We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“K & S”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
“K & S”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We bought a jr suite in 2005. Been back about 3 times and have enjoyed the resort immensely. The main pool is awesome, one of the largest of it's kind in Mexico and service and food are top notch. The grounds are kept pristine and the overall experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: building 1500 puts you right by the infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,086
    477
    178
    89
    78
See reviews for
1,332
744
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's along way out from everything although a great location to get away from it all. The beach isn't that safe for swimming like the other Bonito Hotel in town is, but fantastic to walk on. It goes forever and not crowded. The grounds and pools are amazing. The staff is the best and much more gracious than some of the guests will ever be. The views from the rooms are getting poor as the place is badly in need of a 'clear cut'. The food is usually exceptional although no surf and turf included in all- inclusive as stated. Roxanna at the Bistro will look after you very well. Jose and Alberto at the adult pool bar really know how to make a drink. No weak wussies or slushy's there.
People did complain about a few things that I will address: The timeshare people were OK with us but we heard warnings from others.
Second, was there were too many Mexican families vacationing there. We found them very easy to spot as they dressed nicer and their children were better behaved.

We went on the city tour given to us by the timeshare promoters. If incessant yelling babble is your thing, you're going to love the tour guide if you get 'Suzanna' . She will ask for a one dollar donation for kids within the first few minutes of the tour to see the museum. Where do you think that money's going? We jumped off before the jewelry store trap. Enjoy your tour.

Juan, at the front desk is great, providing lots of information other than warning us about the city tour.
As far as safety in Mazatlan goes, border towns are the problem; not Mazatlan. For all you British Columbians out there, 'Surrey' happens to be a border town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cruiselance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay presents itself as a luxury resort and upon arriving looks like it. Beautiful location, wonderful grounds, views and luxury amenities. Upon check in that changed fast. Very very slow and tedious. No money in the ATMs for at least three days - gave up went I to town (which is a long way away). Internet In dark ages. Free in an over air conditioned deli with few spots to sit. There were times when there was no internet service and when logged on painfully slow. The paid at $12 per day per computer not much better. The rooms very spacious and nicely appointed. Unfortunately beds sloped to center and pull out couch extremely uncomfortable. Purchased air mattresses and children slept on floor. The restaurants are lovely with good food and many options. Service extremely slow, even by Mexican standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great service! The buffet dinner was not good at all but the other restaurant called THE BISTRO was unbelievable. The staff were all friendly and were very welcoming. The beach was also nice but not the best for swimming due to rocks and jelly fish in the water. But besides the beach and the dinner buffet it was amazing. Also stay away from the timeshare people because they wont leave you alone if you show even the slightest bit of interest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noah0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been traveling to Mazatlan for over 20 years and staying at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay since its opening about 10 years ago. Originally, the place was very nice, but in the last two years, the resort has gone downhill quickly. The restaurants have always been poor, but the resort is getting run down, and the staff is not nearly as good as when the resort opened. Due to a bit of over-crowding, the "pool police" are quick to literally pull the chair out from under you. The rooms need updating as coffee-makers didn't work, refrigerators leaked, and lamps were broken. They used to have the staff to straighten up the beach area, but this time, seaweed infested the area (which smelled), and the trash wasn't picked up the entire week. It's sad to see such a wonderful place go so wrong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mark J,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us and we apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you during your stay with us. We can assure you that we are taking action based on the feedback you are providing us, specially regarding our rooms, the pool policy and the motivation and training we give to our staff members. We really hope you can give us another chance to change to wrong impression you had from our Resort.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We just returned from an 8 day all inclusive stay at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay resort. The staff were all awesome. The pools, plant life, walkways, animals (flamingos, fish, ignuanas right outside our door, small beach crabs) and view were superb. Unlike other reviews we found the food mediocre at times; very soggy nochos, baked potatoes slightly undercooked, scrambled eggs in a small pool of milk on your plate, no variety of bread.. white only, cheese and meat platters on Saturdays only, fruit supply minimal (pineapple, melon, papaya and water melon), onion soup was not good at La Bistro, however, fresh omelettes were great and you have to ask for bacon but they do bring it!
Our room was fantastic with a great 4th floor view of the ocean and the adult pool. We had everything we needed except a comfortable bed and toilet paper. The sheets are not fitted and come undone when you roll over. The comforter was made of cheap nylon which feels grosse to the touch, the pillows are small and flat as a pancake. They will bring you better pillows if you ask. Cleaning ladies don't check your 'paper' supply so keep an eye on that. Using paper towels is not pleasant.
One bartender thought he was doing our 15 year old son a favor by putting rum in his not-so-virgin pina colada... beware!
Many activities yet not enough. I would have enjoyed local artists doing their stuff, whether painting, funky hair braiding, jungling or whatever else. There was nothing except a great traditional show Saturday night at La Cordeliere and Christmas with a wonderful guitarist.
They need an evening beach capfire with house guitars we can borrow!! More Arts please!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo-anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our 10th trip to Mazatlan, our 9th at PBEB and our 3rd at PBEB with our 'Italian' friends. Over the years there have been many changes to the resort, service staff etc. For this trip there were some areas that I think the management (if you can ever find them) have listened to on Trip Advisor and some things that I think they have ignored. On the UP side there were new towels poolside, new more modern TV's in the bedroom; painted and freshed up rooms and new fridges. We requested a room in the 14/15/16/17 buildings and we place in 1815. I rang and requested another room, after 1 hour I was happily rehoused in 1715 - perfect! Fantastic poolside service from Angel, Jesus and Jose Louis,although Carlos :( has gone to Topolos - we could not get a reservation, fully booked all the time. Book from the US before you leave! Other untrained waiters were poor and lacked the the happy hour mentality as it took almost an hour to get a drink poolside. Maids for the rooms were brilliant and the room was fresh and clean everyday, remember to leave them a tip please! Most pleasant surprise was the towel pool guys from housekeeping - whoever is in-charge of housekeeping great job! They were pleasant and helpful. Finally the security towel police are doing their job and removing the 'left' before breakfast towels........everyone knows what this means! Now to the negatives of which I think is heavily weighted because of the introduction of the all- inclusive plan. Service at the pool does not begin until 11 for anyone and ends around 5pm for everyone! We used to love to start early and finish late :) Portion sizes and alcohol content of drinks is severely reduced, even for those who are paying full price. The buffet food in the Cordeliere all but inedible. We went on the Sat night to the buffet from 5-10pm and arrived at 7pm. All the appetizers were all but eaten, there was virtually no desserts left and the outside buffet was much cold and stale. I requested to have some more appetizers and desserts and the chef asked why? most people have eaten! There was ONE table who came in after us and had nothing left. 370 pesos for 2* food at best. The entertainment was almost complete by 8pm and then he kept telling everyone to make a report on Trip Advisor - well here it it is. I if you advertise 5-10pm then you should have everything available till alt least 9pm! The all inclusive band is killing the quality of the food. This restaurant used to have high end shrimp, steak and lobster. Now there isn't even a shell in sight! The Bistro is a much better option. My last gripe is the front desk/concierge. A hotel that offers this service as most 4*/5* hotels do should ensure that the front desk and the concierge co-ordinate. Lost bookings, mix ups on trips, restaurants unavailable??? You used to be able to get drink coupons! I think PBEB does NOT want you to leave the resort, If so do not offer a concierge service. We are OVER the timeshare already.............please change the check in procedure, its so lame..............well overall we had a fab time. Pools are still fab, Roberto and the tennis was excellent, some of the trained staff are great, oh and the activities are fab as well and so is the pottery. Some of the things we come back to PBEB for. So may I suggest management revise the all inclusive to include everyone from all aspects, those who prepay and those who do not. Train the newer pool staff alongside the trained ones and talk to chefs about upping the quality of the food. Till the next trip.................see my reviews on Pedro & Lola; Angelos; Cilantros......

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor balcony go for 14/15/16/17 followed by a 1, other than that go to the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,507 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
663 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#52 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing