We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A perfect vacation for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A perfect vacation for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I LOVE this place! My husband, five year old daughter and I spent a wonderful six days at Pueblo Bonito. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The staff is also wonderful.


FOOD
We purchased the all-inclusive for the first four days to see if it would be worth it and figured we could extend later. I will say, the all inclusive is definitely worth it. And it costs much more to add after booking, about $100/day per person.

The food at the restaurants is good. It does get repetitive, but it's a great option if you don't want to have to leave the hotel or pay full price at the restaurants. The all-inclusive also includes room service for a very small ($4) charge.

My only complaint is the people we saw with drinks inside the pool, especially children. This is probably more of a manners thing, but they could also make it a rule that drinks are not allowed in the pool. I'm really surprised we didn't run into a situation where a small child dropped their fruity drink in the pool.

STAFF
Wonderful! Very friendly and eager to make you feel welcome. The staff at the pool is continually checking to make sure guests have all they need, drinks, food, water. An our room was nice and clean when we returned.

ROOMS
They are nice and big. It was a great layout, perfect for the three of us. I can imagine with 4 adults it would feel a bit small. The decor is nice and bright and there is a small terrace with towel racks to dry your clothes. We'd purchased some sweet bread one night and in the morning it was covered in ants. There is a small kitchenette so I would be cautious of storing any sweet foods.

POOLS
They were very warm. We went in June and when I first stepped into the pool it felt like a jacuzzi. I was hoping to cool down, but it was about the same temperature as the air. This was the kids pool so it may have been due to it being shallow. The other pools were slightly cooler.

As usual, getting a chair near the pool in the shade is always a challenge, but this happens everywhere. People hold their chairs with some small personal object and then leave so you're forced to walk in circles looking at empty chairs when all you want to do is get to relaxing already. I haven't been to one hotel that has managed to find a good way to address this.

OVERALL
We had a wonderful time at Pueblo Bonito. We were there for six days in our ten day trip. We had planned to switch to a less pricey hotel on day seven, but we regret it. We tried to extend our stay, but they were already booked. The second hotel we stayed at was the Riu. It was a notable downgrade and not worth the money we saved. We will definitely book this hotel for the full vacation next time. I would highly recommend this hotel. Spend a little more to make your vacation worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    394
    141
    73
    70
See reviews for
1,167
622
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Emerald Bay is a beautiful hotel. The grounds are fabulous and very well kept. Everything that you need to have a great vacation is here. Food at the two restaurants and the snack bars is delicious. You can eat outside in all of them. The hotel service is the best. Every hour there is a shuttle bus down to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan hotel where you can catch a taxi or pulmonia to restaurants and shopping Mazatlan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second, third and fourth floors will give you the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78661939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is a nice place for a family vacation. The grounds are large and pleasant. Our room was very big, with a kitchen and plenty of space to hang out. It had a nice view but no outdoor patio or balcony. The pool was large and quite nice, with a hot tub, a swim-up bar, and several separate areas to swim and play. The pool-side bar food was excellent. Drinks were kind of weak, probably owing to the all-inclusive price. We didn't like the buffet dinner at all, but the fancier restaurant was pleasant and had good food.

Probably the best thing about the Pueblo Bonito was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and did their best to be helpful. The wait-staff in the restaurant made every meal an event. Special kudos to Jose, who set our dessert on fire and put on a show serving it.

The biggest drawback is the beach. It's OK to walk along, but not good for swimming and not particularly nice for sunbathing. So if you want to hang out at the pool, this is a great place, but if you're a beach person, I would choose another destination.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and me spent a marvelous five days stay. The Spa, pools and beach are outstanding, as well as the food and service. We rally had a relax time in a quiet but delicious environment. Special mention to the Spa staff and facilities; both are the best. Another mention is for the service staff at the beach; they take care of everything so you do not need to worry about anything.
The only stain was the attitude of the front desk employee Juan. Instead of welcoming us at our arrival he treat us in a rude manner. Please move him to back office out of the seen on the guests. Unfortunately, due to his we did not receive all recommendations.
Anyway our stay was delicious.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

we arrive to resort sunday driver who pick us up at airport very freindly workers at resort very profesional good attitude registration area very freindly staff they ask us what kind of room we like to have we pick the 4th floor with a view of the ocean from our room you can see the swiming pools (5)our room have 2 bathrooms partial kitchen plenty room for 4 people resort grounds are very well keept pools are very clean beach very nice water very warm

Room Tip: any room you choose is good people at this resort are very polite there is no roudy people you can w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently returned from Mazatlan,MX. Emerald Bay resort is an awesome place to go relax and take your family. The resort offered everything we needed.The rooms were beautiful with an awesome view. The service anywhere on the resort was over and beyond. People were always friendly and very helpful. It was great having the convenience of two small delis/markets on the resort as well even though there was a Super Walmart close by. Be advised though, if you go to the Walmart for your shopping they will only accept $250.00 us per customer. If you use pesos there is no limit. They also had plenty of space on the grounds for getting in the morning jog, as well as a gym, spa and tennis courts. They took care of setting up our tours and currency exchange too. The tour to Old Mazatlan is definitely recommended, but keep a close watch on your money exchange as they don't always seem to give the correct amount (don't think it is intentional). We definitely felt safe there as well as walking the streets in Mazatlan. Not what we expected. Can't always believe everything you hear. We definitely plan on going back.

Room Tip: We had a master suite with 2 junior suites near the office facing the adult poo, on the 3rd floorl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank madted3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We've been 4 times in the last 5 years and absolutely love it. After going to the Yucatan recently I can say that the level of service in Mazatlan is far superior. Emerald Estates is a great place to relax and be pampered. But there are also plenty of fun things to do if you like a little adventure in your vacation. The fishing is spectacular. The golfing is superb. And you don't have anyone trying to take advantage of you and charge $12 USD for a margarita. If you stop by the main pool ask for Carlos- he is the MAN! Not only does he deliver great service, he'll have you cracking up in no time.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the main resort, as they all have views facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#42 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing