We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little negatives were outweighed by the bigger positives.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The little negatives were outweighed by the bigger positives.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I did our 1st time share (TS) stay here January 2014 having bought 2 yrs earlier. I was very negative minded about it, going in, because we went thru what ShhToronto did (see "Beware...") but having bought, we needed to live it & experience it. We did and it was quite pleasant and it turned me around, pretty much, but I note some problems below. By the way, we avoided having to attend a sales session ("How are you doing, let me give you a coupon but let me sell you some more stuff") so that helped matters a lot.

The good part of the story is the entire lay out itself. It is the best & most attractive we've seen.

On the condo side of the property, the network of pools is plentiful with quieter ones on the edges. We were put right into the middle, in the heart of it all, and it was noisy at times, the Activities Coaches using a microphone a lot. Other TS resorts present this challenge, of course. Also, the architectural lay out is really quite good, very pleasing Spanish/Italian 19th century style (I understand the Cabo PB properties are also unique architecturally) confirming in my mind the high caliber of Mexican architects (PB is a Mexican company).

Then there's the villas side of the property. Little castles/chalets which we totally ignored, can't afford them anyway.

The walking paths connecting one end of the resort to the other allowed us to walk in a tropical paradise even at night as it's lighted up quite nicely, about 1/4 of a mile long. Lovely gardens & plants, fine maintenance, and stunningly colorful iguanas if you pause to look. The beach is within a few steps to look at. PB offers you on campus transportation service on golf carts which was nice when we needed it.

PB/EB has the best most complete gym I've seen in any TS.

The eateries were top of the line. The Bistro, the main restaurant, served us fine cuisine, tailored to my stringent no-salt requirements and they did a fine job and I told them so since its hard to get this service in the USA. We attended a Mexican NIght at the Le Corbesiere (or something like that), a second eatery, and we found the food genuinely authentic (I happen to know a lot about it) and delicious, and I told them so too, altho I'm afraid that some gringos may have been unable to really appreciate it.

The down side: I feel like I'm carping in writing this but I did feel slighted but only on a comparative basis. By this I mean that our Junior Suite with 2 beds turned out to be much less than what we get with other TS's. It was less, and that's my point. Dollar-wise I think we got less. The kitchen was smaller, reminiscent of my cooking in our RV--only 2 burners, limited counter space, had to put the tea pot on the floor when working with other pots, only 2 knives when we get a whole set elsewhere, no complimentary coffee for the first day, no condiments, etc. Smallish bathrooms too. A lot of small stuff that added up in my mind.

Furthermore, our Jr. Suite consisted of one large room with a bath, no separate bedroom, very limited chest of drawers--again comparatively, . It helped that our room was very tastefully decorated and a very good lanai or porch overlooking the main pools, ocean view, but the lighting was poorly planned, a shame!

Another bad thing for me, but perhaps not for you, is that PB Emerald Bay is so far away from city center. Yes, I knew that it was far away when we signed the contract but we had thought to rent the unit out and perhaps other people wouldn't mind, lots of folks like an all inclusive resort out in the boonies. PB/EB mitigates this limitation by providing a free hourly van shuttle to their closer-to-town property so I thought, ok let's try it. Anyway, I read the fine print about the shuttle and discovered that PB prohibited using the shuttle for buying groceries! God, almighty! What narrow minds, I said to myself.

But, determined to cook in part of the time given my salt restrictions I told my wife, "we're going to have to do a contraband run!" So we donned on our back packs (good thing we brought them) and succeeded in smuggling in groceries. Can you imagine that!!! We learned later that the shuttle drivers weren't strict about this ban. Many Mexicans aren't strict about many rules & regulations either. Anyway.

Bottom line: the many bad points were outweighed by the many good points. We'll go back knowing the limitations and we'll be ready. Now I'm interested in checking out the other PB properties in Cabo.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask to be assigned a unit away from the main pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,086
    477
    178
    89
    78
See reviews for
1,332
744
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Relaxing site with beautiful gardens. Rooms were good and the cleaning staff excellent. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the morning facing the ocean, food and service were good. We were on the all inclusive package. The evening meals were mixed, the Bistro was best choice but then the menu is the same each day, the self service wasn't as good. If your diet is limited, then it will be boring. I am gluten free so only option for desert was icecream. The food at the Mazatlan PB was good and there is more atmosphere in the restaurant there. We got caught buying a timeshare - shouldn't have gone to the presentation! We will be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our 7th year in our Jr. Suite and we love it more each year. The people, free transportation downtown, lush tropical setting, pools, gym and aroma spa, property layout and service are exceptional. They work hard to make you happy and if there are any issues, they are quick to resolve them. We have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jane,

We appreciate your kind remarks and the time you took to review us, we also would like to thank you for your preference on choosing Emerald Bay for 7 years in a row! Guests like you are what make us feel satisfied for the quality of the service we strive to provide each day.
Looking forward to welcome you soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Emerald Bay December 3 - 10, 2013. Our expectations of Pueblo Bonito properties is very high because we have been owners at Sunset Beach in Cabo since it was built. Unfortunately, at Emerald Bay we had problems with the rooms (moved 3 times in the first day), food at the Bistro (cold or burned at the 2 meals we had). We ate most of our meals after that from the Deli if we were at the property. The pools were beautiful and well tended and we loved watching the iguanas. We enjoyed time at the sister property in town and found best food at Angelo's the night before we left. I had a pedicure at the Spa and loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments, which help us improve and offer a better service to all of our guests. We apologize for having moved you from your room, our only goal was to locate you in the best room that met your expectations a hundred percent. Your feedback about the food will allow us to take action based on it and enrich our restaurant experience. We are very glad that you could enjoy our beautiful pools and spa, we would really like to have the opportunity to welcome you and serve you again to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We are presently on vacation in Mazatlan, staying in a rented condo which we are loving. We did attend a timeshare presentation Sun. Jan. 26 at this property. We were contacted at the airport upon arrival in Mazatlan, and agreed to attend mostly in order to check out the property after a previous wonderful stay at the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica in Cabo San Lucas. Well it turns out the lying started right there. The 90 minute presentation went close to 5 hours. We were offered incentives to attend: a city tour and $150US. Originally offered $200US it was reduced when we did not fit the age eligibility (we still have the initial paper showing $200). This is y would important because after signing the document we failed to notice the rep. Added the word dinner to the promised amount. The rep was careful to cover the paper by way of holding it steady for us to sign.
The first sales pitch went on and on, constant incentives being thrown in, and the investment amount lowered after each refusal to join. Finally we were passed to the exit interview, except this rep. Had other options to spring at us at lower investment levels until he relented and walked us to the final exit stage. This time yet another rep joined us with still lower investment options and altered plans until they accepted our refusal and said our incentives were ready. I tore off the tour coupon and refused to accept the dinner vouchers. After some angry words they offered us $1000 pesos which we accepted to get out of there. If you want a time share Hold Out - the price will drop, otherwise don't go. Definitely do not believe the sales pitch!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank ShhToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a Master Suite overlooking the pool and ocean and very close to all amenities. The building design was gorgeous and the suite was beautifully furnished, bright and clean with a lovely patio and lounge chairs (advantage of the ground floor). Same as the sister property, they do not stock snacks, water, alcohol, soft drinks, coffee, etc. in the rooms but items can be purchased at 2 locations on site.

2 restaurants on site and option to take the transfer to the Mazatlan property although menus varied only slightly from one resort to the other. The Bistro was at the far end of the resort and a bit of a walk from the Reception area but food was excellent and the walk worth it. They also provided a golf cart for transport if you did not wish to walk. The Buffet offered different theme nights so food varied. Deck food was also excellent. Well prepared and presented. Waiters were very friendly and service was good. Again, (same as the sister property in Mazatlan) the most annoying thing was having to sign a receipt every time you went somewhere for food or drink. Some days we had as many as 7. (breakfast, pool, late afternoon drinks, dinner, late drinks, etc., etc.) The object of this seemed to be to capture tipping as the receipts were zeroed out if you were all-inclusive but the word “tips” was often written on the receipt and yes, tips are expected.

Pools were amazing - the largest pool area we have ever come across, with infinity pools and different levels, it was gorgeous. there was also a second "adult only" pool in a quiet area and a third pool at the south end of the property in front of The Bistro. Umbrellas and chairs in abundance!

The beach in front was fairly rocky so not a "swimming" beach, however if you walked north just past the resort, it was all sand and you could walk for miles. We did run into some jellyfish issues so stayed out of the water when we were there. (apparently unusual for January) Large flocks of pelicans on the rocks so lots of fun to watch them fish! Resort was full of iguanas, fish, pink flamingos and other birds! Grounds and gardens covered a large area and were incredible with white statues, flowers, waterfalls, etc.

This resort had a bar complete with entertainment on some nights so definitely helped fill in the evening if you did not want to stay in your room!

This was a time share resort but we were only asked once and never bothered again.

Overall a fabulous resort! Quiet and relaxing. Away from the bustle of the City but close enough to catch a cab back there!

Room Tip: Watch location if you want to be close to all amenities. Also ask if you will have a balcony. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for writing such a detailed review about your stay with us, we feel very happy to hear you could enjoy all of our facilities and that you had an amazing time during your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week over Christmas break, and were beyond thrilled with our accommodations. The resort was much nicer than I expected, the grounds are impeccably manicured, we saw gardeners out working every single day.

The spa was beautiful, a great massage…especially for the price!! We used the fitness facility every day, the yoga class was good…not great. Definitely a beginners class. The pool by the cafe seemed to be the best spot to relax, few kids, great view, and not nearly as crowded as the main pool.

Our room was okay, incredible view, but definitely a little dated with an older, chipped floor and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable though, and the room was spacious overall. Not really too much to complain about:)

Definitely no reason to leave the resort, as the few times we did we were disappointed!

Room Tip: Stay by the cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,507 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
664 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#52 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing