We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$35
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$190
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$525
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid Granada Country Club(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$82
$71
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$469
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$121
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$114
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$172
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$64
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,062)
Filter reviews
2,062 results
Traveler rating
992
639
266
99
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
639
266
99
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel mororamon moralestime sharefrancisco renteriaactivities staffbedroom suiteall inclusive packagela pergolathe penthousethe wait staffdeer islandtimeshare presentationfull kitchencity tourall inclusive planpool sidenice resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,079 - 1,084 of 2,062 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My sweethart & I vacationed here at El Cid Moro from Feb to 12th to 19th, 2014. It was a fabulous place, very clean, lots of activities, 5 pools, from quiet to loud music separated, of course. And the BEACH with vendors, but, just say:"No Gracias" and they are very respectful. Don't forget to buy from them before you leave though. We did not eat on the premises except for the first day, breakfast. It was fabulous, lots to chose from but a tad too high priced for our liking. We like to go out and explore anyways. We were within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, mercados, pubs with live music at night, Gus Gus was awesome, we danced there first evening. Mary's Place is a great place to have a good breakfast! El Cid has 5 hotels, a Golf & Country Club, a Marina, etc..so, we could shuttle free between all these places. I would return there but this time I would stay at Punta Pacifico, because we bought a timeshare with them and we totally loved the small, private area, excellent & very friendly people. We have to spread the JOY and help the economy as much as we can. Have a great stay, Mazatlan ia a beautiful spot in Mexico!

Room Tip: Make arragement ahead of time, if you do not like the location of your room, ask immediately to change.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear, SilverFox…

We really appreciated your recent contribution to TripAdvisor regarding to your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to read about your positive experiences in the hotel and surroundings. We really wants to provide you all the time the best possible service for all guests - your comment will be even more motivating them to do so.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the real Mazatlan and even more share your experience with the followers on TripAdvisor.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to having with you form more good experience.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for our second week in Mazatlan. Our first week was at sister resort El Cid Marina.
This is part of the El Cid mega resort. The El Moro beach is the tower, and the Castilla makes up the other buildings on the beach side, with the Grenada to the east across the street.
We stayed in a one bedroom condo on the 12th floor... it was the northwest corner and had fabulous views of the ocean and sunset.
The rooms themselves are a bit older and dated, but typical for a timeshare resort of this vintage. Lots of space for dining and living area, plus two bathrooms, both with nice big soaker stone tubs.

The Good:
- fairly central to the Golden Zone, close to many restaurants and stores, including an upscale boutique array of stores right in the complex.
- several restaurants in the complex; the a la carte menu restaurants were very good, but I didn't find the buffet restaurants to be as good for a paid dining experience (we did not do the All Inclusive option, so found it very pricey for the quality and choice of food). However, the pergola dining room features a rotating buffet selection and entertainment every night with supper, and the Mexican Fiesta (featuring games, music and entertainment) over at the Grenada is a worthwhile outing for Wednesday evening.
- easy transit access with busses, taxis and pulmonias everywhere to take you where you want to go. NOTE: there is a new Walmart super center north in the Marina area, so you no longer have to go down town to shop.
- several pools; the VIP resort is on the north end, in the quiet zone; the central main pool is heated and where most of the activities take place; the south pool is unheated, but more private and quiet.
-there is a shuttle that takes you up to the Maina resort if you want to do tours, or hang out at their more private beach on the other side of the marina canal.
- we came during a less busy time of the year, so we were able to up grade into an ocean view unit, instead of a side unit.
- the beach was handy for walking and strolling in both directions... lots of interesting things in the surf and shoreline if you look for it; yes, there were the ubiquitous vendors, but they generally leave you alone if you don't make eye contact or just say "no, gracias"
- the resort hosts do ask if you want to attend a presentation in exchange for transportation, tours, etc when you first arrive, but were pretty good about not harassing us continually (unlike some other resorts...) once we told them we were not interested.

The Bad:
- our showers only had two settings, "on" or "fire hose"... both bathroom showers had this issue where the shower pull would still direct water to the shower head as soon as you turned on the water - pulling it up into shower mode gave you a strong blasting shower, whereas pushing it to "off" gave you a softer shower. If you wanted to have a bath, you had to fill it up via shower, first.
- We asked for a light bulb to be replaced in our unit, which was not done before we left.
- internet service was down during a few times during our stay, but you could at least get a decent value for it... 330 pesos for a week's access, for one device at a time.

The Ugly:
- there was a rather obnoxious brass band that wandered the beach in front of the resort on the weekend evenings, making it very hard to get to sleep. (rather inconsiderate if you have children, or prefer early to bed, early to rise on your vacations...) We had to call the front desk several times to complain before they got security to talk to them. Other friends and patrons staying at the resort that we spoke to were none too fond of this disturbance, either. We were tempted to transfer back to the Marina resort, but thankfully it did not continue on during the weekdays, so we stayed put.

Overall, it was not a bad place to stay, but I would have enjoyed it more if the brass band hadn't put us in a foul mood in the first few days of arriving.

Room Tip: If staying in a 1 bedroom suite, ask to be placed on the north side of the building if you like quiet, or facing the ocean if you want spectacular views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Cary F ,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We are glad that you had a great time and you had time to look at the new places in town. We want you to know that we are aware of the situation with the shower and we are sorry about the light bulb. Next time, you can call directly to Customer Service, ext: 3332 and the girls at the office will definitely help you fix your problem more quickly, since we are interested in your comfort and we are pleased to serve you during your stay with us.
On the other hand, we are happy to see all of your recommendations about the city, it looks like you got plenty of time to explore and have fun. That means you had a great time and that makes our hotel very very happy. We really hope to see you soon next year so you can look at our renovations in our bedrooms and enjoy a couple of drinks at our swim-up bars.
Greetings,

Warm regards,
Salvatore Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Good Morning!

I am going to your beautiful resort in March! So excited. I have a question though. Do you guys have shuttle service from the airport? If not is there taxis there to bring us to the hotel.

Thanks!
Austin

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear, Austi n T

Thank you so much for in among options at Mazatlan you choosing El Cid Resort to spend your vacation.

I will glad to answer all your questions, we have a shuttle service with pronatours you can reserve at reserve@pronatours.com.mx they will be happy to assist you and providing all the necessary information.

If you have other question please contact to me at mamoran@elcid.com.mx.

Greetings from the sunny beaches of Mazatlan.

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is our 7th visit to Mazatlan and El Cid El Moro. There have been many improvements to the facilities since our last visit two years ago. Of particular note is the greater attention to service and quality in the restaurants especially the fine staff working the breakfast service. The internet service has improved but their current policy of one device per password should be reviewed.

The past excellences in service of the pool and beach area remain outstanding, with one waiter in particular, Ramon Moyoles remaining one of the premier reasons for our wonderful vacation. Ramon never fails to impress and is more than attentive to each guests needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear, John D

Thank you so much for your loyalty during these 7 visits to El Cid Moro. It’s not best pleasure than a satisfied customer. We are very glad to read that you noticed our improvements we work hard every day; we actually know that we are in a competitive marked and your comments and suggestions are very helpful to make the difference.

Concerning to the internet service we will share your suggest to the next executive meting for make the best possible to have a good.

I will share your nice work with the staff, be assure that they receive a great mention for their hard work.

My best,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just got back from our trip to Mazatlan and would love to go back. Our stay at El Cid El Moro was one of our best vacation destinations! We absolutely loved the pools and the activities staff was AMAZING! We were blessed by the fun, loving personalities of Hans, Bruno, Ruben, Frank and Angelica!! They were very friendly, helpful and fun to be around. We did not bring our kids, but seeing them interact with children at the resort, definitely makes us want to return with ours. We would like to especially thank Hans and Ruben for the great times during water aerobics, beach volleyball, crazy games and ping-pong. They did a great job getting people to participate and made everyone feel welcomed. We are also thankful that Bruno took time to tell us more about Mazatlan and got us to play BINGO. All three of these men deserve a lot of credit for making our stay very enjoyable. We hope to come back and see them again!! Miss everyone!!

Erika was our housekeeper and she did a wonderful job. Every time we saw her she had a smile on her face and would say, “Hola!”

Our main complaint would be that our beds were very hard.

Wishing everyone at El Cid the very best!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear, Michelle…

I´m so happy to read such a wonderful words regards to our activities staff. You impressions are very important to us, be assured that I will share your opinions to let them know the results of an excellent work. I’m proud to having them working to us. Also to the maid service, waiter and the rest of the staff.

We keep working in improvements to our rooms and public areas, Is glad to read that you could enjoyed our pools. Concerning to the hard beds I would love to know about this situation, I’m pretty sure that with foam can see the different.

Please the next time that you came to Mazatlan, We sincerely hope to be the hotel of your choice.

Kind Regards

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews