We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place I have ever stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place I have ever stayed!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have traveled a great deal over my lifetime and this is the most beautiful place I have ever visited. The rooms are spacious, sprawling in marble. The pools are incredible, now numbering more than a dozen, plus multiple hot tubs for cool evenings.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, you will not find any finer, this is an incredible place to relax. If you want to explore the rest of Mazatlan, they offer a free shuttle to their sister property, the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan on the main strip in Mazatlan. From there, you can walk or take a Pulmania (Mazatlan’s unique open-air cabs) into the main spots in the Golden Zone and the Old City.

The pools are huge, with tons of chairs available, and they also have numerous chairs and canopies along the beach. The pools offer swim-up bars and full-service menu offerings poolside. The grounds and the entire layout are absolutely beautiful, gorgeous fresh bouquets of flowers in the entry, vivid flowers throughout the grounds, waterfalls, creeks, and pools flowing throughout the grounds with peacocks near the entry and pink flamingos wandering small pools on the grounds. They offer a wide-range of activities: crafts, bingo, ping-pong tournaments, music trivia, basketball games, water aerobics, water volleyball, beach volleyball, tennis, etc. They have multiple shallow pools for young children, an incredible spa and an enormous workout facility with the latest equipment. Last year, they added a full driving range for golf too. They have two general stores on the grounds, one at the main entrance and another attached to an internet café near the center of the resort.
I recommend the Sunday Champaign brunch, it offers nearly everything you could want – fresh, made-to-order omelets and fruit smoothies, pancakes, waffles, bacon, fresh fruit, sushi, oatmeal, cereal, and a yogurt bar! It is incredible. Overall, regardless of the meal, the dining and service are second to none.

I thoroughly recommend this resort and was shocked that it was not rated #1 in Mazatlan. It was an incredible experience and I am already planning my next visit there. I absolutely love Pueblo bonito Emerald Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a third or fourth floor room for spectacular sun rises and sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSpecV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    485
    184
    91
    82
See reviews for
1,377
751
27
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent a week here on the meal plan. The room was great, the grounds were great, the pools were great, the food was great...but the service in the restaurants was lackluster. Even a large tip didn't encourage better service on our next visit. We were constantly asking for refills of our coffee and drinks.
This resort was "far far away" from town. The hotel provides a shuttle bus that must be booked well in advance (both directions).
The time share guy stationed at the front door couldn't take no for an answer.
Don't think I would visit any of these resorts again from our experience.
Our last trip on all inclusive was at the "Gran Melia Resort Cancun", now that was a vacation - pampered all the way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our 10th year staying at our timeshare. The grounds are still beautifully maintained. We really enjoy our Master Suite - lots of room for the 2 of us, complete with coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, pots & pans and a few bowls plus a 2 burner stove and microwave.

As owners, we have noticed no improvements to our rooms - still the same tv's, pictures, etc. It's sad that they don't offer any perks to return owners ... There is no incentive to eat at our resort. since the prices are high. We either took a taxi or used the shuttle to restaurants downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a great time. Customer service was way better the pueblo bonita Pacifica. Employees were friendly and helpful. Only real down is we got the all inclusive deal and unlike all other places they do not supply your room with any drinks and we had to pay $4 every time we had room service. They do have a deli where refreshment can be bought. Even with these issues we will come back again just for the great customer service

Room Tip: We were in 1827 and loved it. 2213 was our first room and there was no view so the nicely moved us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickPamA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This resort is one of the signature spots in Mazatlan. Established in 2001 it has maintained its standards as one those “go to” places. Situated on beautiful Emerald Bay on the northern coast of Mazatlan it remains one of those destination places that seasoned travelers tend flock to. It appears to use the adage that if it is expensive it must be worth it. Not the case! In the end you are simply paying for an okay view and an isolated location. It has a range of services for its guests. Some want time share, some want ownership, some just need to have a place to sleep.
I fell into the latter category as I needed a room for a week during Carnival. I was not there for the festivities of Mazatlan and certainly appreciated the fact that I could get some sleep. Situated on a picturesque but very quiet beach front this was the perfect escape from the “party Zone “of downtown. I have stayed in Mazatlan many times at several locations. The noise of the “strip” can be a bit much to take when you are there for business.
Twelve years old but still looks good. The rooms are generally a kitchenette style room but one does not have to worry about making a meal. The morning buffet is excellent and the dinner is also well presented. For guests that want to enjoy a relaxing evening (or afternoon) snack or meal, Kelly’s Bar off the lobby is the only place to be (and that you can go). A cab or the hotel shuttle is needed to go anywhere else. There is nothing else anywhere within walking distance.
Not all aspects of an isolated resort can be perfect. One major complaint by several guests is the very poor internet. Even with the premium cost of $12/day USD for in room wireless service it simply does not work. I had to trek down to the Deli WIFI site mid-way down the length of the resort to log on. It was very frustrating to have to sit at a picnic table to do email in an open air breeze way while my $12/day internet access simply burned away.
The staff advised that their supplier was responsible for this problem and not their concern, but really folks, at that price, the resort should ensure the guests get what they paid for. They certainly ensure you pay for each and every “extra” service they provide so they should also ensure you get what you pay for.
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. However, the drains on the shower/tub appear to have 12 years of hair and gunk in the drains. They simply do not drain worth a darn. At the upper scale cost of these rooms, one would think someone would check this out from time to time. Standing in mid-calf high dirty water is not really pleasant.
The beds are soft and comfortable and the patios off the rooms are nice to sit in. No one pushes you to explore the ownership and time share option which is really nice. The desks are at the front door should you want to ask about it but they can easily be ignored if you choose. The check in was pretty standard and not really an exceptional experience. The map of the property they give you (only on request) is a very faint, poorly done, photocopy of the resort. The scale of the map is too large and location notes are very badly laid out. The poor features and quality of the map make it pretty well useless.
For someone that spends over 100 days a year in hotels and resorts, I would recommend this resort if you really want to simply enjoy the resort only. The peace and quiet and view is really all it has to offer. At a $20 USD cab ride into town you want to ensure you take the frequent free shuttles into town. I actually showed a draft this review to the front desk staff and all they could offer was a comment card to the management. They are simply not empowered to look after a guest’s concerns. In addition, sometimes during the day the line up to get to the guest relations desk can be a challenge.
Being a larger chain, it appears that they are ruled by some type of committee. If you have any issues to deal with, do not expect resolution during your stay. This is unfortunate as that is when you want it resolved, not with some stale email apology two weeks later (if ever). The day time, front desk staff was advised midway through my stay and the same tepid response was given. (Your problem- not ours)
All in all, the stay was forgettable. It was a place to sleep and move on. For the business traveler it would be better to simply get some ear plugs and stay somewhere else in town.

Room Tip: The resort is a series of distinct "blocks". If you want to see or be close to the beach g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved PBEB. We've been many places in Mexico; this is by far the most beautiful building and grounds. We also enjoyed the adult pool. Our room, a junior suite, overlooked the adult pool and was charming, lovely ceiling moldings, attractive bathroom, airy and pleasant. The staff was outstanding, courteous, warm, delightful. Example: the breakfast chef, on discovering that I like to make tortillas, fresh-pressed and baked them for me before my eyes every morning. The food was a surprise: other than spectacular shrimp dishes, there was not much fish- dull mahi mahi. On the beach, I saw a fisherman pull in a red snapper and a corvino, and the waters were full of oysters, so I do not understand this... but the beef was delectable. Both restaurants were very good, better than the celebrated Angelo's at the Pueblo Bonito in town.
The beach is not for swimming- too rocky and bouncy- but is terrific walking. No nightlife, but we like it like that. All in all, just great.

Room Tip: Go high, 3rd floor, and avoid the big pool if you like it quiet. Pueblo Viejo was where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaubonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a few minor disappointments this year. First we were upset because there is no live music. Kelly's piano bar should be called Kelly's no music bar. Neither Rafael or Andreas were there this year. We went into town to dine and listen to music. The Italian night was not "on season" which surprised us because Jan. and Feb. are certainly prime season. Last year the Italian buffet and Sunday brunch were the best things going food wise at Le Cordeliri. The Sunday brunch is still excellent and the staff at both Le Cordeliri and the Bistro are excellent.
Two other disappointments were that the hot tub in the adult pool had a leak or at least was very low. It got lower each day, which made us think "leak." Also the steam room in the men's sauna was out of order for several days. To PBEB's credit, it was repaired. We also noted the furnishings, floors, etc. were showing wear. It is time to update the bedding and some of the chairs. Also were nobserved that the foilage wasn't looking as chipper. Perhaps there was a lack of rain. And of course, the constant refrain, 'We will be starting the golf course soon!" We bought several years ago and part of the reason we bought was for golf. Oh well, we went out to Estrella del Mar to play. We eat there too and enjoy the food.

Room Tip: If you want a great view ask for the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,537 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 79 in Mazatlan
682 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#45 of 79 in Mazatlan
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,799 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#62 of 79 in Mazatlan
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing