We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful place away from the hustle & bustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place away from the hustle & bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at PB Emerald Bay on 2 occasions now and are going back again in 2014. The grounds are amazing and the views of the ocean are incredible, but the ocean swimming here can be a bit risky with how rough the waters are in this bay...but, we love their pools anyway. We love the location because it is so quiet and peaceful, compared to staying somewhere along the gold zone where all the tourist hotels are located, which has a lot of traffic and the noise and smog that goes with it...trust me we have stayed in the gold coast and it is much closer to the restaurants and attractions but PB has a free shuttle you can take to get to their hotel in the gold zone and then you can go from there. The service and rooms are all better than average and once you stay at a place like this, it is hard to go back to the run of the mill resorts.

Room Tip: all the rooms have ocean views, so, the only choice is which floor you want to be on for how high yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripandfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    393
    141
    73
    70
See reviews for
1,164
621
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

At every turn the service was amazing. The wait staff at all restaurants and bars were terrific. The choices for food were good for the all-inclusive option. Which was definitely a nice surprise. The beds could be bigger, especially in the larger executive suites. Getting around the resort is easy as it is mostly on one to two levels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful grounds and activitys. Infinity pool is an all day event. Refreshes the soul. Events in Mazatlan are of good value and enjoyable. Best keep secret of Mexico. Stayed there a week. Saw lots of sights - the downtown market is my favorite. Will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glengrosskreutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had no idea what to expect but fell in love immediately! The accomodations are extraordinary, the property is gorgeous, the food is excellent, the amenities plentiful and appreciated! Total relaxation!!! Free shuttles into Mazatlan where you can shop to your hearts delight and get a real feel of Mexican life. Will return many, many times!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We own a timeshare at this hotel, however this was the 2nd time we go there. The hotel is beautiful and well maintain, the hotel is right on the beach which is very rocky and hard to swim most of the time, the pools are beautiful and the hotel offer several of them, even so there is an adult only pool besides the main pool by the lobby and another big pool at the very end of the hotel. The food is great, loved the variety of dishes they offered every night, however the service was not the best and needs improvement. The bistro restaurant has an extremely slow service, drove me crazy as each time would be 7-10 minute just to bring your drinks. The service at the bar inside the pool was horrible, the waiters will talk among each other and we literately had to wait until they were done cheat chatting, one time the waiter gave me and extreme hot bottle of water and told the other waiter (the one that handed me the bottle) that it didn't matter it was hot, didn't bother to offer me a cup of ice for it, until I told him if he normally drinks hot water like that on a hot day, another time gave me a beer that was sitting there for a while, I had seen him pour it for another customer that didn't wanted after all and waiter just placed it on a shell behind him and that it was what he was giving me until I told him I wanted a brand new beer. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the other pueblo bonito which is closer to the main town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mglluvsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking to the time to express your comments and concerns about our resort, we apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, but we are glad that you ended up having a great time during your stay at Emerald Bay, we can assure you that we will take action based on the feedback that you and other guests have given us.

Hope to welcome you for the third time soon.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pueblo Bonito at Emerald Bay is most certainly a 5 star resort,. We stayed there two weeks in Feb, 2013. The staff are very compassionate, always friendly, wanting to do everything to make our stay a pleasant one.
When we arrived we received a welcome second to none. We were escorted to the main desk where we checked in. We then were escorted to another area to arrange for a tour of the resort the following day which of course was the time-share presentation. This was very well presented and we were given 2 - $50 dollar vouchers for use at the spa and a 15 % discount voucher for the Deli.
A Golf-Cart mini taxi took us to our room and woa what a view. We were so thrilled with the room with two bathrooms, deck with a beautiful view, king size bed.
Now we wanted food after travelling all day from Vancouver. We didn’t have a map of the resort layout so we had no idea how to find the restaurant as the resort was so large. We had to ask for a map of the resort. So one recommendation would be to give first timers a map of the resort. Actually on the day we were leaving we found a very colourful map in the bedside table, this map should be left on the coffee table for the next guests.
We did chose all-inclusive and the food was wonderful. This all-inclusive is a meal plan not always buffet for all meals.
The staff were first class, worked hard and were very attentive to all our needs. They make $8.00 per day so tipping is expected even though the resort explains that all-inclusive includes your tip. So recommend you have lots of dollar bills or pesos.
The resort is far away from all the downtown area so no venders which is very peaceful.
There is a free shuttle that takes you to downtown Mazatlan to the other Pueblo Bonito. You can then walk the beach from there or take a transit bus to the center of town. There are two types of buses: the Mexican bus costing 5 pesos or the green tourist bus “Sablo Centro” which has air conditioning , is very clean and costs 10 pesos. There are many good restaurants downtown but it takes a while to learn about the good ones from people you meet. The water at the resort is very good , you can drink out of the tap and brush your teeth. Apparently the resort has its own water treatment facility.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginger150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed there last August. For those interested in the differences between the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan and Emerald Bay, my humble opinion:
The Emerald bay positives:
Lovely gardens and more luxurious sorroundings.
Great food in restaurants.
Excelent service.
Emerald bay negatives:
Far away from Mazatlan town ( a positive for some)
The beach is dangerous.
Check in service very slow...

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan positives:
Great beach, and restaurant overlooking the beach...
Great restaurants and services.

Pueblo bonito negatives:
The hotel is not as nice and luxurious as Emerald bay.

The good news is that there is a shuttle bus from and to both hotels. So, if you have an all inclusive option, you can have a great time in both hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xylitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#40 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing