We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December at El Cid El Moro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just returned from a month in Mazatlan at the El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel. Once again had a marvelous time....wonderful weather, great (and copious amounts) of food and drink.....fun in the sun, surf and sand. Family and grandkids joined us for the holidays.....boy did they turn out to be little water rats........couldn't get them out of the pool!
Attended the Nutcracker performance and the Gala Navidad concert at the Angela Peralta Teatro in the Plaza Machado. No time for a Venados game ;(......next fall for sure!
A special thanks to several of the staff at El Moro for taking such good care of us.......personalized service is their specialty. Jesus always had a table and glasses of jugo verde waiting for us at breakfast and Giovanni at the La Concha dinner seating always welcoming with excellent recommendations and service. And a special shout-out to Pamela for her warm welcomes and attention to the grandkids every morning. Tomas and Ramon, pool and beach waiters, were excellent.
Don't miss the Imperial shrimp or Beef medallion (actually a filet) at La Concha or the Agua chili Shrimp appetizer (shrimps were particularly large and sweet this year). The chicken mole and chili rellenos at La Cascadia were yummy.
Returned home to 26 degrees and freezing fog.........missing 80 degrees and sunny beaches already. We'll be back in November......counting the days.
Thanks to everyone at El Cid for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LulubelleMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Lulubelle…

What splendid reading...very pleased that you enjoyed for a month all that we and the area have to offer. ..we have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid El Moro should be like returning home.

I am glad to note that our convenient location, facilities and friendly staff exceeded your expectations; it is rewarding to note that our focus on consistency and efficient service is welcome and we will review our approach in delivery and make the necessary adjustments to add more warmth.

You can expect the best in personalized service from the management, both General and Room Division, which takes great pains to make your vacation the best time of your life. I will make sure the team at La Concha hears your accolades!

Again, thank you very much for your kind words and your loyalty. We appreciate it and the pleasure is all ours. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent a week at El Moro with our two daughters(8 and 11). Our room was amazing. We had a corner room overlooking the owners pool and the beach. Very roomy and comfortable. Martha made sure our room was clean and tidy everyday, Everything about our stay was great! Check-in was smooth, the time share tour with Michael Montaño was extremely informative and enjoyable. We never felt uncomfortable or pressured into buying more travel points. Michael made sure that we were well informed about how to use our timeshare properly and wanted to make sure we knew all of our options for future travel or upgrade purchases.

Our days were filled with amazing food from all the restaurants and pool bars. We ate breakfast everyday overlooking the ocean at La Concha. The food was always delicious and plentiful! Service was amazing, we were always greeted with warm smiles by all of the beautiful hostesses and received great service by all of the waiters. We sought out an amazing waiter, Luis Crespo, each morning. His warm smile and thoughtful service helped start our days off nicely.

We also participated in the Christmas Eve dinner for an extra fee. Jesus was our server and did an amazing job of making sure we had everything we needed to make our Christmas celebration perfect. The food was amazing and Jesus even made sure to offer our kids food other than the 4 course menu in case they didn't like what was being served. The activities personnel (Frank, Aldo, and the gang) made sure to entertain the crowd in their Santa and elves costumes! It was a great evening.

We were lucky enough to meet Michael Montaño during our timeshare tour. He is also the waiter manager. He introduced us to his poolside restaurant, La Gruta, and the Mexican Restaurant, La Cascada. We understood quickly how he could be so young, but have such an important job. His service, smile, and attention to detail was much appreciated. The food in both restaurants was amazing! Michael offers the most amazing presentations as he flambés crêpes and makes the most AMAZING Mexican coffee! Well worth the extra charge for the coffee! You cannot leave Mazatlan without having Michael's coffee at La Gruta!

Our days consisted of beach and pool activities. Francisco Renteria was our waiter of choice. We gravitated towards his areas each day because we knew we would get great service. He was very helpful, courteous, and enthusiastic about his job! He made sure our daughters were well taken care of and my husbands and my drinks were always full if we wanted it that way!

The activities staff (Frank, Aldo, and the gang) at the pool, made sure that everyone was having fun! Their humor and games made everyone laugh and helped turn strangers into friends!

The staff at El Moro consists of the hardest working people I have ever seen! Most are working 7 days a week during this holiday season and they always have smiles on their faces! We appreciated everyone's attention and care. It was the most relaxing Christmas we have ever had! We hope to go back soon. We really feel as if we made friends with the amazing people at El Cid!

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking owner pool is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindyandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear: MindyandJ...

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review it is always a great to hear how great we were able to make someone’s vacation memorable. I appreciate you taking notice of our hard labor and see the result of our efforts in helping El Cid Restore become the best it can possibly be. My staff is always willing to help out in any way possible and I am glad they were of service to you rest assure they will be congratulated on such a great job I’m sure they will be even more motivated to keep up the good work once they hear these comments.
I’m also honored that you choose to celebrate your Holidays with us and that it turned out to be just as amazing as you imagined it to be! Are Mexican coffee is quite the best I’m glad you liked it and overall left with a great perception of our resort we hope in having the pleasure to host your next vacations!

Cordialy,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you have kids this s a good choice. Tons of kids. But the property is very nice and the food was very god. Got the all inclusive so saw all the shows, that was a lot of fun. One serious downside. They need a policy of not being allowed to save pool and beach chairs with a towel. Many resorts have such a policy. Here you go down at 10 and virtually all the chairs have claimed, usually by 8. And people don't actually come down to use their claim until after noon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelregent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear: travelreg

Thank you so much for your great review! It is great to hear that you found our hotel well maintained and a lot of fun with the activities; as well the food was on your expectations.

I regret your inconvenient with the chairs save with towels; in fact we have that policy either and your constructive comment helps us to reinforce the security on this area. Rest assured we make the necessary improvement to reinforce this.

Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes!

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had an amazing time at the beach! Francisco Renteria made sure that we had had everything we needed! He got chairs for us when we asked for them and refreshed our drinks before we even asked for them! He made sure our time was the most amazing vacation experience ever! He made sure our daughters were well equipped with water to stay hydrated during their time in the beautiful ocean! So relaxing and enjoyable! Francisco made sure that we got the most out of our time on the beach! We will definitely position ourselves in his area in the future, El Cid is lucky to have him As an employee! We will definitely refer our friends and family to him in the future!

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear: megordon

It’s a pleasure to read such amazing words! We are happy to read that you have a wonderful vacation in El Cid Moro and to know that we meet your expectations. Was a comfortable to see the result for an excellent job in comments like yours. We are proud to having working with us Francisco Renteria for the known service and courtesy for all our customers his job is
We sincerely hope to care you and definitely spend the best moments enjoying every moment in front of a wonderful warm beach.

From Mazatlan sent to you a warm greeting,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have had one of the best vacations ever ( so much that we added many more points so as to enjoy it over again and again) The staff were very special and accomodating ( thanks francisco renteria, Rui, and the many others) The Marina is also great and of course the restaurant staff are fantastic. Looking forward to our next stay.--- Patrick Sweetnam, and Marie Lortie---

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear: Patrick s

We are thrilled for your recent contribution of 5 stars at TripAdvisor. I’m happy to read that we meet your expectation on your recent travel to Mazatlan.

It’s pleasant to know that the staff was friendly and helpful in special Francisco Renteria and Rui, as well to see that you could enjoy our other facilities such as Marina. It is always welcome to hear how satisfied a customer was.

On behalf the El Cid Team a lot thanks for your nice words, and we can wait to having you wih us again.

Kind regards!

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have been vacationing at El Cid for over 10 years. The staff, Jorge, Ramon, Felix and the other waiters are exceptional. They remember us from year to year and provide outstanding service. Highly recommended if you are at the El Cid, El Moro Beach Hotel, stop by and visit the outstanding staff at the "Bar Conchita" by the pool. You will not regret it. A smile and a greeting made you feel at home. They were very professional and all our needs were consistently met with promptness and warmth.

Room Tip: the rooms face the ocean, were large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear: Chris G

Wow!! What a pleasant review, I would like to thank you for your loyalty on this last 10 years. We sincerely appreciated you choose El Cid in among options in Mazatlan.

We are happy to read that your recognition to Jorge, Ramon, Felix and the rest of the waiters on La Conchita restaurant, be assured that we give to them a credit for the excellent service provided to you and your family.

On behalf of El Cid team, thank you for your contribution. We look forward to having the 11th time with us.

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in El Cid El Moro for a week while we attended a wedding in Mazatlan in July 2013. We had an okay experience over all, but I do not think we would return. The food and amenities were pretty average but what was incredibly annoying was the bands that played on the beach at all hours of the night that made it impossible to get a good night's sleep. We called the reception desk on multiple occasions to ask that they made them quiet down (after 11:00pm) but the reception desk stated that it was a public beach and there was nothing they could do. We were on one of the top floors so I can't imagine how loud it would have been if we had been on a lower floor.

The pools were nice. I think they must have a problem with jellyfish because there was a sign up cautioning guests about them every day we were there.

The location of the hotel was good. We were able to walk to several restaurants along the main road.

The spa was needs some work. I received an okay massage but the manicure and pedicure I had done for the wedding where just horrendous. Total waste of money. I had to have them redone somewhere else because they were so poorly done.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear w0rldtravelfan

First and foremost I would like to thank you for give us a couple minutes of you valuable time to share your through and opinions.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our pools and our convenient location was a plus o you exploring Mazatlan.

I regret to know our food and amenities was under your expectations and the experience in our spa wasn’t a good one. Our Spa always attended weddings and events in the hotel and the guest always are satisfied with the service, I really care on this situation and personally check what’s happening and prevent this situation with our futures travelers.

Regarding to the loud music on the beach side we unfortunately on July is a high season and a lot of families are traveling to Mazatlan an yes this can be louder, they come and celebrate with a play music on the streets or beach side, I would like to know about that I’m pretty sure that we do something about that. We are constantly checking the area with security guards to prevent the bands get too close and disturb our guests.

I feel sorry for the inconvenient and we sincerely hope to have a second chance to having you with us, I know that this going to be different.

Warm greetings,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#20 of 80 in Mazatlan
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $98 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing