We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$74
$65
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$37
$35
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oceano Palace Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$899
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Express Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Villas Resort(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mision Mazatlan(Mazatlan)
$59
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$117
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$68
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$79
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,205)
Filter reviews
4,205 results
Traveler rating
1,911
1,217
672
243
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,911
1,217
672
243
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby bartime sharela pergolala alhambraitalian restaurantcastilla beachpool viewall inclusive packagea la carte restaurantsinformation desksushi barkids clubeuropean planbeach vendorsdinner buffetall inclusive plandinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,211 - 1,216 of 4,205 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed on the top floor of La Castilla-- what a view! with a jacuzzi on the spacious deck.
the suite was top notch, newly renovated with flat screen TV beautiful decor throughout. we were impressed. Service was excellent. I think the maid cleaned twice a day! I noticed my bed was turned down each night. I think EL CID restaurant La Concha has the biggest palapa roof in all of Mazatlan. It's right on the beach and very romantic! And you are waited on hand & foot. I mean, I don't know how much better it can get.
A hint for those of you who find the Mexican vendors annoying: just close your eyes or put your nose in a book, and they will stay away from you. Actually, aside from being desperate to make a living, they try not to bother you. Also, you can take the free shuttle bus to El Cid Marina beach ( fun! you go out on a little ferry boat!) to an untouched quiet beach for the day.
We DID have a very bad experience though. Right out front of El Cid, on the street, a guy offered us $500.00 to go look at LA JOLLA, a timeshare . We were lured in by such alot of money. What a horrible mistake! We were scammed big time. They have our $7,000. We have NOTHING. Stay away. Before you fall for their tricks as we did, google them or read comments on trip advisor. They are no good.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear: Carole C

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for we know your time is valuable. I’m proud to hear we were able to give you such exemplary service; we always work hard to make sure we fulfill our guest expectations and it brings me such satisfaction we were able to accomplish that with your stay.

There is no greater feeling then when our fellow guest take notice on how hard we work to make sure everything thing is in order and functioning properly there is always room for improvement and we are always open to hear on what we can become better at. It’s good you were able to try out or transportation shuttles so you could get a chance to visit our other facilities.

It worries me to hear about you problem in regards to the La Jolla time share although it is no associated with our hotel I appreciate you letting us know we will be on the lookout. We look forward in seeing you in a near future.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Mazatlan. We stayed for a week in April with close family in 2 tower rooms.

We had never stayed at an El Cid resort before, and we were drawn to this resort partly because of the El Cid Foundation and its philosophy of helping its employees better themselves. That is very creditable. We found out that there was a small charge in using the bottled water and coffee packets in the rooms and that money would go to the El Cid Foundation, and that was totally ok with us.

What can I say? We had an VERY wonderful time in our week at the Castilla! The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable for us. The maids were smiling and efficient. Our rooms on the 7th floor of the tower were quiet, with a great ocean view. My sister, the insomniac, slept like a baby every night!

We ate mostly at the Pergola restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and at the Alhambra for lunch. We had one breakfast and one supper at the Cascada restaurant. The lovely beach was right by the Alhambra and it was super to eat lunch and watch the ocean. Cascada's mexican food was very good and the guava pie dessert was to die for. We found a good variety of food at the Pergola. I enjoyed the desserts!

The week we were there, which was at the end of high tourist season, the hotel was far less filled by foreigners and there were many more Mexican families. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves at the pool and beach, which was nice to see. The beach was wonderful and we didn't get bothered by the vendors that much. They all took a polite "no thanks" very well and went away.

Heidi of Pronotours (in the lobby), arranged our airport pickup/dropoff, and our half-day city tour (which we enjoyed). Heidi is friendly and very efficient (which we appreciated). Thanks Heidi!

This was the third Mexican all-inclusive resort we have been to, and our family consensus is this one was the best so far! We had a totally fantastic time and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going for an all-inclusive stay in Mazatlan! We wouldn't mind checking out the new El Cid resort at Los Cabos when it opens.

Last but not least. There were restaurant servers who made us feel so special and took such good care of us!! We have to give special and sincere thanks to young Carlos, Anna and Francisco at the Pergola who were so sweet to us! We think about you and smile. We also thank Luis, Ishmael, Adrian at the Alhambra, Yovany, Thibercio, Miguel & Gregorio at the Pergola, the Pergola omelette ladies Isobel & Sohara, Pergola chef Raoul, Miguel at the Cascada (who told his life-story), and Jose the bartender (who travelled Alberta and has seen the northern lights). All of you helped make our stay so memorable. THANK-YOU!!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor in the tower. These will be quieter
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSol98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear: MSo198

Thank you for sharing all of the Grand touches throughout your stay, guest feedback is crucial to our success, and we are committed to delivering exemplary service.

We appreciate your contribution to our foundation and we are proud to be giving back to our community and helping those in need. I’m glad to hear you thought so highly of our rooms and staff, our staff work very hard to make each stay special and it seems we were successful in your case. Rest assures that the staff members you previously mentioned will be given the recognition they deserve.

Mazatlan is a wonderful city and has much to offer I am also glad you were about to get a taste of what we have the pleasure to seeing day to day which is its wonderful scenery as well as its culture. In regards to our restaurants it’s a good we were able to fit your standards and have a wide variety for you to choose from and love.

We hope you come visit us again we look forward in serving you.

Best Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are very well traveled and didn't have high expectations.
The el CID was great if you wNted loud nightlife with Senior Frogs Next door and Vendors ruthlessly attacking you every 2 minutes! The food was great! The Service was awesome! This is however a hotel where the Mexican s vacation and did take over the beach, the buffet, and are generally loud on there time off believe me.
If you want a nice relaxing quiet vacation, Do not pick this resort.

It didn't help that we were there during there end of march holy week and there Mazatlan Sturgeous week either.
We would not return here but the view was amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyFrog410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear: CrazyFrog410

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We appreciate your honest feedback. It is unfortunate that your stay wasn’t as pleasant as we had wished it to be. We understand you do not like the noise and it can be a bit disturbing however if I might add maybe in a future visit you would like to visit or other hotels such as El Cid Marina or El Cid Granada these two hotels are better know to be calmer, and tranquil place I can assure you that you well find the difference it the hotels as for as the noise goes and that you will not encounter the same problem. We have something to offer for everyone and we make sure to always try and fit each one of our guest standers as best as we possibly can. I’m glad you found our service to be great as well as our food and beverages. It would really mean a lot if you could give us the opportunity to host you again and have you change your outlook on our hotel.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at the El Cid from March 29 to April 5. We had 2 adjoining rooms on the 15 floor tower facing the ocean and a nice view of the two pools. Well worth it.

Check in was fast and efficient. There is a charge for wi fi. I think it was approximately $35 for the week for one device only.

There were ladies in the lobby trying to sell time shares but if you let them know you are not interested, they will leave you alone. They also call the next day in the morning but again, if you let them know you are not interested, they will not call again.

The maid service is very good. Our rooms were cleaned daily and they were spotless. The chamber maid was very pleasant and appreciative of tips. Cleaning times were inconsistent but that didn't bother us. Sometimes, we would get back to our room in the afternoon and she would be there, which was fine. We would say hi, get what we needed and leave. Other times, we would come back and she wasn't there.

The beds are hard....very hard. They do have a thin mattress pad they put on it you ask for it. It helps a little bit.

The air conditioning in one of our rooms weren't working and the technician came up right away and fixed it. However, to our surprise, it wasn't fixed and we called again. This time it was fixed and what a difference. This can happen at any hotel.

It was very busy the 7 days we were there. Unless you got up at 5-6 AM to reserve a beach chair under a palapa (permanent umbrella), forget about getting one. Good thing there were beach vendors (and there were lots) that rented beach umbrellas that you stake in the sand for about 80-120 Pesos for the day. As it turned out, it was the first of two-week national holiday in Mexico the time we were in Mazatlan.

The food was tasty. It was pretty much repetitive everyday but because of the ample selection, you can choose something different each day.

The evening dinner shows were neat and entertaining.

We brought our own drinks cups from Starbucks and the waiters had no issue filling them up for us. We tipped after every meal and after every few drinks and our service was excellent. Very friendly waiters.

The beach is narrow and life guards were always on duty. Vendors walk up and down the beach all day and solicit their goods. 99% of them will leave you alone if you say no. My daughter got braids done by Valerie on the beach and it cost $200 Pesos. Valerie's husband supplied us our umbrella for the duration of our stay and charged us $80 Pesos per day. If you know you need an umbrella for a few days, bargain with the vendors and they will take care of you. When the sun moves, they come by and move the umbrella for you...very good service.

The pools at the Castilla side and Moro side are both nice, kept clean and good drink service. Moro side was windier during our stay. Life guards are at both pools and they take their job seriously. I witnessed a life guard jumping in and saving a swimmer. I was impressed. Everyone clapped when he brought her out.

If you plan to take a taxi, negotiate the fare prior to getting in. The bell boy will advise approximately how much it should cost. We went to Wal Mart and our taxi driver who drove us there, picked us up as well after an hour and he didn't over charge us. BTW Wal Mart in Mazatlan isn't as cheap as it is in Canada and it's not where the locals shop. I was hoping to shop where the locals go.....next time.

Check out was very quick...no line up at all.

We would recommend this hotel. Service is very good. Food is good. Facilities are clean and lots of amenities. Overall, good bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Choose the tower and a room on a high floor. The view is spectacular and it is quieter. The elevators are quick.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear: camja1

Thank you for taking the time in letting us knows how your stay was. We appreciate every single comment we receive whether it’s positive or negative, it is honest and we respect that it is also a great way in letting us know what areas need some improvement.

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and that you were able to enjoy of our facilities, food, and entertainment, we are always open to new ideas in ways we can make our resort even better and have options so we can have something for everyone to enjoy children, and adults. I am a bit concerned to hear that our food were not at its best in regards to its variety rest assure that I have token the proper precautions in this matter.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity in hosting you and giving you an unforgettable vacation! We take pride in always giving the best service possible and there is no greater feeling then getting the recognition for our hard labor.

We hope you continue on coming to Mazatlan and letting us serve yet again!

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Our third stay and was as our previous visits excellent! Cesar in particular(now at the Italian restaurant)was once again above and beyond our expectations.Raul at the front desk was very helpful/attentive.Overall all staff were and have been great.My brother/wife myself/wife look forward to our trip next year

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear: rayseekers

Thank you for choosing us for your third time and for share your comments to your recent experience at El Cid Castilla.

We feel so proud to read that we meet your expectations in each one of your visit, and for note that Cesar, Raúl and the rest of staff helping to make your vacation even more memorable, I will pass your comments with them, and recognized their excellent labor.

We sincerely look forward to having with us and keep providing a great experience, once again thank you for your remarks.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews