We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
74
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts recommend renting a car every morning pool area ray vacation taxis mexico
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 76 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2017

We booked for three nights to celebrate my wife’s 70th birthday. Ray and Linda have created an oasis of comfort at “The End of the Earth” (we winter in Centro, and I use the term only to describe the distance we traveled by pulmonia to get there): Accommodations, amenities and breakfasts are everything you’d expect in this price range, and then some. The beds (we had the Kokopelli Suite – named after a fertility deity, no less) were pillow tops with firmness underneath, and sleeping on them with the sounds of the surf coming through the partially open patio doors was an unforgettable experience.

There’s plenty of hot water and water pressure, and the water is treated and drinkable (do note it’s “soft”, so it takes a while to rinse soap and shampoo and tastes a little different).

I went down before DW for our first breakfast, was confronted with a small plate of banana bread and not much else (“It’s good, but is that all there is?”). DW arrived, and then Linda started with the real breakfast: OJ, bowls of sliced fresh fruit, yogurt, toast and an omelet; there was so much, we decided to split an omelet rather than each try to eat one. And let’s not forget the bottomless cups of hot coffee. It was all good.

As it worked out the birthday fell on a Thursday when Beggar’s Banquet had their regular gig at Surf’s Up, so I invited a dozen friends for a semi-surprise party. Leanne was quite helpful, and the afternoon was a complete success. Their Thursday “Picnic Menu” lists burgers and hot dogs prepared a number of ways and there was a sandwich or two as well. The band has to be heard, with the female lead doing a spot on Janis Joplin. Ray was instrumental in getting the band together.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Its was a pleasure to meet you both, so pleased we where able to make your get away memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017

We came super stressed but from the moment we were greeted by Linda and Ray our worries were swept away. The property is right on a very private beach. The full breakfasts were amazing. The food at Surfs Up Cafe(on the property) was fantastic and prepared by Leanne their daughter. The restaurant also provided some great entertainment. After most vacations in the past, we were eager to get back home - not this time! We wanted to stay more than 8 days and will be back. Mark and Joanne.

Room tip: Ocean view on second level
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank drmarkathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Thank you for much for the glowing review, so pleased we could make your stay enjoyable look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

We highly recommend El Sol La Vida! Ray & Linda are such wonderful hosts! They make you feel like you've been friends forever as soon as you arrive. The property is well taken care, and stunning to look at, with amazing views and proximity to the ocean. The beach is wonderful and mostly empty, which is a bonus.
The breakfasts were wonderful with more food than we could eat. They started with a wonderful bread of some kind (Linda's Banana Nut Bread is the best!) and a bowl of fresh fruit and some yogurt. Then Ray would make a wonderful hot breakfast with eggs, toast and sometimes potatoes of some variety. One outstanding one was his version of Huevos Rancheros, the best we've had! Of course this is all accompanied by juice and coffee/tea. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault. ;-)
The property is a ways from civilization, if you will, as it's in a new area of Mazatlan and down a dirt road. You can get taxis to places, but it was too cold at night for me to use the open air ones. So after our first night there, we decided to rent a car. If you just want to sit by the pool or lay on the awesome beach, it's perfect. We enjoyed having a car for a little more freedom. We loved using Uber for Centro, when it was a bit far to walk, but they're not available in this area.
Ray and Linda's daughter runs Surf's Up Beach Cafe next door, which we were able to enjoy once, as well.
All in all a wonderful experience!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank McSue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Thank you Sue for the lovely review very informative to help future guests with their decision to stay at El Sol La Vida. It was a pleasure to meet and talk with you both, hope to see you again.

Linda & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We just got home from a 5 day stay at this lovely B&B. We went with my sister and her husband who have gone several times before. First of all Ray and Linda who own and run this hotel are such genuine and good people. We could not have asked for better hosts. Every morning we had a delicious homemade breakfast while we watched the ocean. Our room was very clean and and beautiful! We stayed in the Garden Room that has a private garden patio attached to it. All of the grounds are beautifully maintained with gorgeous gardens. We watched stunning sunsets every night. There is a restaurant next door called Surfs Up ran by their daughter Leann. She is the Chef and we never ate anything that wasn't unique and delicious. We would definitely recommend this small and personal hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CindyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Linda and Ray are the perfect hosts! They made fresh breakfast on the daily and always checked in to see if we needed a ride somewhere or a taxi called. The private beach is awesome as is the pool and hot tub. Our room was super cozy and the bed sooo comfy that most mornings we did not get up till 9am. This place is perfect if you are looking for some chill time and just want to soak in some sun. Downtown is close if you are looking for a little more touristy stuff or nightlife. We really can't say enough great stuff about this place and Ray and Linda. It is a must stay!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews