We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$114
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$65
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$92
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$448
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$622
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
70
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtwonderful hostshuevos rancherosthree nightsrecommend elprivate beachrelaxing vacationrayleannesurfedoceantaxisaccommodationsrelaxationcentro
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 72 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from our 8 day stay at El Sol La Vida. We had an amazing time and it was very hard to leave!

The hotel itself is beautiful. We loved the location being a little outside of the action of Mazatlan, but yet close enough to drive there in 10 minutes. It is a perfect place to be able to relax and unwind. The pool was awesome and there are plenty of areas around the pool to lounge.
We stayed in the Sunrise Suite and it was perfect. We liked having the balcony with an ocean view.

While the hotel, location and amenities are amazing, the real gem of the property are Ray and Linda. They go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of 100%. It blew us away how awesome hosts they are. It is hard to put into words how above and beyond they go to make sure you are having a great vacation. They have a gift at knowing what you want before you want it. They realized very quickly that I like having a coffee in the afternoon and only had to ask once for it, and then it was brought to me every afternoon after.

They are also really fun and interesting people to talk too. They were happy to show us some places around Mazatlan and if felt like going out with your friends at night. We really enjoyed their company and their hospitality.

We are typically travellers who just like to relax and keep to ourselves when we are on vacation and we certainly could do this here but in the end you will find yourselves wanting to talk and hang out with them.

Overall it was an amazing place and we loved every minute of our vacation. We would go back there in a heartbeat. It is a truly unique place with truly fun, unique owners.

Thank you for a great vacation Ray and Linda. We miss you guys already!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Suite and it was very private and had a great balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Cheers guys for a brilliant review, we really enjoyed hanging out with you, didn't buy the ranch, and they still won't sell me the table!!! Take care Ray, Linda, Leanne, and all at El Sol La Vida and Surfs Up Cafe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a wonderful B&B. Everything was just great! The property is beautiful. The location is off the beaten path but close to town. Ray and Linda were gracious hosts. Would definitely go back. We didn't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: Any suite would be great!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us, it was great to share your family reunion, look forward to the next one!!! All The Best, Ray, Linda, Leanne, and all at El Sol La Vida and Surfs Up Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Ray and Linda were very accommodating and made our stay one to remember for the rest of our lives. The location was quiet and absolutely fantastic. The food at the Surf's Up Cafe was excellent and would highly recommend the burger. I would recommend to anyone who want a quiet and beautiful vacation to definitely try this wonderful BB.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Sorry for the delay in replying, thank you for your review, you guys were truly great guests, who became great friends, good times!!! Ray, Linda, Leanne, & all at El Sol La Vida, and Surfs Up Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

What can I say about El Sol la Vida that has not been said before, Linda and Ray go way beyond what is expected of hosts and make your stay memorable, welcoming and unforgetable. As previous guests have said the hotel is spotless, the room fabulous and the beds are amazing. Each morning when you go to breakfast the view of the ocean is breath-taking and you can sit for hours enjoying the tranquilty, watch the oyster catchers at work and hear them singing as they gather their catch, just magic. Every evening you can enjoy the sunset, lighting the sky with its memorable colours what a joy.
Every guest is treated as a member of the family and as previously said this beachfront B&B is an absolute jewel. We will be back as El Sol la Vida has stolen a place in our hearts making us want to return.

Room Tip: Would not be disappointed with any of the rooms, they are all to a high standard.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexChalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We truly enjoyed your company, and look forward to your return visit. All the Best! Ray Linda Leanne & staff at El Sol La Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

What can I say about El Sol La Vida that hasn't already been written? First of all, your hosts Linda and Ray, and Chef Leanne are jewels unto themselves. You'll feel welcome and treated like family, without any hovering. Ray picked us up at the airport, and brought us to this beachfront beautiful jewel... While the photos are gorgeous, nothing can convey the calmness, energy, and serenity of the inn and the ocean without actually being there. Almost lured to the most comfortable bed ever after "check in" (there is no checking in! just hugs!) and shower, we could not resist the 70's themed party going on at the Surf's Up Cafe restaurant. Leanne was aware that I am vegan, and made the tastiest special dishes for me all week. Speaking of a week, not long enough. Seriously. Linda arranged in room massages, shopping trips, and Ray brought us to a charming nearby town (not a tourist town). Leanne brought up to the Machado one evening. You really do feel like long lost friends with everyone there. Enjoy the pool, the private beach, the food at the Surf's Up Cafe- but most of all enjoy the hospitality. Stay awhile. I'll be back for two weeks next time. Hopefully soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Suite. Sunrise over the Sierras, sunsets over the Pacific. But got a tour and all the rooms are gorgeous.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi Guys, thank you for writing a great review! It was brilliant hanging out with you, talking about music & art around the bar in the evenings, it was cool we became such close friends in such a short time!!! Still hate goodbyes at the airport, look forward to your return!!! Cheers And All The Best from Ray Linda Leanne & staff at El Sol La Vida & Surfs Up Cafe Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews