok, just lacked any character and did have too many remnants of shell.

We had an apple strudel of sorts with a large scoop of "ice" cream on top. The strudel was quite good but was damaged by the absolutely poor quality of the "half and Half" ice cream with shards of ice distributed throughout.

I suppose that my biggest problem with this place is that it thinks that it can get away with serving mediocre American style upscale cuisine because of the fact it is located in Mazatlan. This is a city of Carnival and fireworks and Banda music and beautiful, voluptuous women and some of the best damned seafood in the world.

A second level scrawny fashion model restaurant does not cut it in Mazatlan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanzio_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G, Owner at Water's Edge Bistro, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Tanzio_it,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about your dining experience at our restaurant on Wednesday, January 16, 2013. Your positive comments about our location, our service, and our jazz trio are very much appreciated as we work very hard to ensure the overall enjoyment of our customers. It is thriough the feedback from our guests that we are able to learn and continuously improve our restaurant. We are committed to ensuring that each and every customer has an enjoyable experience every visit and I'm sorry we weren't able to achieve this for you on this visit.

We have shared your comments with our team and expressed to them the importance of food quality and consistency to ensure that every guest has a great food. We work hard to develop a menu that is attactive to the customer as well and having the ingredients consistently available here in Mazatlan. We are sorry that you didn't let us know about your concerns at the time of your visit so we could have the opportunity to correct them immediately.

Again please accept us apology for your experience at our restaurant not meeting your expectations and we hope we have the pleasure to host you again.

Should you have any other questions or wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at: tracey@thewatersedgemaz.com

Sincerely,
Tracey Grantham,
Owner,
The Water's Edge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World's Best Bloody Mary + Great Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went for Sunday brunch with a group of 8. We did not have reservations and they were very accommodating and put together several tables for us. I had a screwdriver with fresh-squeezed orange juice and my wife ordered a bloody mary, which we agreed was the best bloody mary we had ever tasted, made with fresh tomato juice, lime and spices.

As for the food, I had the bacon and cheddar benedict made with thick sliced bacon like you get in the states and very fresh eggs and a side of salsa picante. My wife had the coconut and pear pancakes (which are really crepes). Everyone in our party thought the food was delicious! I wish we had gone earlier in our trip so we could have gone back again for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent aspect, wonderful food, great service.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A touch of Asian flavours gives the menu a new spark. Always the best place to eat in Mazatlan. The outlook over the playa is one of the best in town. Brunch on Sundays is a special treat too. The waiters are professional and attentive. Reasonably priced too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylnChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly overrated.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pretentious, false and disappointing. That's all I got from my visit to this place. We made a reservation for two. On arrival, I was welcomed by the -I suppose- chief waiter, whom had his trainee waiter take us to our table, he didn't ask him politely, instead he asked in a humiliating way, and I quote: "Can you do this, or not?!", almost as he wanted us to listen. Next, we were given the menus. A very poor wine menu, only a few international options and not a single mexican wine. The dinner menu was lame and repetitive, half their options were shrimps in different preparations, and the entrees were over simplistic and just unattractive. The trainee did a good job, despite the fact he was scared to death the whole time. The food was not that good, my local friend said he could cook any of the dishes with better ingredients. In sum, an unpleasant experience... a rather expensive one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosJoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Bistro also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Water's Edge Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing